Native - OneRepublic
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 91
    This is chemically pure pop-rock--flavorless, transparent--and potent enough to melt your resistance like battery acid. [29 Mar 2013, p.75]
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    82
    OneRepublic’s latest effort proves that they are at the top of their respective genre, and it may be time to stop looking at them as the prince waiting-in-the-wings and finally hand them that goddamned crown.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    The craftsmanship is painstaking and impressive: layer upon layer of glossy keyboards, reverberant guitars and choirlike backing vocals (although Mr. Tedder applies too much obvious Auto-Tune to his leads). But these crystal-palace productions are proud showcases for unctuous, sometimes oddly morbid lyrics.
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    Tedder reveals a broad palette of stylistic inspiration.
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    While Tedder can on occasion craft lyrics that strike the perfect balance between simplicity and grandiosity, he flounders a bit too often on Native.
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    50
    The main problem is also the main asset: Tedder himself, a song savant who's a boring and characterless singer.
  7. May 13, 2013
    40
    Occasionally, things lift out of the bluster--unfortunately, in the case of Preacher, a terrible lyric--but even the Everybody Wants To Rule The World guitar on Life in Color or the relatively stately synth-pop of Something's Gotta Give can't make Native Anything but a great gas giant of a record. [Jun 2013, p.103]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Honestly, I wasn't expecting any good stuff from them when I first heard their single "If I Lose Myself". Not because that song isn't good orHonestly, I wasn't expecting any good stuff from them when I first heard their single "If I Lose Myself". Not because that song isn't good or something but only because they can do better, they are known for much broader view of pop rock genre and they provide the mainstream with fresh sound just like their previous records did. I like Native more than I liked Waking Up. It's better in every possible way. Ryan Tedder is a genius when it comes to melodies, compositions and musical arrangements. Of course, there are average songs, too, but when you listen to great ones, you will be blown away. The drum beat in "Can't Stop" is just marvelous, that song has so much power! The best songs are: Can't Stop; Au Revoir; Counting Stars, I lived; Burning Bridges Something's Gotta Give; Life in Color... oh, what the hell, listen to the whole record! I am proud to admit that OneRepublic is one of my top favorite bands, they make music that gives you a strong feeling, takes you to another level. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    3
    'Native' is the same from beginning to end, all the songs seems the same, and the singer is the most normal thing you can imagine, you find'Native' is the same from beginning to end, all the songs seems the same, and the singer is the most normal thing you can imagine, you find someone equal without even looking, and better too. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the very few albums that I've ever given a full 10/10 score, it's just even better than expected! The music isHonestly, this is one of the very few albums that I've ever given a full 10/10 score, it's just even better than expected! The music is colorful, the vocals are amazing, the melodies seem to lift you up from the ground. Literally one of the best and most uplifting albums to ever grace my ears. Full Review »