My Name Is My Name Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut solo studio release for the rapper, who began his career as part of the rap duo Clipse, features guest appearances from such artists as 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Chris Brown, Future, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Rick Ross, and Kelly Rowland.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    91
    Pusha T paints a vivid picture of the things he knows best throughout My Name Is My Name.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Pusha T is at the top of his game with sharply defined autobiographical tales and defiant, self-aware verses. He often dazzles with his smooth, cold-blooded flow and connects on virtually every song.
  3. My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    The album is an amalgamation of his past trade and his current, and as is fitting for an album from a man whose past is as powdery white as a Colorado winter, it’s dope.
  5. 80
    In My Name Is My Name, Pusha T has produced one of the most diverse and constantly rewarding hip-hop records of the year; twelve tracks tied together by a man at the top of his form and who, quite soon, may yet reach the highest summits.
  6. 75
    The debut solo record from half of the duo the Clipse and member of Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music collective is hard and minimal, filled with state-of-the-art beats that pop with bravado.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    50
    When the beats are sparse he shines, but the album bloats in its middle with too many R&B assisted dramatic gestures and not enough dead eyed and cracked crack music. [Nov 2013, p.66]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Drake stan trying to discredit "Cocaine" TYRANT the GAWD. Album is AOTY 10/10 you sad ass cac. Pusha delivers best album since YEEZUS b, this reallll
  2. N10
    Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Experimental intstrumentals and banger beats, Pusha T delievers as always, hungrier than ever. Been a regularly play for me, a if not the topExperimental intstrumentals and banger beats, Pusha T delievers as always, hungrier than ever. Been a regularly play for me, a if not the top release of this years (weak) mainstream rap scene. Though this year it's genre was more experimental and exotic with it's sound than before, the main thing that others lacked were lyrics. Artist such as Kanye West, Drake and even Jay-Z at some point, the production they was backed with almost even outshined them, so I'm glad to see that Pusha's pen game was up to par and delieverd delightful, ear grabbing lines. Thanks Push, thanks also for tracks like "King Push", "Numbers On The Boards" and "Nosetalgia" which I do rank as one of the best songs to be released in 2013! Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of theMy Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    For the first time in 7 years, the spotlight is all on Pusha T. He lays his sharp lyricism over producer Kanye West's crisp beats. HeFor the first time in 7 years, the spotlight is all on Pusha T. He lays his sharp lyricism over producer Kanye West's crisp beats. He outshines all guests, including exceptional peers Kendrick Lamar and Ab-Liva. He touches on a myriad of subjects, but always leads back to the central theme of a self-conscious hustler looking in on himself. Gold. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best albums of the Year. Pusha T really is a pusher because this albums sounds like cocaine on vinyl. Go get it, the onlyThis is one of the best albums of the Year. Pusha T really is a pusher because this albums sounds like cocaine on vinyl. Go get it, the only track that is disappointing is "Who I Am" with 2 Chainz & Big Sean and the filler track "No Regrets" with Jeezy.Even Future did ok on this. The production is Amazing. I must say Swizz Beatz, Pharrell & Kanye snapped on this. Definite Highs of the album *no pun intended* are King Push, Sweet Serenade & Suicide. 10/10 for lyrics, 8/10 for feature selection, 10/10 for production. Overall 9/10 Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Pusha T does it again. One of the best members of the very talented GOOD Music crew. He continues to mix his clever punchlines with thePusha T does it again. One of the best members of the very talented GOOD Music crew. He continues to mix his clever punchlines with the outstanding beats provided. Defiantly an interesting album to add to your collection this year. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    can't just relate to crack music. i am not interested in that life style, the mase flow was ok but i actually thought that was mase rappingcan't just relate to crack music. i am not interested in that life style, the mase flow was ok but i actually thought that was mase rapping on there. i only mess with 3 tracks Expand

See all 28 User Reviews