Native - OneRepublic
Native Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third full-length studio release for the pop rock band led by singer-songwriter/producer Ryan Tedder.
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 91
    This is chemically pure pop-rock--flavorless, transparent--and potent enough to melt your resistance like battery acid. [29 Mar 2013, p.75]
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    OneRepublic’s latest effort proves that they are at the top of their respective genre, and it may be time to stop looking at them as the prince waiting-in-the-wings and finally hand them that goddamned crown.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    Tedder reveals a broad palette of stylistic inspiration.
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    The craftsmanship is painstaking and impressive: layer upon layer of glossy keyboards, reverberant guitars and choirlike backing vocals (although Mr. Tedder applies too much obvious Auto-Tune to his leads). But these crystal-palace productions are proud showcases for unctuous, sometimes oddly morbid lyrics.
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    While Tedder can on occasion craft lyrics that strike the perfect balance between simplicity and grandiosity, he flounders a bit too often on Native.
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    The main problem is also the main asset: Tedder himself, a song savant who's a boring and characterless singer.
  7. May 13, 2013
    Occasionally, things lift out of the bluster--unfortunately, in the case of Preacher, a terrible lyric--but even the Everybody Wants To Rule The World guitar on Life in Color or the relatively stately synth-pop of Something's Gotta Give can't make Native Anything but a great gas giant of a record. [Jun 2013, p.103]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    amazing amazing album .can stop listning !love them so much 'feel again 'inspire me!Tracks such as "Au Revoir" and "I lived" weave lyrical expression that is thoughtful and enjoyable Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    I find it really difficult to come to terms with poor "critic" reviews on music. Music, like most things, is about finding appeal with an audience; and OneRepublic has aced that. Taking a twist on what made Waking Up such a hit, Native shines as having astoundingly well built songs that combine Tedder's unique voice with moving drum beats and catchy synth weaving. In terms of entertainment value, Native is one of the best albums of the genre to come out in a while. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    Honestly, this is one of the very few albums that I've ever given a full 10/10 score, it's just even better than expected! The music is colorful, the vocals are amazing, the melodies seem to lift you up from the ground. Literally one of the best and most uplifting albums to ever grace my ears. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    I was a huge fan of the second album and wanted more of that. But the fact is you don't. But saying that this album is layered beautifully. And the vocals are full of emotion and soul. And that is what makes onerepublic's new album so great. It drives you to emotionally attach yourself to every single song Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    This album just screams eargasm in all directions. listen to if i lose myself, fast forward to 1:30 turn on headphones with max volume it will blow you away. and i also have to mention counting stars, feel again, what you wanted, au revoir, something gotta give and life in color. also that dude can freaking SING man and the instrumentation is really cool aswell! a strong 8!!! Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    All the positive traits you've come to expect from OneRepublic & more remain here. The first taste of the album we got (in mid 2012 before it even had a name) was lead single Feel Again, which has a building & repetitive (in a good way) structure in an almost Mr. Brightside-like way of repeating a word-packed verse twice over the course of the song, that really works well at putting across the uplifting meaning of the song, which is also solidified through the oft-repeated short refrain “I’m feelin better since you know me I was a lonely soul but that’s the old me”. The next single (and currently the newest) If I Lose Myself is a synth-laden track (and the closest OneRepublic has ever gotten to a “dance” song) about wanting to be with loved ones during times of danger. There’s also a lot of highlights to be found within the deep cuts, showing that this band can capable of more than just a few singles per album with a bunch of filler around it. One especially notable track is Can’t Stop, easily OneRepublic’s most soulful song to date. It combines pounding drums, a thin layer of reverb & sparse piano, and a very passionate vocal delivery from Ryan Tedder that (saying this with full self-awareness of how ridiculous it may sound) reminds me a lot of Frank Ocean’s channel ORANGE. It seems like lately OneRepublic has aimed to put one fuzz-filled riff-rocker on every album. On Waking Up it was Everybody Loves Me, and on Native it’s Light It Up, complete with slightly distorted vocals & a rousing “AAAAAAAAAH” refrain. A few tracks incorporate gospel-style vocals into the mix but the track that does it both the most & the best is penultimate track Preacher. Even though the members of OneRepublic are Christian, this is the only song of theirs (as far as I know) to have a blatantly religiously-themed message. It tells tales of Tedder as a kid with his grandfather, the titular preacher, and how he maintained his faith through hard times while also teaching some words of wisdom. Songs with similar messages of struggle include opening track Counting Stars, which has a great fast-paced cadence to it in the verses, and I Lived, meant to be a message to persevere through times of adversity & not be afraid of taking a few risks. And the great thing is that none of these oft-covered topics feel phoned-in or corny, but instead feel genuine & have a good amount of personality, both lyrically & musically. However, that’s not to say Native is without its less than impressive tracks. Three that come to mind are the pretty but unmemorable Au Revoir, the unintentionally psychotic & masochistic lyrics of What You Wanted, and the just plain bad-sounding bonus track Something’s Gotta Give. Still, besides those choice gripes this is still a very well-written & enjoyable pop-rock album, and I’m even more a fan of them now than I was a few years ago.

    Top 5 tracks: Feel Again, Preacher, Counting Stars, Can’t Stop, If I Lose Myself
    Score: 82/100
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    'Native' is the same from beginning to end, all the songs seems the same, and the singer is the most normal thing you can imagine, you find someone equal without even looking, and better too. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews