My Krazy Life Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio release for the Los Angeles rapper features guest appearances from Drake, Jeezy, Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Schoolboy Q, and Ty Dolla $ign.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    YG's storm cloud is more inviting than most rappers' clear skies. [28 Mar 2014, p.63]
  2. For such an expansive, detailed album, it can be hard to forget this is just his debut record.
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    81
    YG and DJ Mustard have been dress rehearsing for nationwide stardom all along, but My Krazy Life is ratchet music’s Technicolor reveal.
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    80
    YG has grown mightily as a rapper, and because DJ Mustard, who produced more than half of the album, has found a way to make his sketches theatrical without sacrificing their urgency.
  5. 75
    My Krazy Life dampens many of its heavy questions with refreshing musical forms.
  6. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    While My Krazy Life is YG’s debut, it feels more like an album-length celebration of Mustard’s ratchet revolution, a sound distilled from LA G-Funk, Atlanta snap and Bay Area hyphy.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    With the exception of “Me & My Bitch” (a tale of two way infidelity) wedged in between a festive midsection, the Pushaz Ink crew has pieced together a well sequenced and cohesive package with My Krazy Life, but this aspect and his street credibility aren’t enough to win over naysayers expecting an overall greater performance.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    I am so suprised at how good this album is. Based off his singles i figured this album was all hype but boy I was wrong. When listening toI am so suprised at how good this album is. Based off his singles i figured this album was all hype but boy I was wrong. When listening to this album you get a detailed & strong narrative of YG's life as if it's a concept based album. One thing that really impressed me with this LP is that every song flows into each other so well & the skits & narratives are perfectly structured with every song. I like how my krazy life has a real authentic west coast feel to it & I think DJ Mustard & YG knew what they're were going for on this album. After listening to this album a couple of time I can honestly say how I see why so many critics are comparing this to Kendrick Lamar's Good Kid M.a.d.d city & to me these two albums are very similar. YG may not have the techinal rapping skills as kendrick, but the message of the album is clear, strong, precise & imo strongly developed. My Krazy Life is a superb album with an overreaching story. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The best west coast album I have heard since The Documentary. Not a bad song on it. Bicken Back Being Bool and BPT are two of the best songsThe best west coast album I have heard since The Documentary. Not a bad song on it. Bicken Back Being Bool and BPT are two of the best songs this year. YG left his mark with this west coast classic. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle'This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' also has strong narrative it's YG's story and we are taken through the situations he went through, it's his equivalent to K-Dot's 'GKMC', we're provided context lyrically and through skits. 'My Krazy Life' has great features from TDE's 'Black Hippy' crew (except Ab-Soul), Drake and Ty Dolla $ign. The standout tracks for me are 'BPT', 'I Just Wanna Party', 'Meet the Flockers', 'Really be (Smokin N Drinkin)’, 'Sorry Momma' and 'Bompton'. The album is enjoyable and the beats are stellar it has a lot of replay value and I'm interested to see what direction YG takes for future projects. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Having only heard YG from his mainstream singles, "Toot It and Boot It" and "My N****", I thought this album was going to be a fluke, but itHaving only heard YG from his mainstream singles, "Toot It and Boot It" and "My N****", I thought this album was going to be a fluke, but it was actually much better than expected. DJ Mustard's production really brings out the most in YG's performance and highlights the best things about him as a Compton-based gangsta rapper with obvious influences from Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre. This could definitely be called the "Hood Kid, Maad City". Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    6.9/10................................................................................................................................................
  6. May 14, 2014
    6
    'Okay, okay, okay//Told her bust it open she said: "okay!"' - Y.G. vents his heartfelt emotional conditions in conceptually complex and'Okay, okay, okay//Told her bust it open she said: "okay!"' - Y.G. vents his heartfelt emotional conditions in conceptually complex and textually profound lyrics themes. Or is that a different album? 'Humour' aside, trap infused, bass heavy production adds to the appeal of the morally virtuous occupations that are: pimpin', ballin', and shooting others. A shining exemplar of ethical righteousness. Damn the beats are phat tho. B- Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    5
    It's disappointing that the features alone are what keep you somewhat interested in the album. Not that I can't appreciate the vintage westIt's disappointing that the features alone are what keep you somewhat interested in the album. Not that I can't appreciate the vintage west coast sound brought by YG and DJ Mustard, but the extravagance of the production isn't enough to make this album full of dull lyricism and tiresome cliches good enough to enjoy or recommend. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2014's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2014's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 4, 2014
    We rank the year's best-reviewed debut albums, including releases from FKA twigs, Ex Hex, East India Youth, Arca, Ought, and more.