My Name Is My Name Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut solo studio release for the rapper, who began his career as part of the rap duo Clipse, features guest appearances from such artists as 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Chris Brown, Future, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Rick Ross, and Kelly Rowland.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    91
    Pusha T paints a vivid picture of the things he knows best throughout My Name Is My Name.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Pusha T is at the top of his game with sharply defined autobiographical tales and defiant, self-aware verses. He often dazzles with his smooth, cold-blooded flow and connects on virtually every song.
  3. My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    The album is an amalgamation of his past trade and his current, and as is fitting for an album from a man whose past is as powdery white as a Colorado winter, it’s dope.
  5. 80
    In My Name Is My Name, Pusha T has produced one of the most diverse and constantly rewarding hip-hop records of the year; twelve tracks tied together by a man at the top of his form and who, quite soon, may yet reach the highest summits.
  6. 75
    The debut solo record from half of the duo the Clipse and member of Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music collective is hard and minimal, filled with state-of-the-art beats that pop with bravado.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    50
    When the beats are sparse he shines, but the album bloats in its middle with too many R&B assisted dramatic gestures and not enough dead eyed and cracked crack music. [Nov 2013, p.66]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Drake stan trying to discredit "Cocaine" TYRANT the GAWD. Album is AOTY 10/10 you sad ass cac. Pusha delivers best album since YEEZUS b, this reallll
  2. N10
    Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Experimental intstrumentals and banger beats, Pusha T delievers as always, hungrier than ever. Been a regularly play for me, a if not the top release of this years (weak) mainstream rap scene. Though this year it's genre was more experimental and exotic with it's sound than before, the main thing that others lacked were lyrics. Artist such as Kanye West, Drake and even Jay-Z at some point, the production they was backed with almost even outshined them, so I'm glad to see that Pusha's pen game was up to par and delieverd delightful, ear grabbing lines. Thanks Push, thanks also for tracks like "King Push", "Numbers On The Boards" and "Nosetalgia" which I do rank as one of the best songs to be released in 2013! Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    My Name Is My Name is one of the best debut albums of the year, but since Pusha T is far from a new artist, he's got a leg-up on many of the newcomers to the genre. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    This is an album that really blew me away. Pusha T really delivers with this one. The dark gritty production really compliments the drug dealing lyrcism and Pusha T's snarling, menacing voice. Standout tracks include: "Numbers on the Board", "Suicide", "S.N.I.T.C.H.". Definitely one of my favorite albums this year Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    Pusha T delivers here big time. Throughout, the album is blessed with awesome beats and awesome verses dropped by both Pusha and the features. Not much to be disappointed about here as for an album we have waited for all year, it lives up to expectations and more. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Pusha T does it again. One of the best members of the very talented GOOD Music crew. He continues to mix his clever punchlines with the outstanding beats provided. Defiantly an interesting album to add to your collection this year. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    can't just relate to crack music. i am not interested in that life style, the mase flow was ok but i actually thought that was mase rapping on there. i only mess with 3 tracks Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews