Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay
Mylo Xyloto Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 284 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    Mylo Xyloto proves that Coldplay are quite simply the best pop band in the world, bar none.
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    Martin's newest record is a successfully didactic and direct body of work.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    75
    It actually sounds like a natural extension of Coldplay's big, radio-friendly sound. It's also Coldplay's most consistently listenable album since 2002's A Rush Of Blood To The Head, though it resembles that album little.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Mylo Xyloto does have its unpredictable moments, some of which work more effectively than others.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    It's a moment of stirring calm amid a sea of blaring showiness, and this well-intended mixed bag, despite its lovely surfaces, could have used more of that variety.
  6. 58
    What's missing is the innovation that made Viva La Vida so dynamic.
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    30
    For everything else there's Coldplay: reliable, built to move, and able to run on hot air alone.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 103
  2. Negative: 10 out of 103
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, "Mylo Xyloto" is a acoustic/synth work of art. Chris Martin's infectious melodies fuels the band's musicianship. Standout tracks include "Hurts Like Heaven," "Charlie Brown," "Up in Flames," and one of the best singles of 2011, "Paradise." Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Don't know what everyones problem is with this album. Amazing production values, the bands songwriting is better then ever with Chris Martins lyrics showing improvement. Its an amazing album, with frickin great rock song plus the more ballad songs that have allways been present on all of coldplays albums but just take a few days to like those love ballads. I understand why critics give it bad reviews, they are paid to criticize everything. Mylo Xyloto gives us a Coldplay sound we haven't heard before, which is what most of us wanted, now you get it and you cry like a little **** Honestly if your a true coldplay fan, you will love this album, it still is Coldplay, the album is still full of amazing songs that I cannot stop listening, although the sounds doesn't sound like there previous albums, it still sounds like coldplay. **** me, this whole world is starting to become full of princess' who won't ever be happy with everything. Coldplay have spent all this money to bring us another great album and all you negetive ****es sit there and say Chris Martins songwriting is worst then before, well its better then before and the lot of you who say you could have written better songs then this with Coldplays Budget, well I would have like to see you do just that. You would fail miserably. Coldplay are the biggest band in the world right now, and have had Universal acclaim for Chris Martins songwriting you ****ing gooses, bet none of you play 1 instrument compared to the dozen instruments Chris Martin plays now, hahahahahaha.

    Its a good ****ing album, so grow up and be happy a new coldplay album is here
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    i know that many people are disappointed but this is why coldplay is agreat band as the fans don't accept any other thing but perfection. though the album is great maybe the songwriting isn't so good but the music is very amazing and unique Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Despite the inequal love distribution between the songs, the top tracks are simply amazing in the album. It will capture hearts for sure, as Coldplay delivers yet a different experience of songs that will uplift you and make you feel motivated from it's ensorcelling melodies. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Strong album. I was a bit disappointed though... It stands out from X&Y and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by it's genre, while being a continuity of Viva La Vida, a continuity with a whole different sound. They went more electronic using synth which gives the album both a modern and a 80's sound, which is... special... without taking away the Coldplay unique sound. A few songs stands out from Mylo Xyloto, I can barely spot songs that'll be hits, but as a whole, Mylo Xyloto is fluid, light, complex and impressive. It is worth your money, but do not expect this to be the album of the year... Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    As a long-time Coldplay fan, I found this album to be a departure into unfamiliar territory for the band and the first time that they had made a concept album. In terms of the songs, I found them to be experimental in structure (e.g Every Teardrop is a Waterfall) compared to some of their previous work. This is a positive point for the album- the different structures. I also found Coldplay's utilisation of the 'concept album' quite nice, as all the songs follow a story of love. Another thing to be praised is the flow of the album and how each of the songs relate to each other, creating a good listening experience for those listening straight through, as the progression makes sense.

    However, where the album falls short is the level of production. Every song in the album just seems so meticulous and unnatural due to the over-produced nature of the album. Making this worse is the use of electronic sounds and synthesiser, which just add to the artificial feel of everything. Personally, I just wish that Coldplay would stick to acoustic song-writing as that is what made them big- their best album in my opinion is A Rush of Blood to the Head, which was mainly all using more acoustic and normal instruments. Furthermore, the addition of electronic performing media made some of the songs sound extremely muffled because the listening experience is just crowded with different tone colours doing different things to the point that it just becomes a flurry of not music, but sound.
    Mylo Xyloto all in all is definitely not a bad album, but neither is it a great one. The experimental nature of the songs is surely one of the albums strong points and as is the use of a concept album, but I just wished that Coldplay would not follow in the footsteps of Pop music in the direction of electronic (or like said in Brave New World, 'Synthetic' music) tone colours or extremely high production values to the point where the album just sounds artificial, over-produced and not composed, but engineered.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Mylo Xyloto AKA How To Make Money By Writing Bland Insipid Noises Part 5. Yes 5 albums in and Q magazine are still loving the Coldplay, "Music this uplifting, this inspirational, belongs among the stars" they say, well it belongs somewhere and it's definetly not the stars! I read such tripe open mouthed almost stunned that an actual music magazine can buy in to this rubbish and tell it's readers to waste their money. But hell it's a 'concept' album, so that makes it all right then. 1 star for concept, minus 1 for "paradise" = 0. Lovely! Expand

See all 103 User Reviews