• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2011
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 327

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Disappointing...specially Princess Of China... what do they prove out here?.....that with any kind they will remain in mainstream..no..one more album like Mylo Xyloto and they will be forgotten.....Good songs- Us Against The World and Up With The Birds and Charlie Brown
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    5
    Longtime Coldplay fan here (first 3 albums are some of my all-time favorite, Viva...meh...the title song is great, and Violet Hill is fantastic). The singles have been pretty awful for this album so far ("Every Tear" "Paradise" and "Princess of China" all have a few interesting bits, but get bogged down pretty early on) and the rest of the album isn't look so good, from my somewhatLongtime Coldplay fan here (first 3 albums are some of my all-time favorite, Viva...meh...the title song is great, and Violet Hill is fantastic). The singles have been pretty awful for this album so far ("Every Tear" "Paradise" and "Princess of China" all have a few interesting bits, but get bogged down pretty early on) and the rest of the album isn't look so good, from my somewhat cursory listen. "Hurts Like Heaven" (after a nice titular intro) is a strong start, with a bright electronic open that later blossoms into some very beautiful guitar parts. "Charlie Brown" suffers from a typical problem on the album: songs have some good promise, but I lose interest before it's over. "Us Against the World" feels like complete filler...I know I've heard this song on their other albums before, probably on more than one. "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" is the first single, and it's hard to resist, but, again, there's not a lot here to hold my interest, although I really did enjoy the music video. Perhaps it's just too bright for me? Seems somewhat boring though, too, and the lyrics don't really seem very important or interesting. Chris Martin has written much better than this. "Major Minus" is an interesting track, and sounds a bit out of place on this album, which is probably why I enjoyed it more than the average track here. Have to listen a bit more to find out if it's actually any good, though. "UFO" passes by quickly and easily, but it's forgettable. I initially liked "Princess of China" but the more I listen to it, the less I like it. The opening is really cool, and I enjoy all the electronic noise along with the warbling guitars, but Rihanna is not useful here (and doesn't mesh well with Martin at all) and the song itself caves in when the two sing together: the only thing compelling here is some of the individual sounds. "Up in Flames" is a very sweet and precious song, but terribly repetitive and far too sentimental for my tastes. Last two tracks I haven't listened to enough to form an opinion. They sound more conventional Coldplay compared to the singles, which could be a good thing, but I'm not hearing anything jump at me, probably for the same reason. In short, I'm pretty disappointed, but not too surprised. I wasn't very happy with the direction "Viva" was going, towards more a experimental, less guitar-driven sound. I'm a huge fan of Radiohead's "Kid A", but I, correctly imo, predicted Coldplay wouldn't be able to pull off such a big change in sound like Radiohead did. By the looks of the critic's reviews, I'm not alone. I hope Coldplay continues to experiment with their sound, but on another path. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    I would have to describe this album as another "safe" outing for Coldplay. Which is a shame considering that their previous "Viva La Vida" showed the bands ability to change up their sound and take a few risks. The biggest risk Mylo Xyloto takes is with it's name. The changes that Coldplay makes are fusing their sound with Top 40 pop tracks that don't carry the same weight or emotionalI would have to describe this album as another "safe" outing for Coldplay. Which is a shame considering that their previous "Viva La Vida" showed the bands ability to change up their sound and take a few risks. The biggest risk Mylo Xyloto takes is with it's name. The changes that Coldplay makes are fusing their sound with Top 40 pop tracks that don't carry the same weight or emotional connection as songs such as "Politik" or "The Scientist."

    So I bet you're wondering, "Is this Album bad or good?" To me... it is simply mediocre. It has som high points, "Charlie Brown" "Major Minus" and even "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" has grown on me a bit. However, their ballads "Up in Flames" and "U.F.O." drag us through the motions, without leaving a lasting impression. "Hurts like Heaven" and "Don't let it Break Your Heart" have great energy, but are sugar coated and come off as shallow. I'm not saying the songs are TERRIBLE, just... ok.

    I respect the band as stadium-rock leaders of this generation, and I love their energy. However, i feel a lack of passion and creativity here. Hopefully they'll keep moving forward and find a new direction on their next.
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    The album is yes an interesting concept of love and good melodies, but doesn't hide disappointment in the same way of X&Y.. A lack of variety and much of Dejà-heard
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    Coldplay made some good material; enlightening Production, very emotionally charged music, and the upbeat melancholy of most songs is impressively inspiring. However, behind the creativity in the shift of the band's usual experimentation, they went a little too far with it, being somewhat disappointing considering they come from making songs like "Shiver", "Clocks" and "Viva la Vida" toColdplay made some good material; enlightening Production, very emotionally charged music, and the upbeat melancholy of most songs is impressively inspiring. However, behind the creativity in the shift of the band's usual experimentation, they went a little too far with it, being somewhat disappointing considering they come from making songs like "Shiver", "Clocks" and "Viva la Vida" to end up between Rihanna's vocals and Synthpop overdose.
    To sum up, a great album, an excellent motif and inspiring songs, but not enough Coldplay
    Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    So, Coldplay i starting to turn from an alternative, progressive rock to a more "music for the masses" type.
    I used to love them but this album just dropped a **** of **** (pardon my French). They commercialized themselves and are now becoming a pretty pop band... I have gotta say they disappointed me a lot. But still on the bright side Radiohead, Arcade Fire, The National, My Morning
    So, Coldplay i starting to turn from an alternative, progressive rock to a more "music for the masses" type.
    I used to love them but this album just dropped a **** of **** (pardon my French). They commercialized themselves and are now becoming a pretty pop band... I have gotta say they disappointed me a lot. But still on the bright side Radiohead, Arcade Fire, The National, My Morning Jacket, Bjork,... etc. are here to save my day.
    Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Not their best effort, I expected more from coldplay!Its production is terrific and the album has some memorable melodies, but rather than that it is also a bit boring effort and all these synths and electronic stuff sound haotic at times and really are getting your nerves by the end of the album. I highlighted "Paradise"(one of their best songs, in my opinion),"Princess of china"(don'tNot their best effort, I expected more from coldplay!Its production is terrific and the album has some memorable melodies, but rather than that it is also a bit boring effort and all these synths and electronic stuff sound haotic at times and really are getting your nerves by the end of the album. I highlighted "Paradise"(one of their best songs, in my opinion),"Princess of china"(don't get me wrong, but I think Rihanna is a good addition to the album) and the magnificent "Charlie Brown". Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Despite having great tracks and a terrific production, this is not Coldplay at it's best of judgement.

    Most tracks like Us Against The World, Charlie Brown and Paradise are classic Coldplay, while Up With The Birds and Up In Flames are pleasant surprises that fits well with their new sonic direction. The one and major problem here is the Rihanna-cameo track, Princess Of China, which
    Despite having great tracks and a terrific production, this is not Coldplay at it's best of judgement.

    Most tracks like Us Against The World, Charlie Brown and Paradise are classic Coldplay, while Up With The Birds and Up In Flames are pleasant surprises that fits well with their new sonic direction.

    The one and major problem here is the Rihanna-cameo track, Princess Of China, which seems completely out of place, like oil in water; in the middle of this particular album, Princess Of China pollutes a otherwise coherent work with a Pop-Diva fairy-tale tune, more suited for a b-side. Coldplay always cared for each of their releases as a concept, something their fans could listen to from start to finish as a whole. In my opinion, Princess Of China ruined that for Mylo Xyloto.

    My greatest disappointment is knowing that a beautifully crafted tune like Moving To Mars, a real proof that under Brian Eno's guidance Coldplay can achieve an even bigger epic-rock scale by being simpler and authentic, was left off the album just for the sake of chart-sales.

    I grade it 5 out of 10 because of Princess Of China (trim that one and it easily goes to 7 out of 10).
    Expand
  9. Jul 18, 2012
    4
    There's something wrong with Coldplay lately. I would say the worst album of them until now. "Mylo Xyloto" doesn't fulfil the expectations of Coldplay's return. The entire album seems to produce, in vain, some "revive" in oneself, with apparent happy melodies like "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Hurts Like Heaven". The result is totally different. It's almost an anhedonic album withThere's something wrong with Coldplay lately. I would say the worst album of them until now. "Mylo Xyloto" doesn't fulfil the expectations of Coldplay's return. The entire album seems to produce, in vain, some "revive" in oneself, with apparent happy melodies like "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Hurts Like Heaven". The result is totally different. It's almost an anhedonic album with lack of shine and consistence. "Moving to Mars" wasn't included in the album. Maybe this song could have given it a little majesty with an epic sound. Lyrics are the only strength in the songs with a good development, putting some special intros before some tracks. In conclusion, and I repeat it, there's something wrong with Coldplay lately. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    This album is a real disappointment. When Viva la Vida came out it felt fresh because it was quite a departure from the bands previous sound. So I had high hopes that Mylo Xyloto might be a continuation of the trend to produce something exiting and un-expecting. Unfortunately this album is a just a bland and uninspiring selection of average pop songs. I don't mind a commercial sound, butThis album is a real disappointment. When Viva la Vida came out it felt fresh because it was quite a departure from the bands previous sound. So I had high hopes that Mylo Xyloto might be a continuation of the trend to produce something exiting and un-expecting. Unfortunately this album is a just a bland and uninspiring selection of average pop songs. I don't mind a commercial sound, but these guys could have done much better than this. Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    I love Coldplay, I really do. I just don't love Mylo Xyloto. It's...weird. Trading a lot of guitars for synthesizers and meaningful lyrics for desperation, Mylo Xyloto does not do Coldplay any justice. At least not much. My favorite thing in this album is Chris Martin's voice. He sings in a very pretty manner. The production is not exactly finesse, but it's very ethereal and sound muchI love Coldplay, I really do. I just don't love Mylo Xyloto. It's...weird. Trading a lot of guitars for synthesizers and meaningful lyrics for desperation, Mylo Xyloto does not do Coldplay any justice. At least not much. My favorite thing in this album is Chris Martin's voice. He sings in a very pretty manner. The production is not exactly finesse, but it's very ethereal and sound much influenced by Asian culture and instruments. Paradise is truly a paradise of a song with beautiful melodies and almost-haunting production. Most of Mylo Xyloto is like this: experimental, stripped-down, and woozy. I couldn't help but get bored during most of the album. This is the only album I own that i truly regret buying. HIGHLIGHTS: Hurts Like Heaven, Paradise, Charlie Brown, Up With The Birds. SONGS THAT ARE TO BE SKIPPED: All the interludes, Us Against The World Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Being a fan of this band, I expected a lot more than what I got. Truthfully, they did progress into an electro sound, but I don't think it turned out as well as it could have.
  13. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They didn't evolve too much. MX has sounds of all coldplay's previous albums. Don't let it break your heart could have been in X&Y for example. Us against the world in Parachutes, etc. If there's no evolution, you expect at least good songs. But MX has few really good songs. Some feel like fillers. I liked Charlie Brown and Paradise, even though i feel the last one is overproduced. Could have been more elegant. Princess of China is ashaming, sounds like an average mainstream pop artist. I liked the guitar effect anyway, just like in hurts like heaven. I was expecting more sounds like that in the album, more exploration in the dream pop sounds. Personal view of course.

    The weakest coldplay album so far to me. I felt lack of inspiration overall. Miles away from rush of blood and viva la vida, their best to me.
    Expand
  14. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    After hits like "Paradise", and "Charlie Brown", the really good tracks on the album are named. The other tracks make me think of X & Y and other previous albums. The lyrics are weak and the beats are repetitive.
    I will still sing "Paradise" when i am listening to it, but the rest of the album sounds like songs without a clear feeling and aren't catchy. Dissapointment ? Yes and No ! If you
    After hits like "Paradise", and "Charlie Brown", the really good tracks on the album are named. The other tracks make me think of X & Y and other previous albums. The lyrics are weak and the beats are repetitive.
    I will still sing "Paradise" when i am listening to it, but the rest of the album sounds like songs without a clear feeling and aren't catchy. Dissapointment ? Yes and No ! If you really are into music like coldplay, buy this, you will love it. If you just are into good music. Don't spend more than 12 Dollar/Euro on it.
    Expand
  15. Feb 21, 2012
    5
    As a Coldplay fan, I'm very disappointed to say that this album is just....meh. I love their acoustic albums - most notably Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head. I liked X&Y and Viva La Vida, not as much as their first two albums, but I still liked them. Then along came Mylo Xyloto, and, while it has a few okay songs, it's ultimately a disappointment. First off, my biggestAs a Coldplay fan, I'm very disappointed to say that this album is just....meh. I love their acoustic albums - most notably Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head. I liked X&Y and Viva La Vida, not as much as their first two albums, but I still liked them. Then along came Mylo Xyloto, and, while it has a few okay songs, it's ultimately a disappointment. First off, my biggest problem with the album is that they have turned to pop for the most part. Yes, I realize that Viva La Vida was a step in that direction, but at least it had some great songs with Coldplay's fingerprints. Mylo Xyloto feels entirely different. It's more electronic and pop-like, and the lyrics are almost meaningless - what happened to the Coldplay I once knew, with emotional lyrics of love and loss, with beautiful music to tie it all together? It's very saddening to think of what Coldplay once was with Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head and compare it to this album. I can understand that they want to expand their variety of music, but to shift from what you are good at (alt. rock) to what you are bad at (pop music) is not a good choice. "Princess of China" is the most obvious example on the album, as it features pop star Rihanna, who does not sound well with Martin in the first place. Now all of this being said, I did still give this review a 5/10, so yes there are positives. The album still has some unique sound to it, and although the change in style for them isn't what I prefer, I'll admit that there are some catchy tunes here. "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall" is fun and upbeat, "Paradise" is catchy, and there are still some acoustic remains in songs such as "Us Against the World" and "UFO." Also, "Major Minus" keeps some of their alternative rock music alive. All of this, however, still does not change my previous statement that this album is ultimately a disappointment. Here's to hoping that they turn to their old style, which I grew to love. Expand
  16. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    As a longtime Coldplay fan, I was extremely excited for this album. It was very hyped, as the band called Mylo Xyloto "Their best album yet." When it was finally released, I was itching to get the album. But when I finally got a copy and gave it a listen, I was...confused. I didn't know what to think of this music. I was hoping for Mylo Xyloto to be an amazing album; a sequel to the VivaAs a longtime Coldplay fan, I was extremely excited for this album. It was very hyped, as the band called Mylo Xyloto "Their best album yet." When it was finally released, I was itching to get the album. But when I finally got a copy and gave it a listen, I was...confused. I didn't know what to think of this music. I was hoping for Mylo Xyloto to be an amazing album; a sequel to the Viva La Viva era, that would bring down the shambles of the trashy, pop music that was being released, and take home 'Album of the Year' honors. I was wrong.

    As I kept listening to the album, I had a sudden realization; Coldplay is Coldplay, not 'Viva La Vida'. From that moment on, I listened to the album with a clear conscious, and not from the high-expectation standpoint I was at before. Then, the music seemed to sound...better. The pop-indie music I thought I was listening to turned into a techno/soft rock type of music, and it certainly sounded better than the first time I listened. So overall, Mylo Xyloto was slightly disappointing, if you had high-expectations for it. The main premise is that this is a different style of music that both Coldplay and the fans are not familiar with. As time goes by and more albums are released by the British band, we may see more and more improvements on their style of music. For now, anyway, the music is a first step to the greatness the can be achieved by Coldplay. But as they say, the first step is the hardest, and that phrase seems to hold true in this case.
    Expand
  17. May 29, 2012
    5
    It seems that Coldplay have forgotten what once made them a great Alternative band. The band has abandoned alternative rock as most of the songs are based on pop genre. The record has its own good moments with some good songs like Major Minus and Paradise but most of the songs sound no more than fillers. Also, the band has featured Rihanna on Princess of China track, which is an altogetherIt seems that Coldplay have forgotten what once made them a great Alternative band. The band has abandoned alternative rock as most of the songs are based on pop genre. The record has its own good moments with some good songs like Major Minus and Paradise but most of the songs sound no more than fillers. Also, the band has featured Rihanna on Princess of China track, which is an altogether a commercial move and will definitely disappoint most of the fans.
    The concept of the album is simple (that is love of Mylo and Xyloto) but the album somehow fails to be rendered as a rock opera.Still, if you are a Coldplay fan, you can listen to the record for sometime but the overall experience will be dull and short-lived in comparison to the band's previous materials.
    Expand
  18. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    This album is simply disappointing after hearing all of the previous albums. It is certainly a shift in the dance/pop direction but that doesn't exactly work for Coldplay. It's songs have their moments and I was actually pleasantly surprised by "Princess of China." But overall this album is completely lacking in variety. To me it almost seems like a bit of a sell out. I'd never reallyThis album is simply disappointing after hearing all of the previous albums. It is certainly a shift in the dance/pop direction but that doesn't exactly work for Coldplay. It's songs have their moments and I was actually pleasantly surprised by "Princess of China." But overall this album is completely lacking in variety. To me it almost seems like a bit of a sell out. I'd never really considered Coldplay to fit into the "Pop" genre before listening to this album. It's not that Mylo Xyloto is bad it's just that it's not the Coldplay fans have grown to love. This album is great however if you're less of a die-hard Coldplay fan. Expand
  19. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Coldplay has decided to make an album that will appeal to their widest audience yet - and it does. Unfortunately, while doing that they left quality behind completely, and created a collection of overwhelmingly similar, electronically fused crap that lacks the authenticity and originality of their last albums.
  20. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    As a long-time Coldplay fan, I found this album to be a departure into unfamiliar territory for the band and the first time that they had made a concept album. In terms of the songs, I found them to be experimental in structure (e.g Every Teardrop is a Waterfall) compared to some of their previous work. This is a positive point for the album- the different structures. I also foundAs a long-time Coldplay fan, I found this album to be a departure into unfamiliar territory for the band and the first time that they had made a concept album. In terms of the songs, I found them to be experimental in structure (e.g Every Teardrop is a Waterfall) compared to some of their previous work. This is a positive point for the album- the different structures. I also found Coldplay's utilisation of the 'concept album' quite nice, as all the songs follow a story of love. Another thing to be praised is the flow of the album and how each of the songs relate to each other, creating a good listening experience for those listening straight through, as the progression makes sense.

    However, where the album falls short is the level of production. Every song in the album just seems so meticulous and unnatural due to the over-produced nature of the album. Making this worse is the use of electronic sounds and synthesiser, which just add to the artificial feel of everything. Personally, I just wish that Coldplay would stick to acoustic song-writing as that is what made them big- their best album in my opinion is A Rush of Blood to the Head, which was mainly all using more acoustic and normal instruments. Furthermore, the addition of electronic performing media made some of the songs sound extremely muffled because the listening experience is just crowded with different tone colours doing different things to the point that it just becomes a flurry of not music, but sound.
    Mylo Xyloto all in all is definitely not a bad album, but neither is it a great one. The experimental nature of the songs is surely one of the albums strong points and as is the use of a concept album, but I just wished that Coldplay would not follow in the footsteps of Pop music in the direction of electronic (or like said in Brave New World, 'Synthetic' music) tone colours or extremely high production values to the point where the album just sounds artificial, over-produced and not composed, but engineered.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Mylo Xyloto feels like it was created by an actual rock band, with each player stepping up his game.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    With all the bells and whistles in prominent display, Coldplay may have made their most enjoyable album. I only hope the sourpusses enjoy it.