Neighborhoods

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Neighborhoods Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The punk-pop band returns with its sixth studio album and its first release since it split up in 2005.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk/New Wave, Punk Revival, Punk-Pop, Skatepunk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Whether it was "the right way" or not, all of the days that we have waited for Neighborhoods have been well worth it.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Blink-182 again delivers a record with nothing outright awful and enough dynamite songs to pack a punch at future tours.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    This latest offering is a welcomed return and a rewarding listen for fans, both old and new.
  4. 67
    The lyrics focus on moving on, but their music can't seem to break the tether to yesterday.
  5. Kerrang!
    Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Neighborhoods might never quite land a knockout blow, but it certainly does enough to earn them a rematch int he future. [24 Sep 2011, p.50]
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    60
    Songs like "Hearts All Gone" are pitched between Black Flag and Six Flags ("I'm a little bit shy, a little bit strange and a little bit manic!" DeLonge journals). But just as often there's sophistication and introspection (check those pianos ton "Kaleidoscope"), and darkness lingers at the edge of suburbia.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    50
    While it certainly shows Blink to have the potential for much more than their past reputation may convey, Neighborhoods is reminiscent of that first awkward conversation after a heated argument, as no-one's quite sure where to go next.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of theseA really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of these songs. Can they please stop using the same recycled chord progressions from album to album? Hearing Mark's monotonous voice years later really hasn't done him any favors; it's way more annoying now.

    Angels and Airwaves makes sense for Tom Delonge. He makes mature music, with mature themes. Here he is back to being a 20 year old singing about the same situations he did when he was 20. He's a married man with kids now. Isn't this stage in his life past? Why would he want to lower himself and sing about these meaningless things that do not pertain to his lifestyle anymore? Perhaps he's just trying to make back some of the money he lost on releasing LOVE free of charge and producing the movie LOVE with no real profits made from it, which I wouldn't be able to blame him for; it's just not respectable to sell out as an artist. As for the other members of Blink-182, I really don't see them as artists as they haven't done anything exceptional or even average after this band broke up years ago. It's sort of like making Indiana Jones 4: some styles and legacies should be just left alone.
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I grew up listening to Blink 182 and when I heard about this new album, I didn't know what to expect. People were saying it sounds differentI grew up listening to Blink 182 and when I heard about this new album, I didn't know what to expect. People were saying it sounds different from other Blink 182 albums, and that made me skeptical about picking up this CD, but then I Listened to it. A lot of bands have disappointed me with their new CD's, but this CD (Neighborhoods) was brilliant. It wasn't what I expected and was different from previous albums, but that ended up being a very good thing. I definitely think ever Blink 182 fan, or anyone who wants to hear some good quality music should pick up this CD. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    From the murky waters of the bands ugly breakup back in 2005, Neighborhoods is an album that is somewhat dysfunctional, but in the bestFrom the murky waters of the bands ugly breakup back in 2005, Neighborhoods is an album that is somewhat dysfunctional, but in the best possible way. A largely progressive record, there is still an approving nod to the simple structures and melodies that made the band so infectious in the first place. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Overall it's a fine album. Some songs have a traditional blink-182 sounds but others have a more of a angles and airwaves sound to them. IOverall it's a fine album. Some songs have a traditional blink-182 sounds but others have a more of a angles and airwaves sound to them. I like both bands so I enjoyed this album. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    First of all, what is with all these reviews just hammering Blink-182 for their changed sound? The band wants a more mature and less teenageFirst of all, what is with all these reviews just hammering Blink-182 for their changed sound? The band wants a more mature and less teenage angst filled style. Get over it.

    Anyway, in my opinion this album is really good for a comeback album. When I first heard Blink-182 was coming out with a new album, I was worried it would be extremely unpopular. However, after hearing the hit "Up All Night" on the radio, I completely changed my mentality about this album. I went out and bought the album right away and I instantly thought it was absolutely underrated.
    First of all, this album begins strong. Of course it's not what classic Blink-182 fans are looking for, but the first few tracks definitely add to the bands newer sound. "Ghost on the Dance Floor" and "After Midnight" both have amazing vocals from Tom DeLonge, and "Hearts All Gone" (The most energetic song on the album) is an amazing combo of punk lyrics from Mark Hoppus and heavy drumming from Travis Barker. In my opinion, Blink-182 should release "Hearts All Gone" as their next single as it is the closest to Blink-182's classic style. Overall, the first half of the album should be enough to win people over.
    Unfortunately, the album slows way down from here. "Wishing Well" and "MH 4.18.2011" are somewhat dry and could use some more depth. However, I would recommend these songs to fans of the band members' side projects "Angels & Airwaves" and "+44" as the style is clearly captured in these deeper tracks. On the plus side, the album ends real strong with "Love Is Dangerous"; the last song on the album really reinforces the style of the album making it fit in real well.

    Basically, here is my take on each track:
    1. Ghost on the Dance Floor: has a really cool bass part and interesting lyrics; reminds me of high school homecoming dances and how obnoxious they were
    2. Natives: has uplifting lyrics, but needs a little something more
    3. Up All Night: thrashing punk intro and outro makes this song incredibly fun to listen to; back and forth vocals between Tom and Mark add a really cool affect
    4. After Midnight: a beautiful song but sounds nothing like classic Blink-182; has a much more mature sound
    5. Hearts All Gone: best track of the album; perfect punk style with fast paced drum beat makes this a must have for classic Blink-182 lovers
    6. Wishing Well: sounds similar to Angels & Airwaves but needs some work
    7. Kaleidoscope: is very dry and just sounds like filler for the album
    8. This Is Home: brings back some energy for the album; is good for a deeper track
    9. MH 4.18.2011: the +44 sounding song of the album but also somewhat dry (By the way, does anyone have any clue about what the title means?)
    10. Love Is Dangerous: a strong finish for the album

    Overall, I really liked this album and I could care less about what its style is. This album deserves a chance from everyone not just Blink-182 fans as it contains elements of both pop and punk and mixes them together well. The only problem is simply that people just want to hear the same old styles from classic Blink-182. They refuse to open their minds to the new style, but I believe more bands need to do these experimental albums. They allow new and unique hits to be found, and reduce the risk of confronting the same critics who shot down bands like Green Day for their three chord songs. Either way, itâ
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    I'm a huge fan of Blink-182 and when i heard this album was out I already knew that it was not going to be the same but never expected it toI'm a huge fan of Blink-182 and when i heard this album was out I already knew that it was not going to be the same but never expected it to be this changed. To me this album sounds like Angels and Airwaves, their is almost no punk element in the album its more metal/prog rock sound, I know they got older and stuff and have done all those side projects like box car racer but I'm afraid Blink-182 is officially dead R.I.P Blink-182 (1994-2003). I still liked it "up all night" was pretty good but overall not the best album ever in all honesty I way prefer Cheshire Cat. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    they lost the power!! I expected simple song and powerful chording.
    especially, Tom's singing and voice corrapsed. they have to riview when
    they lost the power!! I expected simple song and powerful chording.
    especially, Tom's singing and voice corrapsed. they have to riview when they was young.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews