User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    One helluva cohesive and solid debut from YG!

    It took me a week after it's release for me to play it all through cause of the fact over just how much I disliked his singles that followed up to this. More then expected, people and critics where giving this a lot of shine and praise, so I decided to check it out, once for all, seeing if it included any goods.

    A week from now (and two
    weeks after the release) I sat with the computer and plugged in the headphones. "My Krazy Life" started to play.
    The kick, the track "BPT" hit me with, I knew by then, my opinion of YG where going to be changed.

    ".. ni**a I'm from B-P-T".. my head was knoding, and from there and on, my whole through this I appreciated YG's work, even the singles, especially "Left, Right".

    YG might not be the most lyrical, that I've noticed.
    It's the perfect choice of beats he chooses to ride over with his smooth, bumpy flow and a on-point storytelling of a day in-life of YG in the neighbourhoods of Compton.
    YG knows what he is, he knows what he does best. And with the help of Mustard & co. YG released one fun, young, gangsta- west coast tape to be added on to the major releases of the west coast affiliated buddies Kendrick Lamar and ScHoolboy Q.

    YG turned a non-believer to a, sort of a believer. "My Krazy Life" is one fun listen with a classic feel of a "Doggystyle" and with a harsh pound of a "Straight Outta Compton". If not one top release, this might most definitely be the most entertaining we are going to come across an album in hip hop this year.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' also has strong narrative it's YG's story and we are taken through the situations he went through, it's his equivalent to K-Dot's 'GKMC', we're provided context lyrically and through skits. 'My Krazy Life' has great features from TDE's 'Black Hippy' crew (except Ab-Soul), Drake and Ty Dolla $ign. The standout tracks for me are 'BPT', 'I Just Wanna Party', 'Meet the Flockers', 'Really be (Smokin N Drinkin)’, 'Sorry Momma' and 'Bompton'. The album is enjoyable and the beats are stellar it has a lot of replay value and I'm interested to see what direction YG takes for future projects. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    5
    This one is ultimately an album of highs and lows. Far too often, YG deviates from what really works for him and that is banging beats from DJ Mustard. The tracks without DJ Mustard are the very noticeable lows, while tracks like “I Just Wanna Party”, “My **** and “Who Do You Love?” are undoubtedly the highs of this work. While not all of the DJ Mustard produced tracks work (“Bicken Back Being Bool” and “Do It To Ya” are definite lows), they are at least somewhat enjoyable at times, while the bad non-Mustard produced tracks are just entirely bad. YG is a gangsta rapper and, really, he left that corner far too often. He needed more gangsta rap and less lovey dovey tracks aimed at the ladies. It is amazing that YG has managed to craft 12 track album that has filler, but he has done it. I enjoy YG and while my rating is low for this album, I am content with getting a few tracks from this album to add to my YG collection on iTunes. It is really all you can hope for when a guy who is really hit-or-miss drops an album. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Having only heard YG from his mainstream singles, "Toot It and Boot It" and "My N****", I thought this album was going to be a fluke, but it was actually much better than expected. DJ Mustard's production really brings out the most in YG's performance and highlights the best things about him as a Compton-based gangsta rapper with obvious influences from Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre. This could definitely be called the "Hood Kid, Maad City". Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    A lot better than I expected. A very good album with some really good story telling. lyrically, he is not the best but his flow and delivery more than makes up for that. Give it a listen!
  6. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The best west coast album I have heard since The Documentary. Not a bad song on it. Bicken Back Being Bool and BPT are two of the best songs this year. YG left his mark with this west coast classic.
  7. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing debut album from YG. This is following GKMC up on the Compton hall of fame. Can we please take a moment and appreciate how DJ Mustard flipped Tha Dogg Pound's "Let's Play House" on "Do It To Ya"? Amen.
  8. Mar 25, 2014
    5
    Don't get it twisted, this album is not a ten. Tens are life changing albums, innovative albums, powerful albums, simply enjoyable and awesome albums. This album is not any one of those. And yes, I understand it tells a story, wow that's great. But that only works if the songs are good. But Dj Mustards production is so slammin, poppin, banging, etc.,ect. But after a while, it is repetitive and to samey samey to provide any lasting impressions. At its best, this album is the good riding music, you're not really paying attention, but the beats knock if you don't listen attentively to them. The rapping, was lackluster. YG didn't grab my attention, over these kind've beats, you need to sound good. If you don't have the lyrical ability to keep me interested at least make it enjoyable to listen to. I understand that this is made for the streets, and in that case, it succeeds because it has lots of bass, and raps that talk about real, honest street stuff, real gangsta **** But overall, it was just hard for me to get through. I didn't really love any of the songs, none that I wanted to return to. And this is coming from a person who listens to a loooot of music, including all of the gangsta rap classics that this album is inspired by. This album just isn't as amazing as everyone says it is. Dat Jay Rock verse was dope though, now that's a gangsta album we need. Expand
  9. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    Lacks lyrical diversity and depth; Nevertheless, it is an entertaining narrative. After the album is done, one is left wondering, what did I learn that I did not already know? What did I relearned? The answer to both questions is nothing. 64/100
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I'm really impressed with this album. I knew who YG was before & based off what I heard from him before i thought all he made was rachet music, but his debut album really changed my opinion on him. YG's My Krazy Life Tells A Story & it details the daily life of YG & the struggles & his upbringing with gangbanging, things like that. I really like throughout the whole album he has skits in between the songs that makes this album feel like a concept type of thing & my krazy life is well balanced. This album to me is really good & i'm definitely buying this album. Rating 5/5 Expand
  11. Aug 15, 2014
    5
    It's disappointing that the features alone are what keep you somewhat interested in the album. Not that I can't appreciate the vintage west coast sound brought by YG and DJ Mustard, but the extravagance of the production isn't enough to make this album full of dull lyricism and tiresome cliches good enough to enjoy or recommend.
  12. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    I have to admit, I was highly skeptical YG was capable of putting together a cohesive album based on the singles for My Krazy Life. But wow.. this is one of the best gangsta rap/west coast hip hop records in recent memory. The first few tracks were so good the first time I heard it I thought I was listening to the newest 2001. The middle of the album was pretty average though, and it was clear DJ Mustard's production helped a lot throughout. It's messy, rough, intense, and real. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Really Be (Smokin N Drinkin) [feat. Kendrick Lamar]": An underrated song. This is the only introspective song on the album that YG seemed honest and vulnerable. Also, Kendrick contributes an incredible intense, whispered verse.

    Other notable tracks: "BPT", "I Just Wanna Party", "Left, Right", "Bicken Back Being Bool", "Who Do You Love?" & "1 AM"
    Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    I have to be honest, I was a never a fan of YG or his music, but he really impress me with his debut album. When you listen to My Krazy Life it's literally like a movie & everything is so well sequenced. I like how every song goes in to each other so well & everything makes sense. The features are on point, Perfect Storytelling,Perfect Production, Well Sequenced Skits & narratives & the lyrics are good for an YG album. YG is obviously not trying to be lyrical but if you every heard any of his songs you should know what to expect. With his debut effort I believe he definitely proved himself & he's definitely going to go a long way. Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    I am so suprised at how good this album is. Based off his singles i figured this album was all hype but boy I was wrong. When listening to this album you get a detailed & strong narrative of YG's life as if it's a concept based album. One thing that really impressed me with this LP is that every song flows into each other so well & the skits & narratives are perfectly structured with every song. I like how my krazy life has a real authentic west coast feel to it & I think DJ Mustard & YG knew what they're were going for on this album. After listening to this album a couple of time I can honestly say how I see why so many critics are comparing this to Kendrick Lamar's Good Kid M.a.d.d city & to me these two albums are very similar. YG may not have the techinal rapping skills as kendrick, but the message of the album is clear, strong, precise & imo strongly developed. My Krazy Life is a superb album with an overreaching story. Expand
  15. May 14, 2014
    6
    'Okay, okay, okay//Told her bust it open she said: "okay!"' - Y.G. vents his heartfelt emotional conditions in conceptually complex and textually profound lyrics themes. Or is that a different album? 'Humour' aside, trap infused, bass heavy production adds to the appeal of the morally virtuous occupations that are: pimpin', ballin', and shooting others. A shining exemplar of ethical righteousness. Damn the beats are phat tho. B- Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    My Krazy Life is a solid debut. [Apr/May 2014, p.81]
  2. For such an expansive, detailed album, it can be hard to forget this is just his debut record.
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    70
    My Krazy Life is a successful debut album that achieves most of what it sets out to achieve.