Neck of the Woods - Silversun Pickups
Neck of the Woods Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third studio album for the Los Angeles-based alt-rock band was produced by Jacknife Lee.
  • Record Label: Dangerbird Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Dream Pop, Post-Grunge
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. May 8, 2012
    85
    It's impossible to deny that not only has Silversun Pickups definitely arrived at their own sound, but that they're one of very few bands around who is finding new ground to break in a genre that most have given up for dead.
  2. May 4, 2012
    80
    The final word sees Neck Of The Woods as a great alternative rock record that will hopefully spur the band onward where 'Swoon' had them treading water.
  3. May 8, 2012
    75
    Neck Of The Woods may not coax many new fans to the Pickups' newly appointed Camp Crystal Lake, but it gives those already there something dark and sinister to mull over.
  4. May 9, 2012
    70
    Even in their least inspired moments, Silversun Pickups have something interesting on offer.
  5. May 16, 2012
    70
    Lucky for listeners, not one track on the album is under five minutes, each song allowed the necessary incubation period to develop and grow without ever losing a limb.
  6. May 16, 2012
    60
    It feels like a work in progress, skeletally over-precise and over-long.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    40
    This is stadium schlock of the highest pedigree, the kind of thing that can make you feel desperately cynical about rock music.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    While Neck of the Woods doesn't have the easily accessible hits of the last 2 albums, after a few listens one realizes that it is their most complete work to date. The vibe and feel are intoxicating. They have found the balance between experimentation and familiar sound that Radiohead failed to on their last effort. Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    10 out of 10 for me. Yes, it does require a few listens to get into but persevere and you'll be rewarded. Interestingly the negative reviews all mention the single - Bloody Mary - as being the only stand out track. I rather feel it pales in comparison to the rest of the CD. It lacks the sheer power and dark passion of Skin Graph, Make Believe, Simmer, Busy Bees. There are too many highlights to mention, right through to the final track. Album of the year so far. Brilliant! Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    10
    This album definitely took 1-2 listens to fully grow on me, but now after having listened to it approximately twenty times, it has become my favorite SSPU album, even ahead of Swoon. The drums have more variety in their sound on this record too, which is nice. Each and every song is memorable and each runs above 4 minutes in length, so you definitely get a lot of music for your money. Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    9
    Despite another three year wait, the Silversun Pickups do more than deliver the goods. They give us a haunting and scary but **** glorious creep-ride of shoegazing indie-alternative rock that everyone will want to listen to again and again until their turntables, CD players or mp3 players break. "Neck of the Woods" is a fantastic album that is given to us just in time for the beginning of the summer. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I just started getting into Silversun Pickups a few years ago, and going into this album I did expect a lighter feel to it than their previous work. When Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) hit Alternative radio, I fell in love with it. I knew the album would be just as good. I bought this album in May and it did take a couple listens to get right into it, and I can now say it is one of my favourite releases of 2012 so far! It's lighter feel takes nothing away from the album and in my opinion, makes it better than their 2009 release "Swoon"

    My top 3 tracks of "Neck Of The Woods" are:
    3. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
    2.The Pit
    1. Dots And Dashes (Enough Already)
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I'm very surprised at the number of negative reviews here. It's not a perfect record, but it is definitely a great one. All four members of Silversun Pickups have stepped up their game, and it completely pays off. I like this record much more than Swoon, but not quite as much as Carnavas. Collapse
  7. May 8, 2012
    7
    Neck of the Woods sounds and feels like a horror movie, exactly what frontman Brian Aubert stated in a recent interview. The album cover is a neighborhood home, but it looks like something is not right. The album has this feel of fear and uncertainty, which works perfectly for Silversun Pickups. Each album they have released portrays complex emotions that are the norm for any individual. Neck of the Woods is no different. The first song, "Skin Graph" has such a great hook throughout the song and will not get out of your head. "Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)" is the first single of the album and it surely doesn't have to be radio friendly to be a great song. "Busy Bee" has this hard rock approach, especially in the drums section as well as Aubert's voice. Overall, the album consumes all of the nightmarish thoughts and displays the mood in energy and attitude of each song. 10 out of 10. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews