Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    88
    My Life II, despite its flaws, is an immensely enjoyable and impressive album. The four song, mid-album set of soulful R&B, featuring both her new single "25/8" and a cover of Chaka Kahn's "Ain't Nobody" is pure pleasure for the ear, unfiltered stimulation for the body, and mood enhancer for the heart. The closing trio of ballads, including "Need Someone" and the soundtrack single from The Help, "The Living Proof" demonstrate the singer's ability to capture the magnificent mysteries of adult emotion in her vocal phrasing.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    80
    My Life II… The Journey Continues (Part 1) is one of Mary's most memorable albums.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    80
    With the right collaborators she can conjure golden moments.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    It manages to avoid the pitfalls of creative redundancy and combines a classic sound with a contemporary twist to perfect effect.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    75
    What My Life II lacks in a single vision, though, it makes up for with consistently rousing performances from Blige.
  6. 70
    Truly, this is more of an extension than a sequel, with Blige showing once more that she can go from tripped-out, beat-heavy tracks to earnest love songs in a moment, and that "moment" is something she inhabits achingly well.
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    I don't think My Life II in and of itself will go down as one of Mary's best albums; for all its quality it just doesn't have the focus and vision of a classic and occasionally seems to pander to the hot house/techno/club trend.
  8. Dec 1, 2011
    70
    Amid overwrought theatrical gestures, MJB still finds a slinky groove.
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    70
    After all these years, she can still make pain pleasurable.
  10. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    There's a real intelligence about the whole album that looks to old-school hip hop and late-model disco, which were never too far apart, to provide a platform springy enough and familiar enough for the singer to launch her vocals.
  11. 67
    The lovelorn lyrics get same-y, and "modern" touches (like snoozy duets with Drake and Beyoncé) show a Blige who doesn't care much about the here and now.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    The second best R&B album this year after Beyoncé's 4. Mary proves that you can stay true to her roots and make great musicThe second best R&B album this year after Beyoncé's 4. Mary proves that you can stay true to her roots and make great music successfully. Well done, recommended. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best R&B albums of the year. It's a classic. MJB sings her heart out on every track. Great collaborations with Beyonce, Rick Ross,One of the best R&B albums of the year. It's a classic. MJB sings her heart out on every track. Great collaborations with Beyonce, Rick Ross, Nas, Drake, Brook Lynn, and actress Taraji P. Henson. Great introduction with Diddy. Overall, My Life II is one of my favorite albums of the year. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    This Album to me, Mary showed a little from all her past albums. On a upward note! This Cd will move you an pull you in. Very hot album toThis Album to me, Mary showed a little from all her past albums. On a upward note! This Cd will move you an pull you in. Very hot album to have hip-hop soul at it's best. Full Review »