Nanobots - They Might Be Giants
Nanobots Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: John Flansburgh, John Linnell
  • Summary: The 25-track (with nine tracks under a minute long) release for the alternative rock band from Brooklyn was produced by Pat Dillett.
  • Record Label: Idlewild Recordings
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    On Nanobots they prove that 30 years later, they can still write infectiously catchy, quirky songs about combustible heads, nanobots and black ops that don’t feel contrived in the least.
  2. Overlooking the nine subminute snippets‑-most annoying even at that length, with bows to the nine-second "Tick" and the 24-second closer‑-that leaves 16 songs that pretend to be songs, including one A plus, two clear A minuses, and six close enoughs.
  3. 70
    They still craft songs as if they’re assembling a robot, and they make sure to throw so many of these short tracks on the album (25 in 45 minutes) that you’re bound to find a few that will hit the pleasure buttons just like the old days.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    Nanobots is, at the end of the day, a solid and immensely likable album.
  5. 60
    One key note on Nanobots then, given its general lack of new things to take note of, is in the surface stats: 25 tracks crammed into 45 minutes, including nine delightfully incomplete ideas under a minute long.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    It's a riot of scattershot styles. [Jun 2013, p.81]
  7. Things are less enjoyable when musical boundaries are pushed--and at 25 songs long, albeit with nine of them shorter than a minute, it’s a joke that wears thin.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. May 21, 2013
    To say I was pleasantly surprised by this album is an understatement. This is actually my favourite TMBG album to date and one of my favourites of the year. If you're a fan then you'll love the masses of catchy tunes which see them not only back to their best; but also recapturing the energy an quirkyness of years gone by. For people just getting into the band, this is as good as place to start as their first four albums.

    To summarise, this whole planet is elip- sorry, To summarise, it's brilliant. 8.7. Rounded up to nine.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    One of their best efforts in recent years. As typical for any They Might Be Giants album, they've got an inordinate number of short songs and it's impossible for them to all be brilliant. That being said, there's a few on this record that are catchy enough to rotate in with their best work particularly the "You're on Fire" track. If you're a TMBG fan that's been put off by crap like Album Raises New and Troubling Questions, you can safely return. Most of the songs with videos – are in various sources of streaming to evaluate before purchase, as well. It's not a perfect 10, but it's a solid 8, similar in quality to The Spine, and superior to The Else, Join Us, and Factory Showroom. Collapse
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    They Might Be Giants has been one of the most consistent bands throughout the last three decades. Every studio album they've released has at least been good. That said, there are the good ones and the great ones. After two undeniably great, yet completely different albums in "The Else" and "Join Us", TMBG have released merely a good one. None of the songs are bad, and some of them are very good, but none of them reaches the heights of 2007's "Climbing The Walls," or 2011's "You Probably Get That a Lot". Instead, the Johns opt for a sound more immature and playful, reminiscent of their older work on albums like "Apollo 18", and some fans have been clamoring to hear more of that again. I'm not one of them, but I can still appreciate this album for what it is. Expand