Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 280 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 280

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    At first, I really didn't care much for it but after sitting down again and giving it a hard listen, I actually quite like. Most of the songs on it are rather good and enjoyable. My only complaint is that some of the tracks on it sound a bit too similar to each other. Other than that, It's better than Viva La Vida in my opinion. I like it and would definitely recommend.
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    Sure it's not as good as any of the other Coldplay albums, but I owe this album one. I think this is probably what got me into Coldplay. I enjoyed many different songs, however I do think that there were a few songs that were kind of made me go "meh." My favorite songs were probably "Hurts Like Heaven", "Paradise" and "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall."
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Mylo Xyloto was certainly a bit of a step back from the previous albums, but it does show that Coldplay is willing to look in new directions, music-wise. The song Princess of China is one of the few times that Coldplay has collaborated with a different artist, and despite its strange (strange because Coldplay almost never does this) techno sound, they do it quite well. Overall however, this album gets a 6 from me Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    What a treat to listen to such amazing vocals and a fanatic spread of songs to enjoy listening to. I can't really say enough about the way Chris Martin and the rest of Coldplay appeals to me. Don't. Beak your heart and Hurts like Heaven are two amazing songs.
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Coldplay's best album by far and my favorite album in the world. Every song is class; the band has really pulled it out of the bag with enchanting and uplifting lyrics and melodies.
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Despite the inequal love distribution between the songs, the top tracks are simply amazing in the album. It will capture hearts for sure, as Coldplay delivers yet a different experience of songs that will uplift you and make you feel motivated from it's ensorcelling melodies.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    As a long-time Coldplay fan, I found this album to be a departure into unfamiliar territory for the band and the first time that they had made a concept album. In terms of the songs, I found them to be experimental in structure (e.g Every Teardrop is a Waterfall) compared to some of their previous work. This is a positive point for the album- the different structures. I also found Coldplay's utilisation of the 'concept album' quite nice, as all the songs follow a story of love. Another thing to be praised is the flow of the album and how each of the songs relate to each other, creating a good listening experience for those listening straight through, as the progression makes sense.

    However, where the album falls short is the level of production. Every song in the album just seems so meticulous and unnatural due to the over-produced nature of the album. Making this worse is the use of electronic sounds and synthesiser, which just add to the artificial feel of everything. Personally, I just wish that Coldplay would stick to acoustic song-writing as that is what made them big- their best album in my opinion is A Rush of Blood to the Head, which was mainly all using more acoustic and normal instruments. Furthermore, the addition of electronic performing media made some of the songs sound extremely muffled because the listening experience is just crowded with different tone colours doing different things to the point that it just becomes a flurry of not music, but sound.
    Mylo Xyloto all in all is definitely not a bad album, but neither is it a great one. The experimental nature of the songs is surely one of the albums strong points and as is the use of a concept album, but I just wished that Coldplay would not follow in the footsteps of Pop music in the direction of electronic (or like said in Brave New World, 'Synthetic' music) tone colours or extremely high production values to the point where the album just sounds artificial, over-produced and not composed, but engineered.
    Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Mylo Xyloto continues Coldplay's excellence at evolving musically even if one or two tracks don't quite hit the spot. Paradise, Up in Flames, Charlie Brown,Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, and Hurts Like Heaven are triumphs that elevate the immense quality of this album.
  9. May 18, 2013
    10
    I love this album. It just shows that Coldplay are willing to expand their horizons, with a new pop-influenced, electronic sound. I don't know why there's so much hate for "Charlie Brown" I think it's a fantastic song. Other notable songs are 'Hurts Like Heaven', 'Every Teardrop', 'Us Against the World', 'U.F.O', 'Paradise', 'Don't Let It Break Your Heart', 'Up With the Birds'.
    Personally, I'm not a big fan of 'Princess of China', but I do give credit to Coldplay because they're trying new things. And that really paid off.
    Expand
  10. Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Despite having great tracks and a terrific production, this is not Coldplay at it's best of judgement.

    Most tracks like Us Against The World, Charlie Brown and Paradise are classic Coldplay, while Up With The Birds and Up In Flames are pleasant surprises that fits well with their new sonic direction.

    The one and major problem here is the Rihanna-cameo track, Princess Of China, which
    seems completely out of place, like oil in water; in the middle of this particular album, Princess Of China pollutes a otherwise coherent work with a Pop-Diva fairy-tale tune, more suited for a b-side. Coldplay always cared for each of their releases as a concept, something their fans could listen to from start to finish as a whole. In my opinion, Princess Of China ruined that for Mylo Xyloto.

    My greatest disappointment is knowing that a beautifully crafted tune like Moving To Mars, a real proof that under Brian Eno's guidance Coldplay can achieve an even bigger epic-rock scale by being simpler and authentic, was left off the album just for the sake of chart-sales.

    I grade it 5 out of 10 because of Princess Of China (trim that one and it easily goes to 7 out of 10).
    Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Absolute genius. Best Tracks, "Hurts Like Heaven" "Paradise" "Charlie Brown" "Us Against the World" "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" "U.F.O." "Don't Let it Break your Heart" All of them are great.
  12. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    What's in the critic minds? The album is focused, in great and enjoying songs, Coldplay it's bringing a brand new style, based on the old style of the band, but converted to this epoch.
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Coldplay has decided to make an album that will appeal to their widest audience yet - and it does. Unfortunately, while doing that they left quality behind completely, and created a collection of overwhelmingly similar, electronically fused crap that lacks the authenticity and originality of their last albums.
  14. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Mylo Xyloto is definitely not Coldplay's best album; but it certainly isn't as mediocre or bad as many make it out to be. The electronic flourishes that are so eminent complement the sound well and all in all the album sounds refreshing and different from their previous work. Personal favourites from this album are 'Major Minus' and 'Don't Let It Break Your Heart'. However I do admit that a couple songs such as 'Princess of China' stray away a bit too far and while they are good songs, feel out of place. Songwriting in a few could be better as well. Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    This album is simply disappointing after hearing all of the previous albums. It is certainly a shift in the dance/pop direction but that doesn't exactly work for Coldplay. It's songs have their moments and I was actually pleasantly surprised by "Princess of China." But overall this album is completely lacking in variety. To me it almost seems like a bit of a sell out. I'd never really considered Coldplay to fit into the "Pop" genre before listening to this album. It's not that Mylo Xyloto is bad it's just that it's not the Coldplay fans have grown to love. This album is great however if you're less of a die-hard Coldplay fan. Expand
  16. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I was somewhat dissapointed with Viva La Vida, So this album came as a surprise for me. While it's not as great as XY or A Rush of Blood to The Head, it's still a pretty decent album though you'll be saying WTF at Martin's choice in Lyrics ( Paradise is the biggest offender). Ironically the songs are catchy as hell, You'll be tapping your toes and singing along to tracks like 'Charlie Brown', Major Minus, Every Teardrop is a waterfall' and Princess of China (One of the rare times I like Rihanna). The standout track for me was Hurts like Heaven which gets you pumped up for the rest of the album (This also is the opening song for the Mylo Xyloto Tour). If your fan of Coldplay, you'll Love this album, if you want to get into the band however, you're better of listening to their first three albums before hand. Other than that it's a pretty solid effort for Chris Martin and the Boys. Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    I love Coldplay, I really do. I just don't love Mylo Xyloto. It's...weird. Trading a lot of guitars for synthesizers and meaningful lyrics for desperation, Mylo Xyloto does not do Coldplay any justice. At least not much. My favorite thing in this album is Chris Martin's voice. He sings in a very pretty manner. The production is not exactly finesse, but it's very ethereal and sound much influenced by Asian culture and instruments. Paradise is truly a paradise of a song with beautiful melodies and almost-haunting production. Most of Mylo Xyloto is like this: experimental, stripped-down, and woozy. I couldn't help but get bored during most of the album. This is the only album I own that i truly regret buying. HIGHLIGHTS: Hurts Like Heaven, Paradise, Charlie Brown, Up With The Birds. SONGS THAT ARE TO BE SKIPPED: All the interludes, Us Against The World Expand
  18. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Disappointing...specially Princess Of China... what do they prove out here?.....that with any kind they will remain in mainstream..no..one more album like Mylo Xyloto and they will be forgotten.....Good songs- Us Against The World and Up With The Birds and Charlie Brown
  19. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    Maybe not quite as good as Rush of Blood or Viva La Vida but it is indeed another great Coldplay album. All the songs are worth listening to. Nice job Coldplay!
  20. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    i don't know why people are disappointed from this album, i think it's pretty good, paradise, every teardrop is a waterfall, charlie brown, up with birds, don't let it break your heart, this is the coldplay that i love, i mean i loved the previous albums a lot but you have to progress at some point and change a little bit, you can't satisfy your fans by making the same songs all over again! it's not a bad album i mean come on! Expand
  21. Jul 18, 2012
    4
    There's something wrong with Coldplay lately. I would say the worst album of them until now. "Mylo Xyloto" doesn't fulfil the expectations of Coldplay's return. The entire album seems to produce, in vain, some "revive" in oneself, with apparent happy melodies like "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" or "Hurts Like Heaven". The result is totally different. It's almost an anhedonic album with lack of shine and consistence. "Moving to Mars" wasn't included in the album. Maybe this song could have given it a little majesty with an epic sound. Lyrics are the only strength in the songs with a good development, putting some special intros before some tracks. In conclusion, and I repeat it, there's something wrong with Coldplay lately. Expand
  22. May 29, 2012
    5
    It seems that Coldplay have forgotten what once made them a great Alternative band. The band has abandoned alternative rock as most of the songs are based on pop genre. The record has its own good moments with some good songs like Major Minus and Paradise but most of the songs sound no more than fillers. Also, the band has featured Rihanna on Princess of China track, which is an altogether a commercial move and will definitely disappoint most of the fans.
    The concept of the album is simple (that is love of Mylo and Xyloto) but the album somehow fails to be rendered as a rock opera.Still, if you are a Coldplay fan, you can listen to the record for sometime but the overall experience will be dull and short-lived in comparison to the band's previous materials.
    Expand
  23. May 5, 2012
    10
    Another beautiful album by Coldplay. They manage to continue experimenting without straying too far from what made them great. This album really jumps right into the groove with Hurts Like Heaven and sucks you in. You are taken on a heavenly journey ending up on the beautiful last piano notes of Up With The Birds. Its extremely uplifting and will leave you a different person.

    Best
    tracks: Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall, Major Minus, Charlie Brown, Don't Let It Break Your Heart.

    10/10
    Expand
  24. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    People can think that MX is much worse than the others album. And maybe they're right. But this doesn't mean it's a bad album. Even if it's the worse of Coldplay's albums it's an excellent album.
    It's an explosion of colours and positivity that hit you. Hurts Like Heaven and Charlie Brown, Paradise, Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, Princess of China, Up in Flames and UFO... this album has
    got something for everyone. Expand
  25. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    As it may be a disappointment to some Coldplay fans, I respect the fact that they are actually willing to experiment with their sound, which means to take risks, adding a more electro-sound to their music. Was it a smart thing to do? Of course, it's always smart to experiment, but it's the outcome that matters. In Coldplay's case, they actually managed to pull it off. Mylo Xyloto sounds like an album to where you can still identify that it's Coldplay. Key tracks: "Hurts Like Heaven", "Paradise", "Charlie Brown", "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall", "Princess of China" Expand
  26. Feb 21, 2012
    5
    As a Coldplay fan, I'm very disappointed to say that this album is just....meh. I love their acoustic albums - most notably Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head. I liked X&Y and Viva La Vida, not as much as their first two albums, but I still liked them. Then along came Mylo Xyloto, and, while it has a few okay songs, it's ultimately a disappointment. First off, my biggest problem with the album is that they have turned to pop for the most part. Yes, I realize that Viva La Vida was a step in that direction, but at least it had some great songs with Coldplay's fingerprints. Mylo Xyloto feels entirely different. It's more electronic and pop-like, and the lyrics are almost meaningless - what happened to the Coldplay I once knew, with emotional lyrics of love and loss, with beautiful music to tie it all together? It's very saddening to think of what Coldplay once was with Parachutes and A Rush of Blood to the Head and compare it to this album. I can understand that they want to expand their variety of music, but to shift from what you are good at (alt. rock) to what you are bad at (pop music) is not a good choice. "Princess of China" is the most obvious example on the album, as it features pop star Rihanna, who does not sound well with Martin in the first place. Now all of this being said, I did still give this review a 5/10, so yes there are positives. The album still has some unique sound to it, and although the change in style for them isn't what I prefer, I'll admit that there are some catchy tunes here. "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall" is fun and upbeat, "Paradise" is catchy, and there are still some acoustic remains in songs such as "Us Against the World" and "UFO." Also, "Major Minus" keeps some of their alternative rock music alive. All of this, however, still does not change my previous statement that this album is ultimately a disappointment. Here's to hoping that they turn to their old style, which I grew to love. Expand
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Lets hope Coldplay doesn't pull a Simpsons, where it goes down hill fast. So far these last two albums aren't as good as the first three. This album is worse than viva la vida, or prospekt's march or whatever its called. They are becoming a pop group. It stinks, they are so good!
  28. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Coldplay's 5th album: Mylo Xyloto is a smooth addition to their smooth transition of sound. As Viva la Vida did, it continues to make their earlier work sound more distant than ever. The first four tracks (excluding the title tracks) are all career highlights. I am astounded by the anthemic energy that these songs unleash. And they become more clear with every listen. This first third of the album makes me think of shooting stars and fireworks. Music like this has no other place but above the sky and into the heavens. Hurts like Heaven's guiar riffs are like a meteor shower. Paradise has well-sinked and beautiful piano in the first half, a blasting chorus that enters late in the song, it's rewarding every listen. Charlie Brown proves the album's similarity to Viva la Vida. The lyrics and sound of the track make me just want to run around in the city streets like a happy teenager. After this loud, euphoric entrance, the album descends into the quiet "Us Against the World" The song is beautiful with an anti-climactic buildup with piano and strong bass. While the lyrics are among their weakest, and perhaps the weakest on the album, it is a fine song, and defines the upcoming moodiness in sound of the album, as next we are brought into "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall", a song that knocks you off your feet at the end with climactic drums just as you thought that the song couldn't get anymore immense. Major Minus is a multi-accustic attack with Martins lyrics and vocals at the finest. Once his snarling falsetto comes in near the end, I can't help but think of Radiohead. UFO comes in with the next mood swing. It is the "Faust Arp" of Coldplay. Mesmerizing strings and base. Martin's lyrics are all but authentic, but they work and the song is beautiful nonetheless. Princess of China throws me off, I can't tell why Coldplay wanted her in as a duet, nonetheless, the beat and catchy simple piano carries you through along with the beautiful strings in the background. "Up in Flames" is a perfect ballad for heartbroken men and women. The aching piano, bass beat, and martin's sensational falsetto make the song. Then we're brought into "Don't Let it Break Your Heart", it is their loudest and most atmospheric song to date. Just as you thought that the loud optimism earlier in the album was gone, you are bombarded by this. The meteor shower is back with hasty riffs and atmospheric echoes of Martin's voice. The last track is so beautiful, it may be the best on the album. "Up with the Birds" is a perfect ending to the album. It's optimistic yet quiet climax brings you back down to earth, and changes whole perspective of the album. Coldplay Have been smoothly changing their sound throughout the years. I see X & Y as the perfect middle between this album and Parachutes. The sheer optimism and heavenly noise of this near masterpiece makes me wonder what they will do with their next release - if they have one. Expand
  29. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    As a longtime Coldplay fan, I was extremely excited for this album. It was very hyped, as the band called Mylo Xyloto "Their best album yet." When it was finally released, I was itching to get the album. But when I finally got a copy and gave it a listen, I was...confused. I didn't know what to think of this music. I was hoping for Mylo Xyloto to be an amazing album; a sequel to the Viva La Viva era, that would bring down the shambles of the trashy, pop music that was being released, and take home 'Album of the Year' honors. I was wrong.

    As I kept listening to the album, I had a sudden realization; Coldplay is Coldplay, not 'Viva La Vida'. From that moment on, I listened to the album with a clear conscious, and not from the high-expectation standpoint I was at before. Then, the music seemed to sound...better. The pop-indie music I thought I was listening to turned into a techno/soft rock type of music, and it certainly sounded better than the first time I listened. So overall, Mylo Xyloto was slightly disappointing, if you had high-expectations for it. The main premise is that this is a different style of music that both Coldplay and the fans are not familiar with. As time goes by and more albums are released by the British band, we may see more and more improvements on their style of music. For now, anyway, the music is a first step to the greatness the can be achieved by Coldplay. But as they say, the first step is the hardest, and that phrase seems to hold true in this case.
    Expand
  30. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    So, Coldplay i starting to turn from an alternative, progressive rock to a more "music for the masses" type.
    I used to love them but this album just dropped a **** of **** (pardon my French). They commercialized themselves and are now becoming a pretty pop band... I have gotta say they disappointed me a lot. But still on the bright side Radiohead, Arcade Fire, The National, My Morning
    Jacket, Bjork,... etc. are here to save my day. Expand
  31. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    Coldplay made some good material; enlightening Production, very emotionally charged music, and the upbeat melancholy of most songs is impressively inspiring. However, behind the creativity in the shift of the band's usual experimentation, they went a little too far with it, being somewhat disappointing considering they come from making songs like "Shiver", "Clocks" and "Viva la Vida" to end up between Rihanna's vocals and Synthpop overdose.
    To sum up, a great album, an excellent motif and inspiring songs, but not enough Coldplay
    Expand
  32. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    Its a good album not their best ... but very worth your buy... with all the crap in music nowadays .. its great to escape with Coldplay Always.. and this is kinda poppy album but in a good way.. it may lack some tracks or atleast 1 more track.

    Lots of epic songs in the album you dont want to miss out on. which is why its worth the buy.

    remember coldplay always delivers and they HAVE :)
  33. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    Big big fan of the first two coldplay albums, some of the third and maybe a couple of moments on the fourth. This album seems to follow the trend fairly well. Chris martin is clearly a talented song writer and put a hell of a lot into the earlier work, and once the success hit his focus fairly abruptly changed from writing great songs to creating concepts and imaged, and trying to be this third world ambassador, at which point his head has become as big as bono's and everything sounds completely washed out and average. I hope this lazily written piece of mediocrity flops as to bring him down to earth, but the reality is it will be very successful and chris martin will continue to pollute our listening spaces for years to come Expand
  34. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    I'm angry at Coldplay for this piece of junk. Like My Chemical Romance, U2, and The Cure the newest album from each seems to be their worst. I'd like to see Coldplay in concert again when this album dies down.
  35. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    I'm just going to be honest. I've been a faithful U2 fan nearly my entire life, and I've regarded Coldplay as yet another wanna-be Bono-band. But the second I heard "Hurts Like Heaven," that opinion changed. I thoroughly enjoyed this album, even as someone who dislikes the band overall. That must mean that this is a damn good album.
  36. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This album is truly amazing. It is Coldplay trying out new things, while still being awesome as always. Beautiful. I cannot wait for them to come to Edmonton for a live show. On all the videos I have seen, Chris's singing is perfectly on pitch and it sounds like the albums. Viva la Coldplay!!!
  37. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    After hits like "Paradise", and "Charlie Brown", the really good tracks on the album are named. The other tracks make me think of X & Y and other previous albums. The lyrics are weak and the beats are repetitive.
    I will still sing "Paradise" when i am listening to it, but the rest of the album sounds like songs without a clear feeling and aren't catchy. Dissapointment ? Yes and No ! If you
    really are into music like coldplay, buy this, you will love it. If you just are into good music. Don't spend more than 12 Dollar/Euro on it. Expand
  38. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I was just surprised the score is low. When I first listened to this album, I thought Coldplay make a difference from previous albums. Somehow different, but I think it's like U2's "Pop" album. If they try to be better, they can make the same level as "Achtung Baby".
  39. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    From the point the first falsetto vocals from Chris Martin swoon in accompanied by the danceable lukewarm beat of "Hurts Like Heaven", it is clear this is not going to be an average Coldplay record. And I for one, am proud to say it is nothing like their previous work. This is mostly a good thing, since the gorgeous melodic surround sound these songs possess makes them some of the most heartfelt Coldplay has ever written. It's all about the feeling in the music and it is well captured here. Granted, the album has considerable flaws and some of the songs are subpar, but the only one I'd say I don't particularly love is "Princess of China" because of, you guessed it, Rihanna. But it's forgivable and she's admittedly not too bad. I just wish they'd chosen someone with a softer voice that would've accompanied Chris's smooth swoon. However, Mylo Xyloto's cons are outnumbered by its pros. For example: the heavenly choir in "Paradise", the addicting riff in "Charlie Brown", the sweet hum of "U.F.O", and the heartbreak of "Up in Flames" that channels back to X & Y, and so many more. Definitely worth some deep enchanting listens. Expand
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Don't know what everyones problem is with this album. Amazing production values, the bands songwriting is better then ever with Chris Martins lyrics showing improvement. Its an amazing album, with frickin great rock song plus the more ballad songs that have allways been present on all of coldplays albums but just take a few days to like those love ballads. I understand why critics give it bad reviews, they are paid to criticize everything. Mylo Xyloto gives us a Coldplay sound we haven't heard before, which is what most of us wanted, now you get it and you cry like a little **** Honestly if your a true coldplay fan, you will love this album, it still is Coldplay, the album is still full of amazing songs that I cannot stop listening, although the sounds doesn't sound like there previous albums, it still sounds like coldplay. **** me, this whole world is starting to become full of princess' who won't ever be happy with everything. Coldplay have spent all this money to bring us another great album and all you negetive ****es sit there and say Chris Martins songwriting is worst then before, well its better then before and the lot of you who say you could have written better songs then this with Coldplays Budget, well I would have like to see you do just that. You would fail miserably. Coldplay are the biggest band in the world right now, and have had Universal acclaim for Chris Martins songwriting you ****ing gooses, bet none of you play 1 instrument compared to the dozen instruments Chris Martin plays now, hahahahahaha.

    Its a good ****ing album, so grow up and be happy a new coldplay album is here
    Expand
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I previously rated this album as 5/10, however after listening I have to revise my review to 9/10, coldplay often surprises pleasantly after listening to their albums repeatedly. Gotta say this album is really pretty good actually, not quite up to par with Viva, but great stuff, I totally take back my first review.
  42. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Coldplay are definitely not afraid of evolving, which in Mylo Xyloto you mostly can't tell that they are the same band who putted out just a decade ago the best alternative rock album - A Rush od Blood to The Head, but this is not a bad thing necessarily.
    The new set is opening with a 42 second of interlude which sounds a part of the next track - "Hurts Like Heaven", and when Martin's
    hurt, it must be hurts like heaven. Even though the unclear lyrics, its melody is managing to cover it all up. The album's most successful single yet - "Paradise" is the 3rd track, which gives you a relaxing kinda feeling, with pop/rock chorus. "Charlie Brown", the best cut off MX, is justified their evolution, great lyrics, easy-lovable sound which screams single! Two track in the new era reminds you of the old colplday - "Us Against the World" and "U.F.O.", both are pure alternative rock, fairly use of electro elements and simple lyrics which talks about love, yes that simple to an album with meaningless name.
    "Major Minus" is a darker piece which contains a little bit of "Cemeteries of London" from "Viva", and a lot of guitar driving melody. Shady up to paranoid-ish lyrics with a quite break gives you an unclear track which seams a little bit unfinished. Another low point is "Up With the Birds", you need to listen to understand what I'm talking about. The most popi song is the collaboration with Rihanna - "Princess of China", sweet lyrics, very addictive Rihanna as usual, but its the furthest coldplay have went in MX from their roots, a little bit too far if you ask me.
    In general, Mylo Xyloto is a love story, with ups and downs. Heights which you can't miss of having in your library, lows which you'd prefer not to hear again.
    7/10
    Expand
  43. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Mylo Xyloto is a very good album. Most of coldplay's other stuff is better but i actually like this album more than X and Y. It has some really good songs but none of them really stood out as favorites. If you are a coldplay fan you should buy it, it is a good album, just not their best.
  44. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Mylo Xyloto is Coldplay finally being comfortable as a ''pop' band. They took their experimentation in Viva La Vida and took it into a more 'digestible' body of work. The end result sits above 'X&Y' but still below 'A Rush of Blood to the Head'. Is it the best album of the year? Maybe not. Is it one of the most enjoyable? I certainly think so.
  45. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    A very solid album. Not quite as good as Viva La Vida overall. It has a lot more pop and is a lot more straightforward and as a result is not as exciting. Having said that it still has plenty of great tracks and it all comes together pretty well. The musical interludes work really well. UFO and Us against the World are weak and Princess of China goes so well until Rhianna or whatever her name is gets involved. The thing about Coldplays best albums were that there were no real weak tracks. Everything else here is as good as anything they've done up to now. Expand
  46. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Ok, Mylo Xyloto does not sound like "A Rush Of Blood To The Head" or any other Coldplay Album. I am a fan of Coldplay since parachutes and there is not much to say about Mylo Xyloto. Just one Word: Amazing.

    Standouts: Paradise, Charlie Brown (best one) and Every Teardrop.
  47. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I think its amazing how sure of them selves people can be when it comes to music. To review an album takes time, and you have to be objective. I dont see a lot of reviews that has that in mind. They know, they know and this is how it is. If u think other wise you are an idiot, it seems. Well, I have spent time on this album, u can trust me on that. I don know if i am right but here it is:
    Mylo xyloto, compared to coldplay and their earlier work is a 5. Mylo Xyloto compared too all the other music out there is a sure ten. There u have it:) Respect!
    Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    This album is a real disappointment. When Viva la Vida came out it felt fresh because it was quite a departure from the bands previous sound. So I had high hopes that Mylo Xyloto might be a continuation of the trend to produce something exiting and un-expecting. Unfortunately this album is a just a bland and uninspiring selection of average pop songs. I don't mind a commercial sound, but these guys could have done much better than this. Expand
  49. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    mylo xyloto is coldplay's the most contemporary work ever.the worst track is princess of china but the other tracks are perfectly fited. this is a wonderful album but sort of boring album when listen till three times nevertheless take a break for two days and listen again. You will feel new again
  50. Nov 12, 2011
    7
    I have always had an undying hatred for coldplay. This album has turned me, slightly.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Mylo Xyloto AKA How To Make Money By Writing Bland Insipid Noises Part 5. Yes 5 albums in and Q magazine are still loving the Coldplay, "Music this uplifting, this inspirational, belongs among the stars" they say, well it belongs somewhere and it's definetly not the stars! I read such tripe open mouthed almost stunned that an actual music magazine can buy in to this rubbish and tell it's readers to waste their money. But hell it's a 'concept' album, so that makes it all right then. 1 star for concept, minus 1 for "paradise" = 0. Lovely! Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    With a three year gap from their last album, Coldplay fans did not know what or when to expect something new from the British rock band. Nonetheless, since its release in the U.S. on October 24, Coldplayâ
  53. CRL
    Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Most albums have one or two songs you love more than the rest, a favorite that elevates an album full of filler. Mylo Xyloto does not have that favorite... but I can honestly say there is not a single bad song on this album. Every song is amazing in its own right, from the ridiculously catchy Hurts Like Heaven, to the hook-laced Charlie Brown, to the acoustic masterpiece of UFO and the simplistic majesty of Up in Flames. And then there's the rest of the album, laced with great songs like Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, and Don't Let it Break Your Heart. There's only one real problem with Coldplay's fifth studio album; it lacks that final piece that could make it a masterpiece. Maybe it's the lack of a coherent concept that holds it back. Maybe its that, occasionally, the lyrics just come a little too short. In the end there are fantastic albums, and then there are masterpieces. Mylo Xyloto is a fantastic album. But it's not a masterpiece. Expand
  54. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Few artists are capable of achieving the promise of their beginnings. Fewer still can sustain this acme of achievement over time. Rare is the talent that paints the musical canvas of a time, song by song without faltering. Where Viva la Vida pronounced Coldplay's ascension to these heights, Mylo Xyloto assures the permanence of that lofty position. Not content to merely churn out more of the same, Coldplay has stretched the method and expanded the musical horizon, blending rhythms, melodies and harmonies spanning a variety of genres while still maintaining their essence. Just a Revolver & Sgt. Pepper pronounced The Beatles ascension in 1966-67, the White Album cemented their position in a place where others could not follow. Coldplay is now in their company. Yet, just as with The Beatles.......as Coldplay continues to expand horizons, grow and progress.......fans stuck in the original style, delivery and motifs of their music.......will long for a return to what was. Yet it is in embracing the freedom to grow and explore that the true essence of musical creativity and genius is realized and can be truly appreciated. Expand
  55. Nov 4, 2011
    0
    I checked this out at the recommendation of a friend and I was really annoyed, they must hate me because every song seemed to grate on my nerves. What a huge disappointment from the world's biggest band.
  56. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Mylo Xyloto is probably their best album yet.Ya sure,it doesn't change much in terms of musical style,compared to lets say X and Y and Viva La Vida,which saw the band take a huge leap in a new direction,but rather it builds upon an already solid foundation left behind by the last album,and to a lesser extent,the ones before,and is that really that bad.
  57. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They didn't evolve too much. MX has sounds of all coldplay's previous albums. Don't let it break your heart could have been in X&Y for example. Us against the world in Parachutes, etc. If there's no evolution, you expect at least good songs. But MX has few really good songs. Some feel like fillers. I liked Charlie Brown and Paradise, even though i feel the last one is overproduced. Could have been more elegant. Princess of China is ashaming, sounds like an average mainstream pop artist. I liked the guitar effect anyway, just like in hurts like heaven. I was expecting more sounds like that in the album, more exploration in the dream pop sounds. Personal view of course.

    The weakest coldplay album so far to me. I felt lack of inspiration overall. Miles away from rush of blood and viva la vida, their best to me.
    Expand
  58. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This album is Coldplay's most confident and unashamed mini masterpiece. Hopeful, uplifting, sad, interesting and ultimately consistently well crafted throughout. There is no bad song (major minus could have been replaced with moving to mars although Bucklands' riff is sublime) - it's concept fades and emboldened - rightfully- is the beautiful chemistry of a band writing superb music. Their most interesting and addictive effort yet! Hurts Like Heaven, Charlie Brown and Teardrop particular stand outs. Expand
  59. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I will start out by saying I became a Coldplay fan because of Viva La Vida, and I still believe that it is their best and most artistically accomplished album. The albums preceding are of varying quality to me, with Parachutes being a melancholy bore, Rush of Blood to the Head a mixed bag of their signature indie soft ballads and the early signs of their arena-rock sound, and X&Y the perfect combination of those two elements albeit lacking the vision of greater artists. Then Viva La Vida came along and showcased the band's ability to forge a new sound without completely abolishing the styles of their past. There are a few minor missteps musically, but overall the album is their most complete and accomplished work. Three years later, Mylo Xyloto is released, and with it the band has made another attempt to forge a new sound. They have taken on the pop sounds of the day; electronica, europop, r&b; and combined them with the soft ballads and arena rock that has come to define them. Musically, the album contains some truly great pieces, particularly in terms of composition and melody. "Paradise" is one of the best singles the band has ever produced, simple but layered and emotionally uplifting in a way only Coldplay can be. "Charlie Brown" contains a great core melody, and I already find myself humming the tune. The biggest surprise for me is the song "Princess of China;" who would have thought a pop/r&b slow breakup jam with a Rihanna appearance would make such a great tune, but it is indeed one of the album's best. For me the album succeeds in its overall concept, tone and style. Where the album stumbles is in the moments where the band reverts back to their old habits, evidenced in the A-side tune "Us Against the World" and the B-side "U.F.O." Both are slow, somber acoustic pieces, and not only kill the pace and cohesion of the other tunes but are just not up to par with earlier Coldplay classics in the same vein. However, the album is able to overcome these and still feel whole, and the beautiful "Up with the Birds" is a perfect close; it personifies what I believe is Coldplay's greatest strength, their ability to convey emotion and always with a tone of hope. Simply, give the album a listen or two or three. Take it for what it is, not what you expect it to be. Hopefully you will find that it is another very good album from one of the great bands currently making music. Expand
  60. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    Just terrible. I loved the first two Coldplay albums and half of the third album. I honestly shake my head when I hear glowing reviews of this album. The lyrics are trite, the music is boring. The production is good, but with a multi-million dollar budget I could make just as good an album. And that's not bragging.
  61. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Is not it better as the second album, but it's better than the last two. The letters are still the weak point for the band, but the mood upbeat and the guitars a la U2 are competent. An album that gets better with each listening live and work songs. You can check this on the last rock in the river where the Coldplay concert was the highlight of the festival.
  62. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    Yes, this album is a disappointment of sorts, but it's better than the reviews suggest. Coldplay have always been and will always be deeply unfashionable, and it would be fair to say that in between Viva la Vida and this album they have realised the value of not trying to be fashionable. Rather than dressing up as Arcade Fire, they've made a reasonable effort at crafting a more unique identity, which is apparent in the music. Most importantly, they've played to their artistic limitations rather than settling for pretension. The songs aren't much to rave about, but the tunes are solid. Hurts Like Heaven and Charlie Brown are up there with their best work yet, especially the former, which has the kind of fast-paced confidence and, dare I say it, balls that a lot of their earlier work lacked. They are at their worst when they pander to the lowest common denominator on Paradise and Princess of China, both of which are very weak, bloodless and irritating. The rest of the album follows a fairly consistent Coldplay formula, which is nice to listen to, but not at all challenging. They have played it safe on this one. Leaving the quality of the music aside, I'm bemused by the various reactions that this album has garnered. It is impossible to intellectualize Coldplay's music, because it doesn't serve any intellectual purpose, so why do people bother trying to analyse their own reactions to it? They can't be taken too seriously; they're just a fairly lighthearted band who make fairly lighthearted music that doesn't have to mean anything to be enjoyed. Expand
  63. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Who gives a monkey's ? There's a new Tom Waits album out !!!! Coldplay always seem like nice guys, they write tunes that you will remember after 10 listens....they're impossible to hate
  64. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Good Album! one of the best of the year by far! definitely suggest buying it! you won't regret it! they did a fantastic job!


    http://www.squidoo.com/nirvana-s-best-songs
  65. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Mylo Xyloto is a very good album. It combines the classic Coldplay touch with electronic, pop and rock sounds. The lyrics of the songs are mostly fine, with the exception of the last few songs of the album. The singles so far are mixed for me. "Every Tear" is disappointing, but it is saved by the uplifting tone of the song. "Princess" isn't very good, but Rihanna does give it a certain energy which makes it better. But "Paradise" is by far my favorite. The orchestrated music at the beginning, the atmosphere of the song and Chris Martin's voice all contribute to the song's epic feel. If you're a hardcore Coldplay fan, this might not be the style you're used to, but I'd recommend you to pick it up. If you've met Coldplay with Viva La Vida or X&Y, you will definitely love it, as it has a lot of similarities. If you've never even heard of Coldplay, listen to the singles and judging by those, decide to buy it or not. Expand
  66. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    I do believe if less went in and compared this to old Coldplay they would rank it better. In my opinion, too many great songs to score less than a 10.
  67. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a longtime Coldplay fan ever since the release of their debut album Parachutes. Some would describe Mylo Xyloto as a mixture of dance songs, intimate acoustic songs, and pop songs. One thing is for certain, the style is a departure from their previous albums. But does the style work? In my opinion, yes, Coldplay have pulled it off flawlessly. Maybe the songs are not of a melancholic feel like that of A Rush of Blood to the Head (their best critically reviewed album), but here in this album, we have optimism. Even though the emotion they are evoking is not melancholy, Coldplay can not simply be written off. This album will definitely alienate some of the old school Coldplay fans (I being an old school Coldplay was not alienated though) but it will also bring in some new Coldplay fans. Coldplay have grown musically with stand out tracks like Hurts like Heaven, Major Minus, Us Against the World, Charlie Brown, Don't Let it Break Your Heart, and Up with the Birds. That is half of the album containing standout tracks, and the rest of them are REALLY good. All Coldplay listeners need to do is embrace this new style (because it will not stick. I won't be surprised if the next album is of a completely different style) and learn to love this album because of the story it tells. It is not like that of many albums that have been released lately. Coldplay have learned that in order to have relevance in the music world, you have to grow musically and not always keep the same style. The production on the album gives it an atmospheric feel, almost an "out of this world, supernatural" type of feel. Unlike their previous album Viva la Vida, which had a more classical feel with the prominent use of strings in a lot of songs, Mylo Xyloto incorporates the use of synths and electronic instruments to a greater use and they are brought to the fore. Songs like Princess of China and Paradise will be hated from some fans for the simple reason that it does not sound like Coldplay and even bringing on Rihanna to be featured on one of the songs. But do not be afraid, for there are many songs on this album that sound like classic Coldplay, those being: Charlie Brown, U.F.O., Us Against the World, and Up with the Birds. Mylo Xyloto contains many layers in all of their songs, which have angered many fans and critics to calling it "over-produced." I feel the many layers adds color and character to the songs. Many songs on the album are not simple, they contain a lot of instrument tracks. Coldplay's first album, Parachutes, capitalized on the fact that it's songs contained simple tracks. This is not the "Parachutes Coldplay." That does not bother me though, because you are never bored with the songs and there is always something going on. All in all, Coldplay have recorded an amazing album. It is not their best, but it is definitely their second best (A Rush of Blood to the Head being first, and Mylo Xyloto tied for second with Viva la Vida). Mylo Xyloto shows character, color, and optimism and cements Coldplay still as the greatest band in the world. Expand
  68. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    This is a great album! I'm proud to be a fan of Coldplay because they always move forward with their experimentation. Mylo Xyloto is a great example of new and old Coldplay styles. Songs like "U.F.O." and "Us Against The World" show the old acoustic Coldplay from 2002 and the new 2011 Coldplay. I do have a problem with "Princess of China" though. Why? Why would you bring Rihanna and not Beyonce to sing on this song? I don't like the fact that Chris only sing's a verse and then Rihanna overtakes the entire song. It's listenable but not the best song on the album. "Don't Let It Break Your Heart" is a great upbeat song for all to enjoy. Coldplay are best at writing upbeat song's with sad lyrics, like "Every Teardrop". "Major Minus" is just full blown paranoia on Martin's part, with his muffled vocals in the background, nearly overshadowed by Jonny Buckland's front seat guitar playing. "Paradise" and "Charlie Brown" are perfect examples of where Coldplay could go new with their songwriting along with "Hurts Like Heaven", their fastest song ever. This does happen to be a loosely based concept album, telling the tale of two lost souls who find each other in their horrible world and "Up With The Birds" is a perfect way to end the album with it's joyful lyrics "good things are coming our way" and it's simple piano outro sum up the album perfectly. This will be able to keep you satisfied until a possible sixth studio album is in the works! 9/10 Expand
  69. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    mylo xyloto its an awesome album and does it have so meanful alternative ballads.The songs that i like the most are Charlie Brown,Hurts Like Heaven Princess of China
  70. Oct 29, 2011
    2
    Definitely the worst Coldplay album so far. Only a few songs are listenable. It is a break from their usual style, but it is too far of a break. In Viva la Vida, Coldplay changed their style, but it made sense. This album is simply too far away from what we're used to from Coldplay. Also, the album doesn't seem to fit together. Viva la Vida told a story, Mylo Xyloto is a mess.
  71. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Such a great album! I fell in love with this thing, it's the best the boys have done after X&Y... Go and enjoy this little piece of music! I you feel disappointid right now, please give it time to grow on you. I'm sure it will grow on you. You've got to all the details and layers in the songs, it will amaze you for sure!
  72. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This movie is a trippy good time kinda futuristic and very deep at times. It feels like Coldplay whereas Viva La Vida was so neat because it was experimental. But If you are a fan of Coldplay and want a mixture of there first great pop sound and Brian Eno's collaborative unique twists you should love this album! I feel this album growing on me each time I listen and I feel that some of the critics are being too harsh! This might be there most brilliant work YET! Expand
  73. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Being a fan of this band, I expected a lot more than what I got. Truthfully, they did progress into an electro sound, but I don't think it turned out as well as it could have.
  74. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Not their best effort, I expected more from coldplay!Its production is terrific and the album has some memorable melodies, but rather than that it is also a bit boring effort and all these synths and electronic stuff sound haotic at times and really are getting your nerves by the end of the album. I highlighted "Paradise"(one of their best songs, in my opinion),"Princess of china"(don't get me wrong, but I think Rihanna is a good addition to the album) and the magnificent "Charlie Brown". Expand
  75. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, "Mylo Xyloto" is a acoustic/synth work of art. Chris Martin's infectious melodies fuels the band's musicianship. Standout tracks include "Hurts Like Heaven," "Charlie Brown," "Up in Flames," and one of the best singles of 2011, "Paradise."
  76. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Excellent album, one can really appreciate the blood, sweat and tears which has gone into to the production of this album. Coldplay take pride in their work, they want to be the best. They have delivered a great great album!
  77. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection. though the album is great maybe the songwriting isn't so good but the music is very amazing and unique
  78. Oct 26, 2011
    7
    Mylo Xyloto is the fifth full-length album by Coldplay, following their 2008 release Viva la Vida. In many ways the two albums are similar, most notably they used the same producer, the legendary Brian Eno. They also both are noticeably different from anything they released before, both are much more upbeat and confident, and they take the use of many new instruments. The main differences come in the sound, Viva la Vida was darker and classical sounding while Mylo Xyloto has a much more poppy and electronic sound. But now lets really just get into Mylo Xyloto, the album that is under question. Martin has said that the album was influenced by old american graffiti. It is very apparent what he is talking about, all of the artwork has very bubbly letters and bright colors. This also translates into the music, as with all their albums the artwork matches the music almost perfectly. But when you look at the artwork for a while and listen to the music, you get the sense that the band has never actually seen or met the people and the culture that the graffiti came from, it seem like they have just seen pictures and could only see the silver lining in what is actually something that came from some very dark lives. At no point in listening to this music do you ever get the feel that you are on the streets, rather you feel you are in a studio with a wall being covered in spray paint by two lovebirds remembering their lives. It is very typical of Coldplay to romanticize things like this, and in all fairness it is probably what they were going for. When you get into the details of the music however, there are quite a few things that I am sure the band was not going for. Much of the music structure is repetitive, this is something they did a very good job to avoid on Viva la Vida. This also brings up my main problem with this album, and that is about five songs seem to want to be the climax of the story. There is nothing wrong with Coldplay making some stadium rockers, but it does not go well in the context of the album. There are so many screaming choruses by the time you get halfway through the album that you start to not take anything he says later on to heart. There are also no true highlights to this album either. 'Major Minus' is a pretty neat sounding rock song, but it cannot compare to something like 'Strawberry Swing' or 'Violet Hill'. The general feel this album gives me is not a big change from the last, it is just produced and recorded differently and lacks the high points. The only major difference is that it is much more of a pop record, but Viva could have very well been as well if that is what they wanted. All in all, this is not any major step away from 'Viva la vida', and in the grand scheme of things that really makes this album nothing spectacular. It is just a collection of some more songs for Coldplay to rule a festival with. Collapse
  79. Oct 26, 2011
    5
    Longtime Coldplay fan here (first 3 albums are some of my all-time favorite, Viva...meh...the title song is great, and Violet Hill is fantastic). The singles have been pretty awful for this album so far ("Every Tear" "Paradise" and "Princess of China" all have a few interesting bits, but get bogged down pretty early on) and the rest of the album isn't look so good, from my somewhat cursory listen. "Hurts Like Heaven" (after a nice titular intro) is a strong start, with a bright electronic open that later blossoms into some very beautiful guitar parts. "Charlie Brown" suffers from a typical problem on the album: songs have some good promise, but I lose interest before it's over. "Us Against the World" feels like complete filler...I know I've heard this song on their other albums before, probably on more than one. "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" is the first single, and it's hard to resist, but, again, there's not a lot here to hold my interest, although I really did enjoy the music video. Perhaps it's just too bright for me? Seems somewhat boring though, too, and the lyrics don't really seem very important or interesting. Chris Martin has written much better than this. "Major Minus" is an interesting track, and sounds a bit out of place on this album, which is probably why I enjoyed it more than the average track here. Have to listen a bit more to find out if it's actually any good, though. "UFO" passes by quickly and easily, but it's forgettable. I initially liked "Princess of China" but the more I listen to it, the less I like it. The opening is really cool, and I enjoy all the electronic noise along with the warbling guitars, but Rihanna is not useful here (and doesn't mesh well with Martin at all) and the song itself caves in when the two sing together: the only thing compelling here is some of the individual sounds. "Up in Flames" is a very sweet and precious song, but terribly repetitive and far too sentimental for my tastes. Last two tracks I haven't listened to enough to form an opinion. They sound more conventional Coldplay compared to the singles, which could be a good thing, but I'm not hearing anything jump at me, probably for the same reason. In short, I'm pretty disappointed, but not too surprised. I wasn't very happy with the direction "Viva" was going, towards more a experimental, less guitar-driven sound. I'm a huge fan of Radiohead's "Kid A", but I, correctly imo, predicted Coldplay wouldn't be able to pull off such a big change in sound like Radiohead did. By the looks of the critic's reviews, I'm not alone. I hope Coldplay continues to experiment with their sound, but on another path. Expand
  80. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Seeing as Coldplay is the one band I consistently listen to I was really looking forward to this album. Taken as a whole it's good--sometimes really good. The melodies are catchy, occasionally brilliant (Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, Hurts like Heaven) and the overarching theme works well; however, I had sort of hoped that there would be more experimentation. Still I love/like nearly every track with the exception of Every teardrop is a waterfall (I'm sorry it's just weak, albeit catchy) and Up in Flames.
    To sum up, if you're a fan of solid, feel-good music this album's for you.
    Expand
  81. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    I would have to describe this album as another "safe" outing for Coldplay. Which is a shame considering that their previous "Viva La Vida" showed the bands ability to change up their sound and take a few risks. The biggest risk Mylo Xyloto takes is with it's name. The changes that Coldplay makes are fusing their sound with Top 40 pop tracks that don't carry the same weight or emotional connection as songs such as "Politik" or "The Scientist."

    So I bet you're wondering, "Is this Album bad or good?" To me... it is simply mediocre. It has som high points, "Charlie Brown" "Major Minus" and even "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall" has grown on me a bit. However, their ballads "Up in Flames" and "U.F.O." drag us through the motions, without leaving a lasting impression. "Hurts like Heaven" and "Don't let it Break Your Heart" have great energy, but are sugar coated and come off as shallow. I'm not saying the songs are TERRIBLE, just... ok.

    I respect the band as stadium-rock leaders of this generation, and I love their energy. However, i feel a lack of passion and creativity here. Hopefully they'll keep moving forward and find a new direction on their next.
    Expand
  82. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    Forget about critics. Most have hated Coldplay since the start. Yes, for the most the lyrics are crap. But who cares? This is pop music! Coldplay are influenced by many different music styles, i.e. rock, urban, and folk, and all are featured here in a tasteful way. From start to finish, the flow of the songs, and the segues are quite irresistible. The duet with Rihanna is the absolute highlight. It shows they are willing to stretch and try different things. Just like they did with "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall". There are no weak moments here. It's an uplifting affair and it shows how versatile and 2011 the band is. Expand
  83. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is clearly some of Coldplay's best work yet. There's a much more modern sound to Mylo Xyloto than any of the previous Coldplay albums, yet they maintain their unique sound that has been consistent since their earliest tracks. I would recommend this album to just about anyone.
  84. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Insipid "music". This is far from being alternative rock, actually this is very mediocre pop. Rihanna? Seriously. They just can't get any lower than that. It'll definitely be their worst reviewed album and one of the worst of the year. Too bad. I wouldn't buy this if I were you.
  85. Oct 25, 2011
    3
    Somewhere under the layers of bleeps and bloops that make up Coldplay's allegedly "more acoustic" fifth studio LP -- the oddly titled 'Mylo Xyloto' -- there lays some form of melody and emotion... or so one would assume. If you are struggling to distinguish it also, you should instead move on to trying to spot the 'concept' weaved into the lyrical tapestry; this concept being -- rather bland and uninspiringly -- a tale of two lovers (named Mylo and Xyloto) trapped in the unforgiving streets of Urbtopia, finding comfort only in the arms of each other. This is as far as the 'concept' (and I struggle to name that, with confidence, to something so trivial) goes, plainly because it isn't followed with enough interest by Martin's songwriting.

    That being said, what did Martin actually write? Elements of 'Every Teardrop...' are admittedly -- and shamelessly -- sampled from "I Go to Rio" by Peter Allen and Adrienne Anderson; whereas "Princess of China" (which features Rihanna, by the way) is accused of plagiarism from the song "Chanting at the Alley" by Vietnamese singer Ha Tran. Not only this, but the rest of the tracks are more like 'spot the influence'. The only predominantly acoustic track, 'U.F.O', takes "Lord I don't know which way I am going/Which way the river gonna flow" right out of Bob Dylan's 'Songwriting for Dummies' book, while the penultimate number 'Don't Let it Break Your Heart' nabs the scale and power from U2's back catalogue. Surely if your inspirations bleed through as much as they do by the time you have made your fifth studio album, your musical credibility must be questioned?

    I feel a little remorse actually, since you can say quite confidently -- using the 250-or-so words above -- that I think Mylo Xyloto is the worst album ever made -- but I really don't. Coldplay have made a fan-pleasing record here, and this is evident by the other reviews on this website. You could argue that Colplay fans have the musical knowledge of a teaspoon, but take it from this Teaspoon -- this is as about as good as modern pop gets, even if it is aimed at (practically, no offense) scum.
    Expand
  86. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    A little disappointing. Very uneven album. There are a lot of transition tracks that should have just been added to the song after them. Not their best, but certainly not their worst. The best track is Major Minus. I still can't believe that song was a B-side.
  87. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It's not Coldplay's best but the critics are overlooking the beauty of the new sound that this album brings. I feel like a change in any band's traditional style is now frowned upon.
  88. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Great album with beautiful songs! Was hoping for more full songs and less intros but they still make listening to the album exciting! I love that Coldplay is trying out new sounds in their music and continuing to produce such great songs
  89. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Definitely not as good as their earlier albums. The single Paradise is catchy and even Every Teardrop is all right, but the so far fan favourite, Charlie Brown, is dull and definitely not living up even slightly to any of the praise it's gotten. I stopped liking Coldplay after X&Y and this did not bring me back.
  90. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Hhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use of electronica something very different from Coldplay. Expand
  91. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, strange and very diverse. I consider this the Kid A of Coldplay, while I consider Rush of Blood to the Head to be the OK Computer. As you can guess, I like Kid A better, because this one is so risky. It's a beautiful piece of work and is near perfect. 10/10
  92. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Coldplay keeps on art-fying their music; Mylo Xyloto is a fine collection of tight tunes keeping true to the theme. They all relate to each other. It's hard to think of the album without any of its songs. The band could easily keep on the road set by Viva la Vida, and still they try and venture on new sounds: and sucessfully, nonetheless.
  93. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Masterpiece. I could listen to this album on loop for hours. All the songs are good, but the best tracks I think are best are "Charlie Brown," "Hurts Like Heaven," and "Us Against the World." Mylo Xyloto offers music for old and new Coldplay fans, with tracks that showcase the band's past and present. Because of this unique quality, It is my favorite album Coldplay album to date!
  94. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Strong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands out from Mylo Xyloto, I can barely spot songs that'll be hits, but as a whole, Mylo Xyloto is fluid, light, complex and impressive. It is worth your money, but do not expect this to be the album of the year... Expand
  95. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good! It is very and very good!
  96. Oct 24, 2011
    6
    The album is yes an interesting concept of love and good melodies, but doesn't hide disappointment in the same way of X&Y.. A lack of variety and much of Dejà-heard
  97. Oct 24, 2011
    3
    Mylo Xyloto is a huge disappointment. Yes, it is terrific production, but other than the single, "Paradise", Chris Martin's songwriting is surprisingly weak and the album lack the cohesion of "Viva La Vida". It's a foray into cheesy contemporary pop and electronica. Growing musically is great, to latching on to a genre that creates worse music than they do is a huge mistake. As a Coldplay fan, I think I'll pretend this album never happened and hope Martin goes back to putting songwriting first on the next one. Here, it feels like he's scraping the bottom of the barrel. Expand
  98. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Absolute genius. Best Tracks,
    "Hurts Like Heaven"
    "Paradise"
    "Charlie Brown"
    "Us Against the World"
    "Every Teardrop is a Waterfall"
    "U.F.O."
    "Don't Let it Break your Heart"
    All of them are great
  99. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Mylo Xyloto transcends all that I was expecting it to be. This album is an ode to music itself. It feels refreshing and gives a sense of transgression and revolution, the momentum is unbelievable. Coldplay surely place its efforts to elevate the sensations within their music and melody. Pure and beautifully crafted piece of art.
  100. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    The critics of MX have all been saying the same thing; that is that Coldplay have produced an album of the same old music, and did not make an effort to change their sound in a radical way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. Coldplay have experimented with electronic and pop sounds for their new album, so much so that many fans have been claiming that the change is TOO radical! It is not possible to have both. Mylo Xyloto is Coldplay on a scale they have not reached before, and although a small drop after the innovative Viva La Vida's wild success was perhaps inevitable, this music reaches out to more people and they may become all the more successful for it. Standout songs include Hurts Like Heaven, Paradise, Charlie Brown, Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, Us Against the World, Princess of China and Don't Let It Break Your Heart. A thoroughly entertaining and high quality listen. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Mylo Xyloto feels like it was created by an actual rock band, with each player stepping up his game.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    With all the bells and whistles in prominent display, Coldplay may have made their most enjoyable album. I only hope the sourpusses enjoy it.