User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 8 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' alsoThis album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' also has strong narrative it's YG's story and we are taken through the situations he went through, it's his equivalent to K-Dot's 'GKMC', we're provided context lyrically and through skits. 'My Krazy Life' has great features from TDE's 'Black Hippy' crew (except Ab-Soul), Drake and Ty Dolla $ign. The standout tracks for me are 'BPT', 'I Just Wanna Party', 'Meet the Flockers', 'Really be (Smokin N Drinkin)’, 'Sorry Momma' and 'Bompton'. The album is enjoyable and the beats are stellar it has a lot of replay value and I'm interested to see what direction YG takes for future projects. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    A lot better than I expected. A very good album with some really good story telling. lyrically, he is not the best but his flow and delivery more than makes up for that. Give it a listen!
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing debut album from YG. This is following GKMC up on the Compton hall of fame. Can we please take a moment and appreciate how DJ Mustard flipped Tha Dogg Pound's "Let's Play House" on "Do It To Ya"? Amen.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I'm really impressed with this album. I knew who YG was before & based off what I heard from him before i thought all he made was rachet music, but his debut album really changed my opinion on him. YG's My Krazy Life Tells A Story & it details the daily life of YG & the struggles & his upbringing with gangbanging, things like that. I really like throughout the whole album he has skits inI'm really impressed with this album. I knew who YG was before & based off what I heard from him before i thought all he made was rachet music, but his debut album really changed my opinion on him. YG's My Krazy Life Tells A Story & it details the daily life of YG & the struggles & his upbringing with gangbanging, things like that. I really like throughout the whole album he has skits in between the songs that makes this album feel like a concept type of thing & my krazy life is well balanced. This album to me is really good & i'm definitely buying this album. Rating 5/5 Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The best west coast album I have heard since The Documentary. Not a bad song on it. Bicken Back Being Bool and BPT are two of the best songs this year. YG left his mark with this west coast classic.
  6. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    I have to be honest, I was a never a fan of YG or his music, but he really impress me with his debut album. When you listen to My Krazy Life it's literally like a movie & everything is so well sequenced. I like how every song goes in to each other so well & everything makes sense. The features are on point, Perfect Storytelling,Perfect Production, Well Sequenced Skits & narratives & theI have to be honest, I was a never a fan of YG or his music, but he really impress me with his debut album. When you listen to My Krazy Life it's literally like a movie & everything is so well sequenced. I like how every song goes in to each other so well & everything makes sense. The features are on point, Perfect Storytelling,Perfect Production, Well Sequenced Skits & narratives & the lyrics are good for an YG album. YG is obviously not trying to be lyrical but if you every heard any of his songs you should know what to expect. With his debut effort I believe he definitely proved himself & he's definitely going to go a long way. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    I am so suprised at how good this album is. Based off his singles i figured this album was all hype but boy I was wrong. When listening to this album you get a detailed & strong narrative of YG's life as if it's a concept based album. One thing that really impressed me with this LP is that every song flows into each other so well & the skits & narratives are perfectly structured with everyI am so suprised at how good this album is. Based off his singles i figured this album was all hype but boy I was wrong. When listening to this album you get a detailed & strong narrative of YG's life as if it's a concept based album. One thing that really impressed me with this LP is that every song flows into each other so well & the skits & narratives are perfectly structured with every song. I like how my krazy life has a real authentic west coast feel to it & I think DJ Mustard & YG knew what they're were going for on this album. After listening to this album a couple of time I can honestly say how I see why so many critics are comparing this to Kendrick Lamar's Good Kid M.a.d.d city & to me these two albums are very similar. YG may not have the techinal rapping skills as kendrick, but the message of the album is clear, strong, precise & imo strongly developed. My Krazy Life is a superb album with an overreaching story. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    My Krazy Life is a solid debut. [Apr/May 2014, p.81]
  2. For such an expansive, detailed album, it can be hard to forget this is just his debut record.
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    70
    My Krazy Life is a successful debut album that achieves most of what it sets out to achieve.