Neck of the Woods - Silversun Pickups
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    While Neck of the Woods doesn't have the easily accessible hits of the last 2 albums, after a few listens one realizes that it is their most complete work to date. The vibe and feel are intoxicating. They have found the balance between experimentation and familiar sound that Radiohead failed to on their last effort.
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    This album definitely took 1-2 listens to fully grow on me, but now after having listened to it approximately twenty times, it has become my favorite SSPU album, even ahead of Swoon. The drums have more variety in their sound on this record too, which is nice. Each and every song is memorable and each runs above 4 minutes in length, so you definitely get a lot of music for your money.
  3. May 17, 2012
    10
    10 out of 10 for me. Yes, it does require a few listens to get into but persevere and you'll be rewarded. Interestingly the negative reviews all mention the single - Bloody Mary - as being the only stand out track. I rather feel it pales in comparison to the rest of the CD. It lacks the sheer power and dark passion of Skin Graph, Make Believe, Simmer, Busy Bees. There are too many highlights to mention, right through to the final track. Album of the year so far. Brilliant! Expand
  4. May 8, 2012
    7
    Neck of the Woods sounds and feels like a horror movie, exactly what frontman Brian Aubert stated in a recent interview. The album cover is a neighborhood home, but it looks like something is not right. The album has this feel of fear and uncertainty, which works perfectly for Silversun Pickups. Each album they have released portrays complex emotions that are the norm for any individual. Neck of the Woods is no different. The first song, "Skin Graph" has such a great hook throughout the song and will not get out of your head. "Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)" is the first single of the album and it surely doesn't have to be radio friendly to be a great song. "Busy Bee" has this hard rock approach, especially in the drums section as well as Aubert's voice. Overall, the album consumes all of the nightmarish thoughts and displays the mood in energy and attitude of each song. 10 out of 10. Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    9
    Despite another three year wait, the Silversun Pickups do more than deliver the goods. They give us a haunting and scary but **** glorious creep-ride of shoegazing indie-alternative rock that everyone will want to listen to again and again until their turntables, CD players or mp3 players break. "Neck of the Woods" is a fantastic album that is given to us just in time for the beginning of the summer. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I just started getting into Silversun Pickups a few years ago, and going into this album I did expect a lighter feel to it than their previous work. When Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) hit Alternative radio, I fell in love with it. I knew the album would be just as good. I bought this album in May and it did take a couple listens to get right into it, and I can now say it is one of my favourite releases of 2012 so far! It's lighter feel takes nothing away from the album and in my opinion, makes it better than their 2009 release "Swoon"

    My top 3 tracks of "Neck Of The Woods" are:
    3. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
    2.The Pit
    1. Dots And Dashes (Enough Already)
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I'm very surprised at the number of negative reviews here. It's not a perfect record, but it is definitely a great one. All four members of Silversun Pickups have stepped up their game, and it completely pays off. I like this record much more than Swoon, but not quite as much as Carnavas.
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    My general reception to Neck of the Woods as a whole is pretty similar to how it was for their previous albums; at first listen I like it but can’t remember very many tracks specifically, then with repeated listens I love it more & more from track to track. Here though there’s a big improvement in that it’s not just one guitar riff or bassline or lyric or vocal melody that sticks in your head (like the case was in a lot of songs on their first 2 albums) but rather the whole track manages to stay memorable, even if it is centered around a particular riff or melody. The aforementioned addition of synth emphasis can do a great job at really giving a song an effective opening build that transitions smoothly into the first verse, except on lead single Bloody Mary where the sudden non-transition is pretty much better for it. Most of the songs here can be given similar compliments. They establish great grooves throughout a song with active drumming, guitar leads that switch between jangly, shimmering & heavy quite naturally, some memorable, deep-set basslines & Brian Aubert’s very distinct high-pitched & slightly nasally voice that can be either restrained or emotive when he wants it to. Also, it seems like on every Silversun Pickups album there’s one single that’s simply an indie-rock masterwork. On Carnavas it was Lazy Eye, on Swoon it was Panic Switch, and on Neck of the Woods it’s The Pit. This song shows a lot of that added synth input while also giving every instrument downright infectious parts whenever they’re used, and the way these hooks are layered on top of each other throughout the entire duration of the song is just fantastic. As for the lyrical content on this song though, as for the rest of the album, I’ll be honest & say I have no idea what they’re talking about here. All I can say is that a lot of the time it sounds vaguely like a first-person perspective in certain parts of a horror movie. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing though, cause despite this these are lyrics that just... sound good, if that makes any sense. Even if you don’t “get” them, it’s not nonsensical gibberish that comes off stupid. Still, the musical aspects are for sure the main appeal, and Neck of the Woods nails it in nearly every area, and it’s definitely my favorite SSPU album to date. Pick it up ASAP. Top 5 tracks: The Pit, Dots & Dashes, Bloody Mary, Make Believe, Skin Graph. Rating: 89/10 Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    A surprisingly deep album that fleshes out the vaguely krautish electronica the band only touched on in previous efforts. [No.88 p.59]
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    40
    This is stadium schlock of the highest pedigree, the kind of thing that can make you feel desperately cynical about rock music.
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    60
    Something's horribly lacking here. Namely, actual songs. [May 2012, p.53]