• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Mylo Xyloto Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    Martin's newest record is a successfully didactic and direct body of work.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    75
    It actually sounds like a natural extension of Coldplay's big, radio-friendly sound. It's also Coldplay's most consistently listenable album since 2002's A Rush Of Blood To The Head, though it resembles that album little.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Mylo Xyloto does have its unpredictable moments, some of which work more effectively than others.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    It's a moment of stirring calm amid a sea of blaring showiness, and this well-intended mixed bag, despite its lovely surfaces, could have used more of that variety.
  6. 58
    What's missing is the innovation that made Viva La Vida so dynamic.
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    30
    For everything else there's Coldplay: reliable, built to move, and able to run on hot air alone.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 108
  2. Negative: 11 out of 108
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Seeing as Coldplay is the one band I consistently listen to I was really looking forward to this album. Taken as a whole it's good--sometimesSeeing as Coldplay is the one band I consistently listen to I was really looking forward to this album. Taken as a whole it's good--sometimes really good. The melodies are catchy, occasionally brilliant (Paradise, Major Minus, Princess of China, Hurts like Heaven) and the overarching theme works well; however, I had sort of hoped that there would be more experimentation. Still I love/like nearly every track with the exception of Every teardrop is a waterfall (I'm sorry it's just weak, albeit catchy) and Up in Flames.
    To sum up, if you're a fan of solid, feel-good music this album's for you.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Don't know what everyones problem is with this album. Amazing production values, the bands songwriting is better then ever with Chris MartinsDon't know what everyones problem is with this album. Amazing production values, the bands songwriting is better then ever with Chris Martins lyrics showing improvement. Its an amazing album, with frickin great rock song plus the more ballad songs that have allways been present on all of coldplays albums but just take a few days to like those love ballads. I understand why critics give it bad reviews, they are paid to criticize everything. Mylo Xyloto gives us a Coldplay sound we haven't heard before, which is what most of us wanted, now you get it and you cry like a little **** Honestly if your a true coldplay fan, you will love this album, it still is Coldplay, the album is still full of amazing songs that I cannot stop listening, although the sounds doesn't sound like there previous albums, it still sounds like coldplay. **** me, this whole world is starting to become full of princess' who won't ever be happy with everything. Coldplay have spent all this money to bring us another great album and all you negetive ****es sit there and say Chris Martins songwriting is worst then before, well its better then before and the lot of you who say you could have written better songs then this with Coldplays Budget, well I would have like to see you do just that. You would fail miserably. Coldplay are the biggest band in the world right now, and have had Universal acclaim for Chris Martins songwriting you ****ing gooses, bet none of you play 1 instrument compared to the dozen instruments Chris Martin plays now, hahahahahaha.

    Its a good ****ing album, so grow up and be happy a new coldplay album is here
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection.i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection. though the album is great maybe the songwriting isn't so good but the music is very amazing and unique Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    Maybe not quite as good as Rush of Blood or Viva La Vida but it is indeed another great Coldplay album. All the songs are worth listening to.Maybe not quite as good as Rush of Blood or Viva La Vida but it is indeed another great Coldplay album. All the songs are worth listening to. Nice job Coldplay! Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Hhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush OfHhmmmm I wonder why Metacritic only posts the bad reviews. I think Mylo Xyloto is a solid album and is up with Viva La Vida and A Rush Of Blood. The variety throughout MX is what makes it good. You got songs like Hurts Like Heaven and Up With The birds which I think they're some of the best work that Coldplay has done. Maybe what critics and fans don't like is the overproduction and use of electronica something very different from Coldplay. Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    As a longtime Coldplay fan, I was extremely excited for this album. It was very hyped, as the band called Mylo Xyloto "Their best album yet."As a longtime Coldplay fan, I was extremely excited for this album. It was very hyped, as the band called Mylo Xyloto "Their best album yet." When it was finally released, I was itching to get the album. But when I finally got a copy and gave it a listen, I was...confused. I didn't know what to think of this music. I was hoping for Mylo Xyloto to be an amazing album; a sequel to the Viva La Viva era, that would bring down the shambles of the trashy, pop music that was being released, and take home 'Album of the Year' honors. I was wrong.

    As I kept listening to the album, I had a sudden realization; Coldplay is Coldplay, not 'Viva La Vida'. From that moment on, I listened to the album with a clear conscious, and not from the high-expectation standpoint I was at before. Then, the music seemed to sound...better. The pop-indie music I thought I was listening to turned into a techno/soft rock type of music, and it certainly sounded better than the first time I listened. So overall, Mylo Xyloto was slightly disappointing, if you had high-expectations for it. The main premise is that this is a different style of music that both Coldplay and the fans are not familiar with. As time goes by and more albums are released by the British band, we may see more and more improvements on their style of music. For now, anyway, the music is a first step to the greatness the can be achieved by Coldplay. But as they say, the first step is the hardest, and that phrase seems to hold true in this case.
    Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    0
    I checked this out at the recommendation of a friend and I was really annoyed, they must hate me because every song seemed to grate on myI checked this out at the recommendation of a friend and I was really annoyed, they must hate me because every song seemed to grate on my nerves. What a huge disappointment from the world's biggest band. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews