Native

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 100
  2. Negative: 5 out of 100
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2013
    6
    It's not really all that. It's a nice album, but the only good tracks are the 1st 3 singles, Feel Again, If I Lose Myself and Counting Stars. I listened to the album just because of the 1st 2 singles power on me. This album wasn't that good, but if you wanna hear it, have fun!
  2. Oct 12, 2016
    6
    Counting Stars is great, and there are some more solid pop tunes on this, but overall, this isn't particularly memorable. The songwriting skills are there, but they don't always manifest.
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    First time I listened it I was so disappointed because first two singles (Feel Again and If I Lose Myself) led me in very different direction from what album turned out.
    Album's opener, Counting Stars, is amazing - rich in sound, catchy, fierce, grandiose gospel. Makes you stand up and dance instantly. It is no wonder it was a summer hit. It was inevitable. Second and third If I Lose
    First time I listened it I was so disappointed because first two singles (Feel Again and If I Lose Myself) led me in very different direction from what album turned out.
    Album's opener, Counting Stars, is amazing - rich in sound, catchy, fierce, grandiose gospel. Makes you stand up and dance instantly. It is no wonder it was a summer hit. It was inevitable. Second and third If I Lose Myself and Feel Again, are on same trace, and then goes what seems weak spot(s) of the album. But in fact it is due to energy exhausted in first three songs. I Lived is little spark in that cohesion. I'm saying cohesion because if you don't pay attention to it you may miss really great songs like Can't Stop, Au Revoir (Apologize can be found in traces) or Preacher.

    The thing is - songs on this album have probably wittiest, most well written lyrics I have heard in a while. With a storyline, no pathetic verses, cliché rhyming etc. and they can be found outside of hits. They are just overshadowed by the first three songs. This songs are not catchy, far away from hit, and can't even be remixed, like they don't belong here... It seams like OneRepublic had enough songs for two albums but decided to put them in just one. I think it would be better if they made double album -- first one with hits and second with this hidden treasures and acoustic version (some of them can be found on the Deluxe edition). This way album for some inpatient listener has taste of mediocrity, which is far away from what album really is.

    Some other notes about this album include two question. First one being: where is one of the OneRepublic's sound trademarks - cello? Because acoustic version with the more prominent cello of If I Lose Myself is better than the one from original album. And second, why Burning Bridges was not released in December? It would fit great in Christmas time!
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2015
    4
    I love Counting Stars and was hoping the rest of the album would be just as good.

    I was wrong. This is complete crap. It was actually painful to get through this album. OneRepublic is like a slightly less incompetent version of Maroon 5, but that's honestly not saying much. Ryan Tedder writes some good songs for other people, but it seems like he mostly caters to the lowest common
    I love Counting Stars and was hoping the rest of the album would be just as good.

    I was wrong.

    This is complete crap. It was actually painful to get through this album. OneRepublic is like a slightly less incompetent version of Maroon 5, but that's honestly not saying much. Ryan Tedder writes some good songs for other people, but it seems like he mostly caters to the lowest common denominator, using tired old chord progressions and annoying hooks. Not to mention, most of this album is really sappy, which is odd considering the wild animals on the album cover.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    82
    OneRepublic’s latest effort proves that they are at the top of their respective genre, and it may be time to stop looking at them as the prince waiting-in-the-wings and finally hand them that goddamned crown.
  2. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    40
    Occasionally, things lift out of the bluster--unfortunately, in the case of Preacher, a terrible lyric--but even the Everybody Wants To Rule The World guitar on Life in Color or the relatively stately synth-pop of Something's Gotta Give can't make Native Anything but a great gas giant of a record. [Jun 2013, p.103]
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    The craftsmanship is painstaking and impressive: layer upon layer of glossy keyboards, reverberant guitars and choirlike backing vocals (although Mr. Tedder applies too much obvious Auto-Tune to his leads). But these crystal-palace productions are proud showcases for unctuous, sometimes oddly morbid lyrics.