Neighborhoods

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Kerrang!
    Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Neighborhoods might never quite land a knockout blow, but it certainly does enough to earn them a rematch int he future. [24 Sep 2011, p.50]
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    60
    Here, though, watery, joke-free confessionals like "This Is Home" and "After Midnight" sound comparatively adrift.
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    60
    Songs like "Hearts All Gone" are pitched between Black Flag and Six Flags ("I'm a little bit shy, a little bit strange and a little bit manic!" DeLonge journals). But just as often there's sophistication and introspection (check those pianos ton "Kaleidoscope"), and darkness lingers at the edge of suburbia.
  4. Oct 14, 2011
    50
    On Neighborhoods, blink-182 took [Dude Ranch/Enema of the State/Take Off Your Pants And Jacket's] sonic template, updated it, and made an album where they tried to understand what it means to be a member of blink-182.
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    50
    As it stands, we have Neighborhoods, large and vapid, every bit an inconsistent mess as it is a guilty pleasure.
  6. Sep 26, 2011
    50
    It's admirable that Blink-182 tries to challenge themselves over the course of Neighborhoods, but their growing pains don't make for a particularly good album or a welcome comeback.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    50
    While it certainly shows Blink to have the potential for much more than their past reputation may convey, Neighborhoods is reminiscent of that first awkward conversation after a heated argument, as no-one's quite sure where to go next.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    Some bands change their sound entirely throughout their career, and while I wouldn't say Blink 182 has changed their sound 100%, I'd saySome bands change their sound entirely throughout their career, and while I wouldn't say Blink 182 has changed their sound 100%, I'd say they'd changed it far too much for my taste. In addition, the vocals are far too polished, too much of each individual artist's side-project's material and not enough Blink. Whatever that means. It simply didn't work for me. But then again, neither did the 2003 Self-Titled, +44, or the majority of the Angels and Airwaves tracks. But I guess if you're into any of the aforementioned, this 10-track post-punk, pop, reunion album might just sound good. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of theseA really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of these songs. Can they please stop using the same recycled chord progressions from album to album? Hearing Mark's monotonous voice years later really hasn't done him any favors; it's way more annoying now.

    Angels and Airwaves makes sense for Tom Delonge. He makes mature music, with mature themes. Here he is back to being a 20 year old singing about the same situations he did when he was 20. He's a married man with kids now. Isn't this stage in his life past? Why would he want to lower himself and sing about these meaningless things that do not pertain to his lifestyle anymore? Perhaps he's just trying to make back some of the money he lost on releasing LOVE free of charge and producing the movie LOVE with no real profits made from it, which I wouldn't be able to blame him for; it's just not respectable to sell out as an artist. As for the other members of Blink-182, I really don't see them as artists as they haven't done anything exceptional or even average after this band broke up years ago. It's sort of like making Indiana Jones 4: some styles and legacies should be just left alone.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    Neighborhoods is a dumb album name, but certainly a great album. it flowed well and just the songs are amazing. except fighting the gravity. iNeighborhoods is a dumb album name, but certainly a great album. it flowed well and just the songs are amazing. except fighting the gravity. i will be very intrested in to what (if they make a new album) what it'll sound like. i love this album. i recommend it to AvA fans and +44 fans alike. still think the album name should've been "It was Toms fault" Full Review »