My Krazy Life Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio release for the Los Angeles rapper features guest appearances from Drake, Jeezy, Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Schoolboy Q, and Ty Dolla $ign.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    YG's storm cloud is more inviting than most rappers' clear skies. [28 Mar 2014, p.63]
  2. For such an expansive, detailed album, it can be hard to forget this is just his debut record.
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    81
    YG and DJ Mustard have been dress rehearsing for nationwide stardom all along, but My Krazy Life is ratchet music’s Technicolor reveal.
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    80
    YG has grown mightily as a rapper, and because DJ Mustard, who produced more than half of the album, has found a way to make his sketches theatrical without sacrificing their urgency.
  5. 75
    My Krazy Life dampens many of its heavy questions with refreshing musical forms.
  6. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    While My Krazy Life is YG’s debut, it feels more like an album-length celebration of Mustard’s ratchet revolution, a sound distilled from LA G-Funk, Atlanta snap and Bay Area hyphy.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    With the exception of “Me & My Bitch” (a tale of two way infidelity) wedged in between a festive midsection, the Pushaz Ink crew has pieced together a well sequenced and cohesive package with My Krazy Life, but this aspect and his street credibility aren’t enough to win over naysayers expecting an overall greater performance.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' also has strong narrative it's YG's story and we are taken through the situations he went through, it's his equivalent to K-Dot's 'GKMC', we're provided context lyrically and through skits. 'My Krazy Life' has great features from TDE's 'Black Hippy' crew (except Ab-Soul), Drake and Ty Dolla $ign. The standout tracks for me are 'BPT', 'I Just Wanna Party', 'Meet the Flockers', 'Really be (Smokin N Drinkin)’, 'Sorry Momma' and 'Bompton'. The album is enjoyable and the beats are stellar it has a lot of replay value and I'm interested to see what direction YG takes for future projects. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The best west coast album I have heard since The Documentary. Not a bad song on it. Bicken Back Being Bool and BPT are two of the best songs this year. YG left his mark with this west coast classic. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing debut album from YG. This is following GKMC up on the Compton hall of fame. Can we please take a moment and appreciate how DJ Mustard flipped Tha Dogg Pound's "Let's Play House" on "Do It To Ya"? Amen. Collapse
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    I have to admit, I was highly skeptical YG was capable of putting together a cohesive album based on the singles for My Krazy Life. But wow.. this is one of the best gangsta rap/west coast hip hop records in recent memory. The first few tracks were so good the first time I heard it I thought I was listening to the newest 2001. The middle of the album was pretty average though, and it was clear DJ Mustard's production helped a lot throughout. It's messy, rough, intense, and real. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Really Be (Smokin N Drinkin) [feat. Kendrick Lamar]": An underrated song. This is the only introspective song on the album that YG seemed honest and vulnerable. Also, Kendrick contributes an incredible intense, whispered verse.

    Other notable tracks: "BPT", "I Just Wanna Party", "Left, Right", "Bicken Back Being Bool", "Who Do You Love?" & "1 AM"
    Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    One helluva cohesive and solid debut from YG!

    It took me a week after it's release for me to play it all through cause of the fact over
    just how much I disliked his singles that followed up to this. More then expected, people and critics where giving this a lot of shine and praise, so I decided to check it out, once for all, seeing if it included any goods.

    A week from now (and two weeks after the release) I sat with the computer and plugged in the headphones. "My Krazy Life" started to play.
    The kick, the track "BPT" hit me with, I knew by then, my opinion of YG where going to be changed.

    ".. ni**a I'm from B-P-T".. my head was knoding, and from there and on, my whole through this I appreciated YG's work, even the singles, especially "Left, Right".

    YG might not be the most lyrical, that I've noticed.
    It's the perfect choice of beats he chooses to ride over with his smooth, bumpy flow and a on-point storytelling of a day in-life of YG in the neighbourhoods of Compton.
    YG knows what he is, he knows what he does best. And with the help of Mustard & co. YG released one fun, young, gangsta- west coast tape to be added on to the major releases of the west coast affiliated buddies Kendrick Lamar and ScHoolboy Q.

    YG turned a non-believer to a, sort of a believer. "My Krazy Life" is one fun listen with a classic feel of a "Doggystyle" and with a harsh pound of a "Straight Outta Compton". If not one top release, this might most definitely be the most entertaining we are going to come across an album in hip hop this year.
    Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Having only heard YG from his mainstream singles, "Toot It and Boot It" and "My N****", I thought this album was going to be a fluke, but it was actually much better than expected. DJ Mustard's production really brings out the most in YG's performance and highlights the best things about him as a Compton-based gangsta rapper with obvious influences from Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre. This could definitely be called the "Hood Kid, Maad City". Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    5
    It's disappointing that the features alone are what keep you somewhat interested in the album. Not that I can't appreciate the vintage west coast sound brought by YG and DJ Mustard, but the extravagance of the production isn't enough to make this album full of dull lyricism and tiresome cliches good enough to enjoy or recommend. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews