Neck of the Woods - Silversun Pickups
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    While Neck of the Woods doesn't have the easily accessible hits of the last 2 albums, after a few listens one realizes that it is their most complete work to date. The vibe and feel are intoxicating. They have found the balance between experimentation and familiar sound that Radiohead failed to on their last effort.
  2. May 24, 2012
    10
    This album definitely took 1-2 listens to fully grow on me, but now after having listened to it approximately twenty times, it has become my favorite SSPU album, even ahead of Swoon. The drums have more variety in their sound on this record too, which is nice. Each and every song is memorable and each runs above 4 minutes in length, so you definitely get a lot of music for your money.
  3. May 17, 2012
    10
    10 out of 10 for me. Yes, it does require a few listens to get into but persevere and you'll be rewarded. Interestingly the negative reviews all mention the single - Bloody Mary - as being the only stand out track. I rather feel it pales in comparison to the rest of the CD. It lacks the sheer power and dark passion of Skin Graph, Make Believe, Simmer, Busy Bees. There are too many10 out of 10 for me. Yes, it does require a few listens to get into but persevere and you'll be rewarded. Interestingly the negative reviews all mention the single - Bloody Mary - as being the only stand out track. I rather feel it pales in comparison to the rest of the CD. It lacks the sheer power and dark passion of Skin Graph, Make Believe, Simmer, Busy Bees. There are too many highlights to mention, right through to the final track. Album of the year so far. Brilliant! Collapse
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    A brilliant, beautiful album that proves the Silversun Pickups are just getting started. Best tracks are the impassioned "Dots and Dashes (Let Me In)" and energetic "Mean Spirits."
  5. May 25, 2012
    9
    Despite another three year wait, the Silversun Pickups do more than deliver the goods. They give us a haunting and scary but **** glorious creep-ride of shoegazing indie-alternative rock that everyone will want to listen to again and again until their turntables, CD players or mp3 players break. "Neck of the Woods" is a fantastic album that is given to us just in time for the beginning ofDespite another three year wait, the Silversun Pickups do more than deliver the goods. They give us a haunting and scary but **** glorious creep-ride of shoegazing indie-alternative rock that everyone will want to listen to again and again until their turntables, CD players or mp3 players break. "Neck of the Woods" is a fantastic album that is given to us just in time for the beginning of the summer. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I just started getting into Silversun Pickups a few years ago, and going into this album I did expect a lighter feel to it than their previous work. When Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) hit Alternative radio, I fell in love with it. I knew the album would be just as good. I bought this album in May and it did take a couple listens to get right into it, and I can now say it is one of myI just started getting into Silversun Pickups a few years ago, and going into this album I did expect a lighter feel to it than their previous work. When Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) hit Alternative radio, I fell in love with it. I knew the album would be just as good. I bought this album in May and it did take a couple listens to get right into it, and I can now say it is one of my favourite releases of 2012 so far! It's lighter feel takes nothing away from the album and in my opinion, makes it better than their 2009 release "Swoon"

    My top 3 tracks of "Neck Of The Woods" are:
    3. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
    2.The Pit
    1. Dots And Dashes (Enough Already)
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    My general reception to Neck of the Woods as a whole is pretty similar to how it was for their previous albums; at first listen I like it but can’t remember very many tracks specifically, then with repeated listens I love it more & more from track to track. Here though there’s a big improvement in that it’s not just one guitar riff or bassline or lyric or vocal melody that sticks in yourMy general reception to Neck of the Woods as a whole is pretty similar to how it was for their previous albums; at first listen I like it but can’t remember very many tracks specifically, then with repeated listens I love it more & more from track to track. Here though there’s a big improvement in that it’s not just one guitar riff or bassline or lyric or vocal melody that sticks in your head (like the case was in a lot of songs on their first 2 albums) but rather the whole track manages to stay memorable, even if it is centered around a particular riff or melody. The aforementioned addition of synth emphasis can do a great job at really giving a song an effective opening build that transitions smoothly into the first verse, except on lead single Bloody Mary where the sudden non-transition is pretty much better for it. Most of the songs here can be given similar compliments. They establish great grooves throughout a song with active drumming, guitar leads that switch between jangly, shimmering & heavy quite naturally, some memorable, deep-set basslines & Brian Aubert’s very distinct high-pitched & slightly nasally voice that can be either restrained or emotive when he wants it to. Also, it seems like on every Silversun Pickups album there’s one single that’s simply an indie-rock masterwork. On Carnavas it was Lazy Eye, on Swoon it was Panic Switch, and on Neck of the Woods it’s The Pit. This song shows a lot of that added synth input while also giving every instrument downright infectious parts whenever they’re used, and the way these hooks are layered on top of each other throughout the entire duration of the song is just fantastic. As for the lyrical content on this song though, as for the rest of the album, I’ll be honest & say I have no idea what they’re talking about here. All I can say is that a lot of the time it sounds vaguely like a first-person perspective in certain parts of a horror movie. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing though, cause despite this these are lyrics that just... sound good, if that makes any sense. Even if you don’t “get” them, it’s not nonsensical gibberish that comes off stupid. Still, the musical aspects are for sure the main appeal, and Neck of the Woods nails it in nearly every area, and it’s definitely my favorite SSPU album to date. Pick it up ASAP. Top 5 tracks: The Pit, Dots & Dashes, Bloody Mary, Make Believe, Skin Graph. Rating: 89/10 Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    A surprisingly deep album that fleshes out the vaguely krautish electronica the band only touched on in previous efforts. [No.88 p.59]
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    40
    This is stadium schlock of the highest pedigree, the kind of thing that can make you feel desperately cynical about rock music.
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    60
    Something's horribly lacking here. Namely, actual songs. [May 2012, p.53]