Neighborhoods - blink-182
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    Some bands change their sound entirely throughout their career, and while I wouldn't say Blink 182 has changed their sound 100%, I'd say they'd changed it far too much for my taste. In addition, the vocals are far too polished, too much of each individual artist's side-project's material and not enough Blink. Whatever that means. It simply didn't work for me. But then again, neither did the 2003 Self-Titled, +44, or the majority of the Angels and Airwaves tracks. But I guess if you're into any of the aforementioned, this 10-track post-punk, pop, reunion album might just sound good. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    Neighborhoods is a dumb album name, but certainly a great album. it flowed well and just the songs are amazing. except fighting the gravity. i will be very intrested in to what (if they make a new album) what it'll sound like. i love this album. i recommend it to AvA fans and +44 fans alike. still think the album name should've been "It was Toms fault"
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of these songs. Can they please stop using the same recycled chord progressions from album to album? Hearing Mark's monotonous voice years later really hasn't done him any favors; it's way more annoying now.

    Angels and Airwaves makes sense for Tom Delonge. He
    makes mature music, with mature themes. Here he is back to being a 20 year old singing about the same situations he did when he was 20. He's a married man with kids now. Isn't this stage in his life past? Why would he want to lower himself and sing about these meaningless things that do not pertain to his lifestyle anymore? Perhaps he's just trying to make back some of the money he lost on releasing LOVE free of charge and producing the movie LOVE with no real profits made from it, which I wouldn't be able to blame him for; it's just not respectable to sell out as an artist. As for the other members of Blink-182, I really don't see them as artists as they haven't done anything exceptional or even average after this band broke up years ago. It's sort of like making Indiana Jones 4: some styles and legacies should be just left alone. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    First of all, what is with all these reviews just hammering Blink-182 for their changed sound? The band wants a more mature and less teenage angst filled style. Get over it.

    Anyway, in my opinion this album is really good for a comeback album. When I first heard Blink-182 was coming out with a new album, I was worried it would be extremely unpopular. However, after hearing the hit "Up
    All Night" on the radio, I completely changed my mentality about this album. I went out and bought the album right away and I instantly thought it was absolutely underrated.

    First of all, this album begins strong. Of course it's not what classic Blink-182 fans are looking for, but the first few tracks definitely add to the bands newer sound. "Ghost on the Dance Floor" and "After Midnight" both have amazing vocals from Tom DeLonge, and "Hearts All Gone" (The most energetic song on the album) is an amazing combo of punk lyrics from Mark Hoppus and heavy drumming from Travis Barker. In my opinion, Blink-182 should release "Hearts All Gone" as their next single as it is the closest to Blink-182's classic style. Overall, the first half of the album should be enough to win people over.

    Unfortunately, the album slows way down from here. "Wishing Well" and "MH 4.18.2011" are somewhat dry and could use some more depth. However, I would recommend these songs to fans of the band members' side projects "Angels & Airwaves" and "+44" as the style is clearly captured in these deeper tracks. On the plus side, the album ends real strong with "Love Is Dangerous"; the last song on the album really reinforces the style of the album making it fit in real well.

    Basically, here is my take on each track:
    1. Ghost on the Dance Floor: has a really cool bass part and interesting lyrics; reminds me of high school homecoming dances and how obnoxious they were
    2. Natives: has uplifting lyrics, but needs a little something more
    3. Up All Night: thrashing punk intro and outro makes this song incredibly fun to listen to; back and forth vocals between Tom and Mark add a really cool affect
    4. After Midnight: a beautiful song but sounds nothing like classic Blink-182; has a much more mature sound
    5. Hearts All Gone: best track of the album; perfect punk style with fast paced drum beat makes this a must have for classic Blink-182 lovers
    6. Wishing Well: sounds similar to Angels & Airwaves but needs some work
    7. Kaleidoscope: is very dry and just sounds like filler for the album
    8. This Is Home: brings back some energy for the album; is good for a deeper track
    9. MH 4.18.2011: the +44 sounding song of the album but also somewhat dry (By the way, does anyone have any clue about what the title means?)
    10. Love Is Dangerous: a strong finish for the album

    Overall, I really liked this album and I could care less about what its style is. This album deserves a chance from everyone not just Blink-182 fans as it contains elements of both pop and punk and mixes them together well. The only problem is simply that people just want to hear the same old styles from classic Blink-182. They refuse to open their minds to the new style, but I believe more bands need to do these experimental albums. They allow new and unique hits to be found, and reduce the risk of confronting the same critics who shot down bands like Green Day for their three chord songs. Either way, itâ
    Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    6
    Lots of fun. Fans from the 90's that have since grown up, shouldn't be afraid to check this album out. They've matured their sound a bit, while still preserving what made them successful in the first place. Expect 14 songs full of unpretentious, rhythmic, pop fun. If you take yourself too seriously, maybe skip this one.
  6. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    A great step forward for this band. has a ecstatic feel to it i recommend all of the songs on this album except fighting the gravity. mr.delonges vocals are in prime form and the range of guitar riffs is really exciting the album all together is very well put together and grammy worthy
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    Blink 182 has really seen some better days, as much as I hate to say it Neighborhoods lowers the bar on the true pop-punk spirit, what ever happened to the exciting super punk sound of Cheshire Cat, Dude Ranch, Enema of the State, Take off your pants and Jacket, etc with the epic guitar riffs and inside jokes/cultural references? This new sound of Blink is probably caused by boxcar racer and +44 with all those deep lyrics that really changed the band members. Not only that I found the songs in the album to completely lack the punk sound, overall an ok album but not amazing like its proceeding albums Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Angels and Airways influence has ruined this album. It's a shame, because the songs are all very good, but the sound is disappointing for Blink-182's standard. However, as I told, the songs are good and Neighborhoods can be considered a good album. Only good. After Midnight is the best song, followed by Up All Night and MH.4.18.2011.
  9. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    While some old-school blink fans may feel alienated by the bands' new approach to songwriting, various elements of the trio's older selves shine through on Neighborhoods and blend very nicely with the fresher influences (expect to hear dashes of Angels & Airwaves and +44 here and there). Although the record sounds rather rusty in places (which is understandable seeing as all three members were on hiatus for 6-7 years leading up to its release), blink 182 have once again managed to strike a nice balance for a catchy punk-pop album. Exciting numbers such as "Heart's All Gone" and "MH 4.18.2011" provide the fist-pumping framework on which the LP rests, though perhaps the record could have done without the pace-changing "Fighting the Gravity" and "Love is Dangerous". Overall, however, blink 182 are back in business, and here to stay for some time yet! Expand
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    This album is intense, with the mix of punk-rock and minor pop assets. Blink-182 surely went back to it's roots with "Neighborhoods". That's nothing but what I've expected: an amazing album, built in with strong lyrics and great guitar solos. Some improvement is barely requested. The atmosphere here is nostalgic and refreshing, feels like a "revolution" in you ears. In the end, this album is exactly what we all are hoping it had to be. Expand
  11. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is AMAZING! its really good. Ive been a blink 182 fan since the late 90's and i must say that they have grown up, bands change and this album shows that. Many songs sound like a combination of AVA, Box Car, Plus 44... and there very good songs. The single "Up All Night" shows how they all bring different styles to the table. Many songs have that AVA sound and that's not a bad thing. "Ghost On The Dance Floor" is a really great song that has the AVA sound to it but its Brilliant and one of the best tracks! "Natives" sounds like a song that could have been released back in 03! it has a similar style to "I Miss You" plus "Josie" or Dammit". The second single "After Midnight" sounds like AVA and Box Car racer with that same Mark Hoppus Chorus its one of the best songs as well. Snake Charmer Sounds like "Feeling This" with harder guitars and sounds experimental its a good song. "Hearts All Gone" sounds alot like a song from the 90s! it has pure mark hoppus in the vocals! and sounds like "dammit" and "when your heart stops beating, it has that fast song style! "Wishing Well" is a really nice song its one of those songs that lifts you up! this song could have easily been on AVA's first album or on Box car Racers ALBUM. "Kaleidoscope sounds alot like Plus-44 and Blink 182 back in 03 its a good song where both mark and Tom sing! "This is Home" sounds like Box car And just old School Blink its an ok song thats just good. "Mh 4.18.2011" is another fast Mark Hoppus track its nice and similar to "Hearts All Gone". "Love is Dangerous" sounds like another AVA song it has backing vocals from Mark and its an ok song Not the best. "Fighting The Gravity is an EXPERIMENTAL! song it shows where they might go in the future it sounds similar to something out of Linkin Parks new album. Its an ok song. AND FINALLY " Even If She Falls" this song sounds alot like Blink 182 from 98-03 it sounds really GREAT! and IMO IS ONE OF THE BEST SONGS! if not the best on the whole album!. OVERALL!!! im giving the album a 10. ive been waiting 8 years and man they ARE BACK!!! GO BUY THIS!!!!!!! Expand
  12. Oct 1, 2011
    4
    A massive departure from their previous work, progression shouldn't be a bad thing, but when it's done with such poor effort which "Neighbourhoods" simply reeks of, you can't help but wonder if Blink 182 should have even re-formed. All of the songs are so forgettable, after several listens I was hard pressed to recall even one of them, constructed with wish-wash riffs over over-polished vocals it's a very boring album. All the songs are interchangeable and lack any sense of identity, it seems as though this album was stuck together within the space of a week. When compared to the titanic success of their previous albums this is not acceptable from a band with such high calibre, a poorly made, utterly boring and forgettable experience which should be avoided. Unfortunately for Blink 182, there are new pop-punk bands releasing work far superior which deserve your attention. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2011
    6
    Ha! Just the thought of a "hyped"/ new AND reunited (yay?) blink-182 album gets 5 points. Add 1 more for them actually doing it (a 6 isn't bad... what do you expect?).
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Neighborhoods is the newly released album by Blink-182 and it's good. The album is better than what I and most people expected it to be. Being an avid blink fan myself, I had high hopes for this album and wasn't disappointed. The song styles are very broad and there's something that will appeal to every era of blink fan (Cheshire Cat/Dude Ranch, Enema/TOPAJ, Self-titled). I think the majority of fans will have expected an album such as this and so none will be surprised. Although, there are a number of great tracks (one of my favourites being 'Natives' which will surely go down as one of the 'legendary' blink tracks. The album is far from amazing but is alot more than mediocre too. 8/10 from me. Expand
  15. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    One word: Amazing. This is my favorite album out of all. The sounds are catchy, and almost perfect! What are you waiting for? Go get it! Worth every penny!
  16. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    This is a decent come back from a band that was expected to falter after this release. A fair few catchy tracks, however, some songs are very mediocre and could have easily been extracted from the final track listing. More quality, less quantity, this could have been excellent.
  17. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Overall it's a fine album. Some songs have a traditional blink-182 sounds but others have a more of a angles and airwaves sound to them. I like both bands so I enjoyed this album.
  18. Nov 4, 2011
    5
    I can generally tell upon first listen if an album's songs are able to grow on me, and when I sat down to listen to the revived blink's 2nd debut effort, I was excited to see what catchy tunes they had come up with. TOYPAJ is among my all-time favourites from a band who reached not only their height in popularity but in song writing ability as well, but I wasn't too fond of the darker sound they took for their final album, sans maybe 3 songs, before splitting up. Neighborhoods to me seems to be in the ball park of the latter and I was ultimately distracted by other, pettier things which basically means the album didn't catch my attention enough to want to focus, unlike TOYPAJ. Even before their mainstream success with Enema of the State, even Dude Ranch, blink-182 had songs that stuck around in one's mind, this is where the album is let down, nothing catches on, but there's hope for a second, even third listening. 5/10 Expand
  19. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I grew up listening to Blink 182 and when I heard about this new album, I didn't know what to expect. People were saying it sounds different from other Blink 182 albums, and that made me skeptical about picking up this CD, but then I Listened to it. A lot of bands have disappointed me with their new CD's, but this CD (Neighborhoods) was brilliant. It wasn't what I expected and was different from previous albums, but that ended up being a very good thing. I definitely think ever Blink 182 fan, or anyone who wants to hear some good quality music should pick up this CD. Expand
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    After eight years, of waiting, the highly anticipated Neighborhoods finally came out. Though drastically different from blink's previous albums (especially with Tom DeLonge's new voice), this new lp does not cease to please. The deluxe edition is much better than the normal, with the exception of "Fighting the Gravity," which could've been a b-side instead. The album is great and, while going a step foward with this genre is not necessarilly the best approach, this lp is an excellent addition to blink's discography. Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2011
    8
    Blink 182 returns with a great album, mainly they change their sound to more of a rock band, but still maintain their 90's punk that everyone knows and loves. Overall its a great album with tracks such as up all night and After midnight, they seem to still have the skill that they did several years ago. Amazing
  22. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    I'm a huge fan of Blink-182 and when i heard this album was out I already knew that it was not going to be the same but never expected it to be this changed. To me this album sounds like Angels and Airwaves, their is almost no punk element in the album its more metal/prog rock sound, I know they got older and stuff and have done all those side projects like box car racer but I'm afraid Blink-182 is officially dead R.I.P Blink-182 (1994-2003). I still liked it "up all night" was pretty good but overall not the best album ever in all honesty I way prefer Cheshire Cat. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    I felt positively surprised when I heard this CD and compared it with their previous ones. I always liked Blink for their music style, but always though most of their lyrics were kinda dull. I would say they're now in a new era, lyrics are completely different, they're full of mixed emotions as depression, love or hatred; they're full of death, addiction... these new songs really touched me, like only a little few of their older songs could. Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    From the murky waters of the bands ugly breakup back in 2005, Neighborhoods is an album that is somewhat dysfunctional, but in the best possible way. A largely progressive record, there is still an approving nod to the simple structures and melodies that made the band so infectious in the first place.
  25. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    they lost the power!! I expected simple song and powerful chording.
    especially, Tom's singing and voice corrapsed. they have to riview when they was young.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Neighborhoods might never quite land a knockout blow, but it certainly does enough to earn them a rematch int he future. [24 Sep 2011, p.50]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    50
    On Neighborhoods, blink-182 took [Dude Ranch/Enema of the State/Take Off Your Pants And Jacket's] sonic template, updated it, and made an album where they tried to understand what it means to be a member of blink-182.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    This latest offering is a welcomed return and a rewarding listen for fans, both old and new.