Nashville

  • Record Label: Rykodisc
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickC
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    A stunning example of great songwriting, performing and production. A truly gorgeous album.
  2. AileenM
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Brilliant
  3. eirike
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    what a brilliant album - it should really be on all best music of 05 lists !
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    A little more of the same infectious vibe I enjoyed from 1972.
  5. tj
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    this CD quickly became the one that dominates my CD player....
  6. LuísN
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    Just great! It can't get any better!!
  7. DaveK
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    One of the best of 2005 so far, and maybe the best CD Josh has put out yet.
  8. SteveA
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Fantastic, broadly appealing music from a clever mind with the voice to make itself comfortably heard. Too much homily is paid to artists that squeal their pain for our listening pleasure--Rouse does it without the misery, self-indulgence or gentility of the very young, though he's far from world weary. More importantly, his musicianship (and Brad Jones' production) are quite Fantastic, broadly appealing music from a clever mind with the voice to make itself comfortably heard. Too much homily is paid to artists that squeal their pain for our listening pleasure--Rouse does it without the misery, self-indulgence or gentility of the very young, though he's far from world weary. More importantly, his musicianship (and Brad Jones' production) are quite possibly the most tasteful of those that aspire to pop. They've freed themselves from the slavish hero worship heard on 1972, and bring greater subtlety to their beats and licks. This music is seductive and visceral enough to get the volume cranked up, yet complex enough to reward a position in permanent rotation. What do I mean? "Middle School Frown" sings with easy-strolling guitar--can you hear Jackson Brown; some Carol King? It will make you want to put the top down. Then you listen to the lyrics, and discover it's a story about the awkwardness of adolescence and crushes and missed opportunities, told from backwards-glancing maturity. Listen to it and tell me where you've heard better. The rest of the album is just as grand, articulate and wonderful. A keeper... Expand
  9. Eric
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best records of 2005, and maybe Josh's best effort so far. He gets pigeonholed as alt-country, but this is as good of an AOR/pop record as it is a country record. The Britpop flavorings make the delicate songs even better.
  10. Tristram
    Feb 26, 2005
    8
    I was slow to believe in the early 90 for a metascore. I picked this up anyway because his last one '1972' was pretty good. Man oh man am I ever now a believer. This is just an incredible record. The best thing about it is its honesty. Unlike a lot of the singer-songwriter fare of today, this guy doesn't come with any pretention. He doesn't want to be sure he reminds I was slow to believe in the early 90 for a metascore. I picked this up anyway because his last one '1972' was pretty good. Man oh man am I ever now a believer. This is just an incredible record. The best thing about it is its honesty. Unlike a lot of the singer-songwriter fare of today, this guy doesn't come with any pretention. He doesn't want to be sure he reminds you of the right influences and he doesn't rely on his depression or (over)analysis of those larger questions to seem insightful or witty. He is just a guy who writes songs, really good songs. After just one listen, you'll feel like you can do this as well as he does instead of others who wish to be admired from afar. You will not be disappointed with this album. Expand
  11. LucasG
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    The best album of the year!!!, and only is february...
  12. SørenJ
    Feb 27, 2005
    9
    Consistently brilliant - full of achingly beautiful melodies and insanely catchy hooks and choruses. "Sad Eyes" must rank among this year's most tear jerkingly heartfelt beauties and that song alone would make this album a deeply necessary purchase.
  13. DanM
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    An avid listener of Rouse's previous work, this album took a little time to grow on me due to its departure from his previous songwriting style. Ultimately, I appreciate the fact that he is mobile with his writing, and Nashville shows that his work on 1972 wasn't just a novelty. This new album has some magnificent songwriting on it, and his lyrics, as always, are quite good. An avid listener of Rouse's previous work, this album took a little time to grow on me due to its departure from his previous songwriting style. Ultimately, I appreciate the fact that he is mobile with his writing, and Nashville shows that his work on 1972 wasn't just a novelty. This new album has some magnificent songwriting on it, and his lyrics, as always, are quite good. This is a bit of a step down from the infectious grooves on his previous album, but it still contains some of his best work and works very well as a whole. Certainly not to be missed. I hope he gets the good fortune that Bright Eyes has had recently and get more of a following from his more diversified approach. Expand
  14. billyg
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    It just keeps getting better
  15. ZeBatista
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    Maybe not as good as 1972, but simply fantastic!
  16. PatrickS
    Mar 7, 2005
    8
    Like a blanket put over you by a friend. I love the quiet melodies that creep up on you and don't shout to be noticed. A hook in every corner.
  17. LiamO
    May 5, 2005
    10
    My long commute to school on the LIE doesn't seem to be such a burden anymore. If his previous stuff is as good, or better as some have suggested, I can't wait to get my ears on it.
  18. davew
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    A great album which if marketed correctly would make Josh Rouse a household name
  19. MichelleT
    Jun 8, 2005
    9
    Almost as good as 1972 and different than the albums that came before.
  20. KoosB
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    The best cd you will hear this year!!!!!! Man....can he make good music.
  21. KarlF
    Mar 31, 2005
    8
    Highlights are "My Love is Gone" and the energetic (for him) Winter in the Hamptons. Still don't get the cross dressing reference of "It's the Nighttime" but a bit of a romp. Only problem is that he sometimes takes his voice outside his range or squeaks rather than rasps. " Streetlights sounds uncomfortably close to a Michael Franks mistake.
  22. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Josh Rouse' best record, with 1972 close behind. First bought this in Montana while road tripping through the country. Perfect driving (or anything) music. All the songs are great. I also had the honor of seeing him on this tour in Nashville, solo acoustic. Fantastic.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nashville validates the promise Rouse has exhibited since Dressed Up Like Nebraska, encompassing a gift for emotional detail and a fondness for simple, unadorned lyrics. It's an understated, impeccably played collection of heartfelt tunes about a time and place that can never be returned to.
  2. Somebody will really have to pull off a miracle to top Nashville as far as intelligent, honest and entertaining guitar pop goes in 2005. Or any other year.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Persistently gorgeous. [25 Feb 2005, p.102]