• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamW
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This makes me dance! Cant wait to see them live later this month.
  2. Dan!
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Just superb! i eagerly awaited this album and my expectations were surpassed... nic offers (intended) a range not offered before... the music is obviously sensational and thankfully they have managed to maintan the length to their tunes - which i'm sure their adoring fans appreciate - !!! take you for a ride and inevitably the album becomes a loop one just cant stop - brilliant Just superb! i eagerly awaited this album and my expectations were surpassed... nic offers (intended) a range not offered before... the music is obviously sensational and thankfully they have managed to maintan the length to their tunes - which i'm sure their adoring fans appreciate - !!! take you for a ride and inevitably the album becomes a loop one just cant stop - brilliant production too...there are samples reminiscent of the avalanches to take the final seconds of a track into a quiet spiral, guitar licks reveberating raw, basslines that take you back to the cure, and a drum beat that shatters leftism and some - this is edgy and a thirst quencher - standout tracks are "Must be the Moon", "A New Name" and "Break in Case of Anything" (great to hear the out hud girls on that one)... well done lads and cant wait to see them live!!! Expand
  3. DanS
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Superb album! I have trouble getting into the song "Sweet Life" (triggers unfortunate memories of Sublime at times), but other than that, there's not a loser in the bunch. A very pleasent surprise to jumpstart 2007.
  4. MungoJ
    Mar 8, 2007
    2
    Kill the lyrics and you may have something. It seems like they've moved "forward" in an attempt to improve their songwriting but in doing so have ended up sounding like everything else. Bring back the long jams!
  5. WestonT.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Frenetic and artsy in a field of recent frenetic, artsy albums; (Of Montreal, Panda Bear, -insert recent indie album here-) at the very least, you can dance to it. !!! got me grooving a little more than the others with their darker sound and vocals that, while they tend to be, well, "chanty," brought back memories of Shriekback. In a good away.
  6. JohnR.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Great ´n funky
  7. KevinL
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    These songs should get some asses shaking when they play them live.
  8. GillyD
    Mar 15, 2007
    8
    Yes!Yes!Yes! Very good album. When u think u have the music sussed they throw in some surprises. Heart of Hearts, New Name and Break in Case of Anything are standout tracks, tho their stint supporting the Chillis have influenced Sweet Life mibbees?
  9. EricC
    Mar 23, 2007
    6
    I hate comparing bands, but this time it's unavoidable. !!! and Of Montreal, both indy dance rock bands, have new cd's out, and Of Montreal is easily better. I just didn't have fun with this one. It wasn't bad, but they try way too hard, and I just can't bring myself to have repeat listens. If I ever hear it playing, I might just dash to the dance floor, but I hate comparing bands, but this time it's unavoidable. !!! and Of Montreal, both indy dance rock bands, have new cd's out, and Of Montreal is easily better. I just didn't have fun with this one. It wasn't bad, but they try way too hard, and I just can't bring myself to have repeat listens. If I ever hear it playing, I might just dash to the dance floor, but don't expect to hear it blasting from my stereo or car. Expand
  10. Nop
    Mar 26, 2007
    7
    Good and different
  11. JohnnyD
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Funky as hell. Great stuff.
  12. JohnnyS
    Mar 12, 2007
    7
    It's alright, but I think their drum machine's broken- their songs are all the same tempo
  13. MATTO
    Mar 14, 2007
    4
    Disappointing. Bad lyrics. Boring.
  14. IanR
    Mar 25, 2007
    9
    Irresistible grooves and a more balanced attack make Myth Takes the best !!! album to date. While it may not reach the heights of songs such as "Me And Giuliani Down by the School Yard" or "Pardon My Freedom", Myth Takes is consistently good to great. "Must Be the Moon" has the funkiest outro in ages. Their live show is not to be missed.
  15. NikkiG
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    I cant stop listening to this album... its just that wonderful!
  16. glennwood
    May 26, 2007
    10
    perfect!!!
  17. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    Myth Takes is a strange wonderful art album. It blends psychedelic rock with dance-rock so perfectly well together. The stand out track is easily "Must Be The Moon". Each track sounds more different than the one before it. All In All, Chk Chk Chk have crafted a strange album that blends psychedelic and punk rock perfectly. B+
  18. May 30, 2013
    8
    Funky album. Myth Takes, All My Heroes Are Weirdos, Must Be the Moon, Heart of Hearts, Yadnus, and Bend Over Beethoven were excellent songs. deserves to be big.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Much like their debut, it'll take a few listens to be pulled towards Myth Takes by the force operates at its core.
  2. There are moments when they seem to lose sight of what it is exactly that makes them so interesting to begin with, writing songs that seem stuck halfway between dance and conventional indie rock.
  3. The major stumbling blocks of !!!'s shtick still pertain.