Mylo Xyloto

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2011
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 405

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Disappointing...specially Princess Of China... what do they prove out here?.....that with any kind they will remain in mainstream..no..one more album like Mylo Xyloto and they will be forgotten.....Good songs- Us Against The World and Up With The Birds and Charlie Brown
  2. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    Big big fan of the first two coldplay albums, some of the third and maybe a couple of moments on the fourth. This album seems to follow the trend fairly well. Chris martin is clearly a talented song writer and put a hell of a lot into the earlier work, and once the success hit his focus fairly abruptly changed from writing great songs to creating concepts and imaged, and trying to be thisBig big fan of the first two coldplay albums, some of the third and maybe a couple of moments on the fourth. This album seems to follow the trend fairly well. Chris martin is clearly a talented song writer and put a hell of a lot into the earlier work, and once the success hit his focus fairly abruptly changed from writing great songs to creating concepts and imaged, and trying to be this third world ambassador, at which point his head has become as big as bono's and everything sounds completely washed out and average. I hope this lazily written piece of mediocrity flops as to bring him down to earth, but the reality is it will be very successful and chris martin will continue to pollute our listening spaces for years to come Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2015
    7
    The album is a sensational background music. A concept album that is extremely successful in delivering the atmosphere using electronic influences yet sticking to rock/alternative roots of Coldplay. Magical Songs like "Paradise", "Charlie Brown" and record-definers like "Every teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Princess of China" give the album lots of spirituality. However the band gets way tooThe album is a sensational background music. A concept album that is extremely successful in delivering the atmosphere using electronic influences yet sticking to rock/alternative roots of Coldplay. Magical Songs like "Paradise", "Charlie Brown" and record-definers like "Every teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Princess of China" give the album lots of spirituality. However the band gets way too "mainstream" in Mylo Xyloto. Overall the experience is close to pop music however has the magic of all Coldplay albums. Listenable, Active and Energetic. However, not an honor in an impressive discography. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I was somewhat dissapointed with Viva La Vida, So this album came as a surprise for me. While it's not as great as XY or A Rush of Blood to The Head, it's still a pretty decent album though you'll be saying WTF at Martin's choice in Lyrics ( Paradise is the biggest offender). Ironically the songs are catchy as hell, You'll be tapping your toes and singing along to tracks like 'CharlieI was somewhat dissapointed with Viva La Vida, So this album came as a surprise for me. While it's not as great as XY or A Rush of Blood to The Head, it's still a pretty decent album though you'll be saying WTF at Martin's choice in Lyrics ( Paradise is the biggest offender). Ironically the songs are catchy as hell, You'll be tapping your toes and singing along to tracks like 'Charlie Brown', Major Minus, Every Teardrop is a waterfall' and Princess of China (One of the rare times I like Rihanna). The standout track for me was Hurts like Heaven which gets you pumped up for the rest of the album (This also is the opening song for the Mylo Xyloto Tour). If your fan of Coldplay, you'll Love this album, if you want to get into the band however, you're better of listening to their first three albums before hand. Other than that it's a pretty solid effort for Chris Martin and the Boys. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2016
    7
    Not Coldplay's best, but not their worst (though it was their worst-till-date when it was released 5 years ago). It lacks that emotional core that made Coldplay the go-to-band, and this album marks the beginning of their disappointing sub-par pop phase. Songs like Paradise and Princess of China, while not being Coldplay staples are fun and nice to listen to. Every Teardrop... is nice too.Not Coldplay's best, but not their worst (though it was their worst-till-date when it was released 5 years ago). It lacks that emotional core that made Coldplay the go-to-band, and this album marks the beginning of their disappointing sub-par pop phase. Songs like Paradise and Princess of China, while not being Coldplay staples are fun and nice to listen to. Every Teardrop... is nice too. Overall, a little better than OK album, but definitely not bad or average. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2015
    7
    Nice mixture of alternative, synth-pop and a little bit of folk. Has a big, spacious, nearly anthemic sound, created by busy drumming, layered guitars and harmonized vocals. There's still some space for a few smaller and humbler songs. Lots of catchy and melodious tunes.
  7. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    A Great Album, from Coldplay.............................................................................................................................................
  8. May 11, 2016
    10
    ...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................a Great Coldplay Album
  9. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection. though the album is great maybe the songwriting isn't so good but the music is very amazing and unique
  10. Oct 26, 2011
    5
    Longtime Coldplay fan here (first 3 albums are some of my all-time favorite, Viva...meh...the title song is great, and Violet Hill is fantastic). The singles have been pretty awful for this album so far ("Every Tear" "Paradise" and "Princess of China" all have a few interesting bits, but get bogged down pretty early on) and the rest of the album isn't look so good, from my somewhatLongtime Coldplay fan here (first 3 albums are some of my all-time favorite, Viva...meh...the title song is great, and Violet Hill is fantastic). The singles have been pretty awful for this album so far ("Every Tear" "Paradise" and "Princess of China" all have a few interesting bits, but get bogged down pretty early on) and the rest of the album isn't look so good, from my somewhat cursory listen. "Hurts Like Heaven" (after a nice titular intro) is a strong start, with a bright electronic open that later blossoms into some very beautiful guitar parts. "Charlie Brown" suffers from a typical problem on the album: songs have some good promise, but I lose interest before it's over. "Us Against the World" feels like complete filler...I know I've heard this song on their other albums before, probably on more than one. "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" is the first single, and it's hard to resist, but, again, there's not a lot here to hold my interest, although I really did enjoy the music video. Perhaps it's just too bright for me? Seems somewhat boring though, too, and the lyrics don't really seem very important or interesting. Chris Martin has written much better than this. "Major Minus" is an interesting track, and sounds a bit out of place on this album, which is probably why I enjoyed it more than the average track here. Have to listen a bit more to find out if it's actually any good, though. "UFO" passes by quickly and easily, but it's forgettable. I initially liked "Princess of China" but the more I listen to it, the less I like it. The opening is really cool, and I enjoy all the electronic noise along with the warbling guitars, but Rihanna is not useful here (and doesn't mesh well with Martin at all) and the song itself caves in when the two sing together: the only thing compelling here is some of the individual sounds. "Up in Flames" is a very sweet and precious song, but terribly repetitive and far too sentimental for my tastes. Last two tracks I haven't listened to enough to form an opinion. They sound more conventional Coldplay compared to the singles, which could be a good thing, but I'm not hearing anything jump at me, probably for the same reason. In short, I'm pretty disappointed, but not too surprised. I wasn't very happy with the direction "Viva" was going, towards more a experimental, less guitar-driven sound. I'm a huge fan of Radiohead's "Kid A", but I, correctly imo, predicted Coldplay wouldn't be able to pull off such a big change in sound like Radiohead did. By the looks of the critic's reviews, I'm not alone. I hope Coldplay continues to experiment with their sound, but on another path. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Strong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands outStrong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands out from Mylo Xyloto, I can barely spot songs that'll be hits, but as a whole, Mylo Xyloto is fluid, light, complex and impressive. It is worth your money, but do not expect this to be the album of the year... Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    I would have to describe this album as another "safe" outing for Coldplay. Which is a shame considering that their previous "Viva La Vida" showed the bands ability to change up their sound and take a few risks. The biggest risk Mylo Xyloto takes is with it's name. The changes that Coldplay makes are fusing their sound with Top 40 pop tracks that don't carry the same weight or emotionalI would have to describe this album as another "safe" outing for Coldplay. Which is a shame considering that their previous "Viva La Vida" showed the bands ability to change up their sound and take a few risks. The biggest risk Mylo Xyloto takes is with it's name. The changes that Coldplay makes are fusing their sound with Top 40 pop tracks that don't carry the same weight or emotional connection as songs such as "Politik" or "The Scientist."

    So I bet you're wondering, "Is this Album bad or good?" To me... it is simply mediocre. It has som high points, "Charlie Brown" "Major Minus" and even "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" has grown on me a bit. However, their ballads "Up in Flames" and "U.F.O." drag us through the motions, without leaving a lasting impression. "Hurts like Heaven" and "Don't let it Break Your Heart" have great energy, but are sugar coated and come off as shallow. I'm not saying the songs are TERRIBLE, just... ok.

    I respect the band as stadium-rock leaders of this generation, and I love their energy. However, i feel a lack of passion and creativity here. Hopefully they'll keep moving forward and find a new direction on their next.
    Expand
  13. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    The critics of MX have all been saying the same thing; that is that Coldplay have produced an album of the same old music, and did not make an effort to change their sound in a radical way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. Coldplay have experimented with electronic and pop sounds for their new album, so much so that many fans have been claiming that the change is TOO radical! It is notThe critics of MX have all been saying the same thing; that is that Coldplay have produced an album of the same old music, and did not make an effort to change their sound in a radical way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. Coldplay have experimented with electronic and pop sounds for their new album, so much so that many fans have been claiming that the change is TOO radical! It is not possible to have both. Mylo Xyloto is Coldplay on a scale they have not reached before, and although a small drop after the innovative Viva La Vida's wild success was perhaps inevitable, this music reaches out to more people and they may become all the more successful for it. Standout songs include Hurts Like Heaven, Paradise, Charlie Brown, Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, Us Against the World, Princess of China and Don't Let It Break Your Heart. A thoroughly entertaining and high quality listen. Expand
  14. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    Forget about critics. Most have hated Coldplay since the start. Yes, for the most the lyrics are crap. But who cares? This is pop music! Coldplay are influenced by many different music styles, i.e. rock, urban, and folk, and all are featured here in a tasteful way. From start to finish, the flow of the songs, and the segues are quite irresistible. The duet with Rihanna is the absoluteForget about critics. Most have hated Coldplay since the start. Yes, for the most the lyrics are crap. But who cares? This is pop music! Coldplay are influenced by many different music styles, i.e. rock, urban, and folk, and all are featured here in a tasteful way. From start to finish, the flow of the songs, and the segues are quite irresistible. The duet with Rihanna is the absolute highlight. It shows they are willing to stretch and try different things. Just like they did with "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". There are no weak moments here. It's an uplifting affair and it shows how versatile and 2011 the band is. Expand
  15. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    "Mylo Xyloto", Coldplay's 5th LP, was supposedly influenced by New York graffiti - a theme visible from both the album artwork and the video for first single "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". Strangely enough, it is also very much audible in the music. Unlike the symphonic "Viva La Vida" and sonically overwhelming "X&Y", "Mylo Xyloto" revels in synth-based, warm, unabashedly pop melodies."Mylo Xyloto", Coldplay's 5th LP, was supposedly influenced by New York graffiti - a theme visible from both the album artwork and the video for first single "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". Strangely enough, it is also very much audible in the music. Unlike the symphonic "Viva La Vida" and sonically overwhelming "X&Y", "Mylo Xyloto" revels in synth-based, warm, unabashedly pop melodies. The wonderful opener "Hurts Like Heaven" (discounting the title track intro) bursts with energy, lyrics flying past in a manner not heard in any Coldplay song before. It is an intoxicating indicator of things to come on perhaps Coldplay's most immediate album to date. If "Viva La Vida" was a bit of a grower, "Mylo Xyloto" instead wastes no time setting its stall.

    Unexpectedly perhaps, the star of this uptempo, smile-inducing, hell DANCEABLE album is the lavish guitar licks provided by unsung Coldplay hero Johnny Buckland. Whilst Martin is undoubtedly the face of Coldplay the rest of the band are, well, not just "the rest of the band". Faster and more complex than before Buckland is beginning to carve his own niche sound - a skill beyond measure for a musician - and the speed, dexterity and subtleness of his playing is more valuable than Martin's enthusiastic if slightly wobbly lyrics.

    Drummer Will Champion also demonstrates his own abilities to perfection, alongside his own beautiful vocals on album highlight (and "Parachutes" throwback) "Us Against The World".
    For any Coldplay fans afraid of the change the group are going through, they should be reassured slightly by the presence of such a song, alongside the quietly beautiful "U.F.O", "God Put A Smile"-recalling "Major Minus" and "Up In Flames", a disarmingly simplistic but nonetheless gorgeous ballad. These fans are going to struggle to stomach the collaboration with Rihanna, a polarising debating point that I hope does not overshadow the brilliance on show on this album. "Princess of China" is the closest to RnB that Coldplay have ever got, with its bass heavy synths and stomping beat, and it does take some getting used to.

    If "Princess Of China" doesn't do it for you then other highlights "Charlie Brown", "Paradise" and "Every Teardrop", each song buoyant with hope, showcase a simple truth: like them or not, Coldplay are probably the best band in the world at what they do, and "Mylo Xyloto" is the band at the top of their game. A point has been deducted for some slightly dubious lyrics ("I turn the music up, I got my records on") and the unnecessary separation of "M.M.I.X" from "Every Teardrop", but these are minor quibbles on an otherwise superb album. If anything else it should finally shut up their detractors who moan that "everything sounds the same" - whilst Brian Eno's work does bare some familiarities to "Viva La Vida" in places ("Life In Technicolour" for example), the differences far outweigh the similarities. "Mylo Xyloto" is an uplifting, foot-tapping joy set to soundtrack many lives, mine included, for years to come.
    Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is clearly some of Coldplay's best work yet. There's a much more modern sound to Mylo Xyloto than any of the previous Coldplay albums, yet they maintain their unique sound that has been consistent since their earliest tracks. I would recommend this album to just about anyone.
  17. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It's a really solid album that hooks you on your first listen. Standout tracks such as 'Hurts Like heaven', 'Paradise', and 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' are classic Coldplay songs, and while they are very poppy, they are also experimenting with new sounds - most of which are electronic. The production is top notch (thank you Brian Eno yet again), and overall it is another 'typical'It's a really solid album that hooks you on your first listen. Standout tracks such as 'Hurts Like heaven', 'Paradise', and 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' are classic Coldplay songs, and while they are very poppy, they are also experimenting with new sounds - most of which are electronic. The production is top notch (thank you Brian Eno yet again), and overall it is another 'typical' Coldplay release; consistent, instantly enjoyable, not taking too many risks, and will likely be enjoyed by music snobs and the mainstream alike. The collaboration with Rhianna is unexpected but not a disaster as many people are saying. No doubt this albums singles are obvious and have big sounds all over them (paradise most noticeably), but underneath this sheen there are some really enjoyable songs on this disk. I really commend Coldplay for creating such high quality and consistently good music for such a long time. Highly recommended. Expand
  18. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It's not Coldplay's best but the critics are overlooking the beauty of the new sound that this album brings. I feel like a change in any band's traditional style is now frowned upon.
  19. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    A little disappointing. Very uneven album. There are a lot of transition tracks that should have just been added to the song after them. Not their best, but certainly not their worst. The best track is Major Minus. I still can't believe that song was a B-side.
  20. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Absolute genius. Best Tracks,
    "Hurts Like Heaven"
    "Paradise"
    "Charlie Brown"
    "Us Against the World"
    "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall"
    "U.F.O."
    "Don't Let it Break your Heart"
    All of them are great
  21. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Hhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use ofHhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use of electronica something very different from Coldplay. Expand
  22. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    The album is yes an interesting concept of love and good melodies, but doesn't hide disappointment in the same way of X&Y.. A lack of variety and much of Dejà-heard
  23. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, strange and very diverse. I consider this the Kid A of Coldplay, while I consider Rush of Blood to the Head to be the OK Computer. As you can guess, I like Kid A better, because this one is so risky. It's a beautiful piece of work and is near perfect. 10/10
  24. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Great album with beautiful songs! Was hoping for more full songs and less intros but they still make listening to the album exciting! I love that Coldplay is trying out new sounds in their music and continuing to produce such great songs
  25. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    I'm angry at Coldplay for this piece of junk. Like My Chemical Romance, U2, and The Cure the newest album from each seems to be their worst. I'd like to see Coldplay in concert again when this album dies down.
  26. May 5, 2012
    10
    Another beautiful album by Coldplay. They manage to continue experimenting without straying too far from what made them great. This album really jumps right into the groove with Hurts Like Heaven and sucks you in. You are taken on a heavenly journey ending up on the beautiful last piano notes of Up With The Birds. Its extremely uplifting and will leave you a different person.

    Best
    Another beautiful album by Coldplay. They manage to continue experimenting without straying too far from what made them great. This album really jumps right into the groove with Hurts Like Heaven and sucks you in. You are taken on a heavenly journey ending up on the beautiful last piano notes of Up With The Birds. Its extremely uplifting and will leave you a different person.

    Best tracks: Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall, Major Minus, Charlie Brown, Don't Let It Break Your Heart.

    10/10
    Expand
  27. Oct 26, 2011
    7
    Mylo Xyloto is the fifth full-length album by Coldplay, following their 2008 release Viva la Vida. In many ways the two albums are similar, most notably they used the same producer, the legendary Brian Eno. They also both are noticeably different from anything they released before, both are much more upbeat and confident, and they take the use of many new instruments. The main differencesMylo Xyloto is the fifth full-length album by Coldplay, following their 2008 release Viva la Vida. In many ways the two albums are similar, most notably they used the same producer, the legendary Brian Eno. They also both are noticeably different from anything they released before, both are much more upbeat and confident, and they take the use of many new instruments. The main differences come in the sound, Viva la Vida was darker and classical sounding while Mylo Xyloto has a much more poppy and electronic sound. But now lets really just get into Mylo Xyloto, the album that is under question. Martin has said that the album was influenced by old american graffiti. It is very apparent what he is talking about, all of the artwork has very bubbly letters and bright colors. This also translates into the music, as with all their albums the artwork matches the music almost perfectly. But when you look at the artwork for a while and listen to the music, you get the sense that the band has never actually seen or met the people and the culture that the graffiti came from, it seem like they have just seen pictures and could only see the silver lining in what is actually something that came from some very dark lives. At no point in listening to this music do you ever get the feel that you are on the streets, rather you feel you are in a studio with a wall being covered in spray paint by two lovebirds remembering their lives. It is very typical of Coldplay to romanticize things like this, and in all fairness it is probably what they were going for. When you get into the details of the music however, there are quite a few things that I am sure the band was not going for. Much of the music structure is repetitive, this is something they did a very good job to avoid on Viva la Vida. This also brings up my main problem with this album, and that is about five songs seem to want to be the climax of the story. There is nothing wrong with Coldplay making some stadium rockers, but it does not go well in the context of the album. There are so many screaming choruses by the time you get halfway through the album that you start to not take anything he says later on to heart. There are also no true highlights to this album either. 'Major Minus' is a pretty neat sounding rock song, but it cannot compare to something like 'Strawberry Swing' or 'Violet Hill'. The general feel this album gives me is not a big change from the last, it is just produced and recorded differently and lacks the high points. The only major difference is that it is much more of a pop record, but Viva could have very well been as well if that is what they wanted. All in all, this is not any major step away from 'Viva la vida', and in the grand scheme of things that really makes this album nothing spectacular. It is just a collection of some more songs for Coldplay to rule a festival with. Expand
  28. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    Just terrible. I loved the first two Coldplay albums and half of the third album. I honestly shake my head when I hear glowing reviews of this album. The lyrics are trite, the music is boring. The production is good, but with a multi-million dollar budget I could make just as good an album. And that's not bragging.
  29. Nov 4, 2011
    0
    I checked this out at the recommendation of a friend and I was really annoyed, they must hate me because every song seemed to grate on my nerves. What a huge disappointment from the world's biggest band.
  30. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Insipid "music". This is far from being alternative rock, actually this is very mediocre pop. Rihanna? Seriously. They just can't get any lower than that. It'll definitely be their worst reviewed album and one of the worst of the year. Too bad. I wouldn't buy this if I were you.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Mylo Xyloto feels like it was created by an actual rock band, with each player stepping up his game.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    With all the bells and whistles in prominent display, Coldplay may have made their most enjoyable album. I only hope the sourpusses enjoy it.