Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 284

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    Mylo Xyloto is a huge disappointment. Yes, it is terrific production, but other than the single, "Paradise", Chris Martin's songwriting is surprisingly weak and the album lack the cohesion of "Viva La Vida". It's a foray into cheesy contemporary pop and electronica. Growing musically is great, to latching on to a genre that creates worse music than they do is a huge mistake. As a Coldplay fan, I think I'll pretend this album never happened and hope Martin goes back to putting songwriting first on the next one. Here, it feels like he's scraping the bottom of the barrel. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Insipid "music". This is far from being alternative rock, actually this is very mediocre pop. Rihanna? Seriously. They just can't get any lower than that. It'll definitely be their worst reviewed album and one of the worst of the year. Too bad. I wouldn't buy this if I were you.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Definitely not as good as their earlier albums. The single Paradise is catchy and even Every Teardrop is all right, but the so far fan favourite, Charlie Brown, is dull and definitely not living up even slightly to any of the praise it's gotten. I stopped liking Coldplay after X&Y and this did not bring me back.
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Disappointing...specially Princess Of China... what do they prove out here?.....that with any kind they will remain in mainstream..no..one more album like Mylo Xyloto and they will be forgotten.....Good songs- Us Against The World and Up With The Birds and Charlie Brown
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    Just terrible. I loved the first two Coldplay albums and half of the third album. I honestly shake my head when I hear glowing reviews of this album. The lyrics are trite, the music is boring. The production is good, but with a multi-million dollar budget I could make just as good an album. And that's not bragging.
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    0
    I checked this out at the recommendation of a friend and I was really annoyed, they must hate me because every song seemed to grate on my nerves. What a huge disappointment from the world's biggest band.
  7. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    Big big fan of the first two coldplay albums, some of the third and maybe a couple of moments on the fourth. This album seems to follow the trend fairly well. Chris martin is clearly a talented song writer and put a hell of a lot into the earlier work, and once the success hit his focus fairly abruptly changed from writing great songs to creating concepts and imaged, and trying to be this third world ambassador, at which point his head has become as big as bono's and everything sounds completely washed out and average. I hope this lazily written piece of mediocrity flops as to bring him down to earth, but the reality is it will be very successful and chris martin will continue to pollute our listening spaces for years to come Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    So, Coldplay i starting to turn from an alternative, progressive rock to a more "music for the masses" type.
    I used to love them but this album just dropped a **** of **** (pardon my French). They commercialized themselves and are now becoming a pretty pop band... I have gotta say they disappointed me a lot. But still on the bright side Radiohead, Arcade Fire, The National, My Morning
    Jacket, Bjork,... etc. are here to save my day. Expand
  9. Jul 18, 2012
    4
    There's something wrong with Coldplay lately. I would say the worst album of them until now. "Mylo Xyloto" doesn't fulfil the expectations of Coldplay's return. The entire album seems to produce, in vain, some "revive" in oneself, with apparent happy melodies like "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Hurts Like Heaven". The result is totally different. It's almost an anhedonic album with lack of shine and consistence. "Moving to Mars" wasn't included in the album. Maybe this song could have given it a little majesty with an epic sound. Lyrics are the only strength in the songs with a good development, putting some special intros before some tracks. In conclusion, and I repeat it, there's something wrong with Coldplay lately. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    This album is a real disappointment. When Viva la Vida came out it felt fresh because it was quite a departure from the bands previous sound. So I had high hopes that Mylo Xyloto might be a continuation of the trend to produce something exiting and un-expecting. Unfortunately this album is a just a bland and uninspiring selection of average pop songs. I don't mind a commercial sound, but these guys could have done much better than this. Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Mylo Xyloto AKA How To Make Money By Writing Bland Insipid Noises Part 5. Yes 5 albums in and Q magazine are still loving the Coldplay, "Music this uplifting, this inspirational, belongs among the stars" they say, well it belongs somewhere and it's definetly not the stars! I read such tripe open mouthed almost stunned that an actual music magazine can buy in to this rubbish and tell it's readers to waste their money. But hell it's a 'concept' album, so that makes it all right then. 1 star for concept, minus 1 for "paradise" = 0. Lovely! Expand
  12. Oct 29, 2011
    2
    Definitely the worst Coldplay album so far. Only a few songs are listenable. It is a break from their usual style, but it is too far of a break. In Viva la Vida, Coldplay changed their style, but it made sense. This album is simply too far away from what we're used to from Coldplay. Also, the album doesn't seem to fit together. Viva la Vida told a story, Mylo Xyloto is a mess.
  13. Oct 25, 2011
    3
    Somewhere under the layers of bleeps and bloops that make up Coldplay's allegedly "more acoustic" fifth studio LP -- the oddly titled 'Mylo Xyloto' -- there lays some form of melody and emotion... or so one would assume. If you are struggling to distinguish it also, you should instead move on to trying to spot the 'concept' weaved into the lyrical tapestry; this concept being -- rather bland and uninspiringly -- a tale of two lovers (named Mylo and Xyloto) trapped in the unforgiving streets of Urbtopia, finding comfort only in the arms of each other. This is as far as the 'concept' (and I struggle to name that, with confidence, to something so trivial) goes, plainly because it isn't followed with enough interest by Martin's songwriting.

    That being said, what did Martin actually write? Elements of 'Every Teardrop...' are admittedly -- and shamelessly -- sampled from "I Go to Rio" by Peter Allen and Adrienne Anderson; whereas "Princess of China" (which features Rihanna, by the way) is accused of plagiarism from the song "Chanting at the Alley" by Vietnamese singer Ha Tran. Not only this, but the rest of the tracks are more like 'spot the influence'. The only predominantly acoustic track, 'U.F.O', takes "Lord I don't know which way I am going/Which way the river gonna flow" right out of Bob Dylan's 'Songwriting for Dummies' book, while the penultimate number 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' nabs the scale and power from U2's back catalogue. Surely if your inspirations bleed through as much as they do by the time you have made your fifth studio album, your musical credibility must be questioned?

    I feel a little remorse actually, since you can say quite confidently -- using the 250-or-so words above -- that I think Mylo Xyloto is the worst album ever made -- but I really don't. Coldplay have made a fan-pleasing record here, and this is evident by the other reviews on this website. You could argue that Colplay fans have the musical knowledge of a teaspoon, but take it from this Teaspoon -- this is as about as good as modern pop gets, even if it is aimed at (practically, no offense) scum.
    Expand
  14. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    I'm angry at Coldplay for this piece of junk. Like My Chemical Romance, U2, and The Cure the newest album from each seems to be their worst. I'd like to see Coldplay in concert again when this album dies down.
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Coldplay has decided to make an album that will appeal to their widest audience yet - and it does. Unfortunately, while doing that they left quality behind completely, and created a collection of overwhelmingly similar, electronically fused crap that lacks the authenticity and originality of their last albums.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Mylo Xyloto feels like it was created by an actual rock band, with each player stepping up his game.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    With all the bells and whistles in prominent display, Coldplay may have made their most enjoyable album. I only hope the sourpusses enjoy it.