Neighborhoods

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Neighborhoods Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The punk-pop band returns with its sixth studio album and its first release since it split up in 2005.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk/New Wave, Punk Revival, Punk-Pop, Skatepunk
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

After Midnight
I can't get my feet up off the edge. I kinda like the little rush you get When you're standing close to death Like when you're driving me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Whether it was "the right way" or not, all of the days that we have waited for Neighborhoods have been well worth it.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Blink-182 again delivers a record with nothing outright awful and enough dynamite songs to pack a punch at future tours.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    This latest offering is a welcomed return and a rewarding listen for fans, both old and new.
  4. 67
    The lyrics focus on moving on, but their music can't seem to break the tether to yesterday.
  5. Kerrang!
    Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Neighborhoods might never quite land a knockout blow, but it certainly does enough to earn them a rematch int he future. [24 Sep 2011, p.50]
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    60
    Songs like "Hearts All Gone" are pitched between Black Flag and Six Flags ("I'm a little bit shy, a little bit strange and a little bit manic!" DeLonge journals). But just as often there's sophistication and introspection (check those pianos ton "Kaleidoscope"), and darkness lingers at the edge of suburbia.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    50
    While it certainly shows Blink to have the potential for much more than their past reputation may convey, Neighborhoods is reminiscent of that first awkward conversation after a heated argument, as no-one's quite sure where to go next.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of theseA really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of these songs. Can they please stop using the same recycled chord progressions from album to album? Hearing Mark's monotonous voice years later really hasn't done him any favors; it's way more annoying now.

    Angels and Airwaves makes sense for Tom Delonge. He makes mature music, with mature themes. Here he is back to being a 20 year old singing about the same situations he did when he was 20. He's a married man with kids now. Isn't this stage in his life past? Why would he want to lower himself and sing about these meaningless things that do not pertain to his lifestyle anymore? Perhaps he's just trying to make back some of the money he lost on releasing LOVE free of charge and producing the movie LOVE with no real profits made from it, which I wouldn't be able to blame him for; it's just not respectable to sell out as an artist. As for the other members of Blink-182, I really don't see them as artists as they haven't done anything exceptional or even average after this band broke up years ago. It's sort of like making Indiana Jones 4: some styles and legacies should be just left alone.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    It's just awesome!
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    A great step forward for this band. has a ecstatic feel to it i recommend all of the songs on this album except fighting the gravity.A great step forward for this band. has a ecstatic feel to it i recommend all of the songs on this album except fighting the gravity. mr.delonges vocals are in prime form and the range of guitar riffs is really exciting the album all together is very well put together and grammy worthy Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Neighborhoods is the newly released album by Blink-182 and it's good. The album is better than what I and most people expected it to be. BeingNeighborhoods is the newly released album by Blink-182 and it's good. The album is better than what I and most people expected it to be. Being an avid blink fan myself, I had high hopes for this album and wasn't disappointed. The song styles are very broad and there's something that will appeal to every era of blink fan (Cheshire Cat/Dude Ranch, Enema/TOPAJ, Self-titled). I think the majority of fans will have expected an album such as this and so none will be surprised. Although, there are a number of great tracks (one of my favourites being 'Natives' which will surely go down as one of the 'legendary' blink tracks. The album is far from amazing but is alot more than mediocre too. 8/10 from me. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2011
    8
    Blink 182 returns with a great album, mainly they change their sound to more of a rock band, but still maintain their 90's punk that everyoneBlink 182 returns with a great album, mainly they change their sound to more of a rock band, but still maintain their 90's punk that everyone knows and loves. Overall its a great album with tracks such as up all night and After midnight, they seem to still have the skill that they did several years ago. Amazing Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    This is a decent come back from a band that was expected to falter after this release. A fair few catchy tracks, however, some songs are veryThis is a decent come back from a band that was expected to falter after this release. A fair few catchy tracks, however, some songs are very mediocre and could have easily been extracted from the final track listing. More quality, less quantity, this could have been excellent. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    they lost the power!! I expected simple song and powerful chording.
    especially, Tom's singing and voice corrapsed. they have to riview when
    they lost the power!! I expected simple song and powerful chording.
    especially, Tom's singing and voice corrapsed. they have to riview when they was young.
    Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews