Neon Bible

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 835 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 835

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    For a kid who grew up in a conservative evangelical home, this record speaks right to me. Heartbreaking and brilliant from the first track to the last. It's extremely difficult to rate an Arcade Fire over another, but this one definitely stands out.
  3. EliasK.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Doomsday never sounded so good.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Powerful album for powerful people. But, really, Neon Bible is a worthy sequel to Funeral. Pulling from many of the same angst filled areas as Funeral, it manages to craft an interesting and novel dialogue between the listener and the band. Engaging and well worth the time spent listening.

    8/10
  5. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Not as good as it's predecessor, but still relevant in their songwriting and progression as a band. I like how they get down with their darker side, where Funeral seems lighter with a bit more of a pop feel.
  6. MikeB
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    I think I actually like Neon Bible more than Funeral. . .and that's saying something.
  7. BrianC
    Apr 18, 2007
    7
    Four listens in, I can't get into it. I'm not a fan of crystal-clear radio pop, but I just can't get into the production. I think The Arcade Fire had the element of surprise when they released the shockingly mournful "Funeral". For me, the songwriting and thematic elements don't quite match up, and sometimes fall flat. This album has some high moments, and some lows. I Four listens in, I can't get into it. I'm not a fan of crystal-clear radio pop, but I just can't get into the production. I think The Arcade Fire had the element of surprise when they released the shockingly mournful "Funeral". For me, the songwriting and thematic elements don't quite match up, and sometimes fall flat. This album has some high moments, and some lows. I can see the appeal, but this album is actually far less accessible than "Funeral" and just can't get on board. Rating: 7.3/10.0 Expand
  8. PaulC
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    This album is phenomenal. I'd almost go so far as to say its better than Funeral. Almost.
  9. tiffanyb
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    i love this band and there music
  10. matta
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely considered one the best albums of the decade so far. Anyway, this album is brilliant. Lyrically, it's probably an improvement on Funeral, and while it contains nothing that reaches quite the highs of tracks like "Crown of Love" or "Wake Up," it is just consistently good, if not moreso, than Funeral. "Black Mirror" "Intervention" "Ocean of Noise" and "The Well and the LIghthouse" are all gorgeous. The best album of the year so far. Expand
  11. Kelly'1'
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I finally understand the term 'art-rock'; and that term is not pretentious here. The most cohesive album since OK Computer
  12. SI
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    'Intervention' is a theatrical god send. The entire record is blasphemously grand.
  13. AaronN
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the heavier tunes ("My body is a cage" is stunning). It's clear that they tried hard to live up to the hype surrounding them, and they succeeded. Expand
  14. markb
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    I agree with one of the reviews that said this was much more "goth." It sounds a lot like Echo and the Bunnymen, but Echo and the Bunnymen's Ocean Songs is better. Good stuff, but more derivative than Funeral.
  15. DecepticonPom
    Mar 12, 2007
    8
    Wow - I think this has provoked the most polarised user comments of any album on Metacritic! Personally, not nearly as good as the flawless Funeral, but still gut wrenchingly honest and melancholly. A wonderful experience.
  16. JA
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    The music is magnificent, feels like an expansion of their debut sound, a lot darker, richer, and with much improved production. However, the lyrics are pretty bad in some songs. Some of the rhymes make me cringe, my least favorite existing in the title track. An improvement in some ways, a detraction in others. Still one of the greater releases so far this year.
  17. CrabsodyInBlue
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    Some people in this forum select 10 or 9 rating very easily. It's a very good album but it is not masterpiece. Which should be the rating for albums as The dark side of the moon, Highway to Hell, Ok Computer etc. etc then? 1000? 2000?
  18. PeterL
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Better? Worst? Simply different and as good as.
  19. t0nyS
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    imo, not as good as funeral, but then again, funeral took awhile for me to like it. At first listen i enjoyed it alot, hopefully as the listens build up it follows suite, much like funeral. I give it an 8, check it out!
  20. Mårten
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    If this is not a 10, I dont know what it! Its not Funeral, its better.
  21. Forreal
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Woah! ALbum of the year???
  22. TomN
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    I loved Arcade Fire's Funeral album and their EP. But, if I had rated Neon Bible two weeks ago on my first listen I would have only rated it an 8. However, I have found myself listening to this album almost exclusively since then and would now rate it an easy perfect 10. It takes a little while to sink in but this album is ultimately one of my favorite albums of all time.
  23. DamianM
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Funeral will be album of the decade. Neon Bible may just have to settle for album of the year :)
  24. SamC
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    So Great!! Have fun singing along to all the great tracks!!!
  25. ajprimo
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Funeral was one of the best, if not the best, album of the decade. Saying Neon Bible isn't as good as Funeral, although true, shouldn't take away from it. Requires a couple listens but once you "get" the album, it "gets" you. On repeated listenings I've gravitated towards the second half of the album , songs 6-11, more than the 1st. Solid sophmore effort...can't wait Funeral was one of the best, if not the best, album of the decade. Saying Neon Bible isn't as good as Funeral, although true, shouldn't take away from it. Requires a couple listens but once you "get" the album, it "gets" you. On repeated listenings I've gravitated towards the second half of the album , songs 6-11, more than the 1st. Solid sophmore effort...can't wait for the hat trick!!! Expand
  26. Chris
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Killer album, grows on you like funeral. However, it also takes the band in a slightly different direction, the lyrics are much more rooted in politics and whats happening in the world right now. I'd agree with others who've posted, this pretty much solidifies Arcade Fire as one of the first truly great bands of the decade, and the best Canadian Indie band ever.
  27. dingusg
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    the reason why older NA indie bands are unrecognized is that they can't compete w/TAF. wah wah. if you've ever seen a live show, you know what i'm talkin about.
  28. ChuckS
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    even though it's cool to slag off the arcade fire now, i just can't do it! this album is great!
  29. SinderV
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the 2000's. Whatever its excesses may be, they are easily justified.
  30. MichaelD
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    Two of the biggest mistakes seen in most sophmore albums are that they sound exactly the same and/or lack the musical talent that was seen in its predecessor. The Arcade Fire has created something that equals, or even improves, on their previous musical effort. Not only that, they have taken a new direction altogether... and they pulled it off.
  31. Kelly
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    If anything this album is under-hyped.
  32. rey
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    I feel bad for the arcade fire because they set the bar so freakin high with "Funeral" that it is really hard, for me at least, to listen to "Neon Bible" "objectively". i don't think that this album will get the respect it deserves it. nevertheless, it is a worthy follow-up. songs like "ocean of noise"", "no cars go", and "keep the car running" are top-notch.
  33. NaveenP
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    As strong, if not stronger than Funeral
  34. ChrisG
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely brilliant. Those who diss or don't get it are either not listening closely enough or don't enjoy the band for what it is.
  35. JohnK
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    It took a couple listens but I am hooked. I think it is just as good as Funeral.
  36. SimonO
    Mar 7, 2007
    7
    i like it. however there arent enough stand out tracks for me. its very much an album album, like pitchfork said u can only really access it from one point and thats the opening track and then it takes u on a dense, moody, glorious journey from there on in
  37. MikeP
    Mar 9, 2007
    9
    Not as great as Funeral, but still up there. The scope of the music and lyrics has expanded, and thankfully, on the whole, the songs havent been lost under the need to make a 'new' sound. The one let down for me is that one of the best tracks - No Cars Go - is a revamped version of a 3 year old song from their original EP, and i prefer the old mix!
  38. PerspicaciousCritic
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    I don't know why some bands, like Doves, who have a very similar, epic and emotive sound as Arcade Fire (and who, to me, surpass Arcade Fire) doesn't get the overzealous, universal hype, like Arcade Fire. Fate can be fickle, sometimes.
  39. GuyH
    Mar 9, 2007
    8
    The great success with 'Neon Bible' is that it sounds cohesive and is a far more satisfying listen from start to end than 'Funeral'. The negative side is that some songs only make sense as part of the album and don't really hold their own as individual tracks. The opening and closing songs are particularly average - strange when you consider that Tunnels and The great success with 'Neon Bible' is that it sounds cohesive and is a far more satisfying listen from start to end than 'Funeral'. The negative side is that some songs only make sense as part of the album and don't really hold their own as individual tracks. The opening and closing songs are particularly average - strange when you consider that Tunnels and Backseat were probably the two strongest tracks on 'Funeral'! Intervention and Windowsill are possibly the strongest songs but I have a soft spot for Black Wave and the title track. Overall I think they have done well with this release and I can't see too many fans being disappointed. Expand
  40. ErinK
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This may be a little premature but... I think we have the best rock album of the year. I just can't imagine anything else being better. Not only do I think we'll still be talking about this album as being one of the very best of 2008 come December, it may also be one of the best sophomore albums I've heard in years.
  41. DJMiknoche
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    This is a wonderful disc. Made me fall in love with rock music all over again. Just like when I first heard Patti Smith's "Horses" or Television's "Marquee Moon", or the Stones' "Exile..." or Neil Young's "After the Gold Rush". Arcade Fire's music makes me come apart in a blissful way! A disc for the ages...
  42. DouglasD.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    After The Radiohead Age, came the The Arcade Fire Age. It's hard to compare Neon Bible to Funeral, but, after several auditions, the comparison is over. NB is a great solid album and the new version of No Cars Go is wonderful.
  43. Scott
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard in 10 years. This album reminds me of a soundtrack to a much darker Jim Henson Productions movie and that makes it old and new to me. Over-hyped? Only if you were that newbie Indie kid that latched on and now they are getting too big for your Indie ears. Well, guess what, memorable, great music of this level is only generated every decade or so and it's bound to break out of its indie roots. And to those older folks that quibble over which song of Bob Dylan's was the best, don't over-analyze this album. Funeral was perfect and Neon Bible is too. I am almost expecting their third release to be just as quality, if not perfect as well. WOOT. Buy this album. Expand
  44. NeonB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece, one of the best in decade and in my opinion even better than Funeral. I enjoy every single piece of it.
  45. TiagoA.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Another great album from this wonderful band.
  46. BrettB
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Ive only just discovered this gem..........I listened to Funeral after hearing this..........what great talents and hopefully more to come...........truly the best release for 2007 so far.....
  47. Alex
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Fantastic Sophmore!
  48. Michael
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Inventive. Refreshing. Complex. Pure genuis! "Neon Bible" solidifies Arcade Fire's prominence into modern, uncomercialized music.
  49. JordanC
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    Another great album. They've taken the best song of their first LP remastered it and it serves as a heavy hitter to end the second LP. I don't know if its good or bad that they will never have another album with angst and frustration that we found with funeral. But lets hope they keep making music like this.
  50. ScottF
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    It doesn't have the same twists and turns that Funeral did, but that results in a more solid and focussed feeling album.
  51. Mensch
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    Funeral is an album for the ages, and gets my vote for best album of the decade, so far. I'm still listening to it at least 2 times a week after 2+ years. Neon Bible is a very good, approaching great, album. But it suffers somewhat in comparison to Funeral -- as do 99% of all albums. The album seems designed for a wider audience, which diminishes Arcade Fire's strength. For Funeral is an album for the ages, and gets my vote for best album of the decade, so far. I'm still listening to it at least 2 times a week after 2+ years. Neon Bible is a very good, approaching great, album. But it suffers somewhat in comparison to Funeral -- as do 99% of all albums. The album seems designed for a wider audience, which diminishes Arcade Fire's strength. For example, there is no "Laika" on this album -- a song that with its out-of-tune choruses is initially almost painful to listen to, but with patience reveals its depth and beauty. Expand
  52. JustinA
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    There are certainly a number of missteps here - namely the clunky lyrics on "Black Mirror", the sterile "Neon Bible" and "My Body is a Cage" - but when The Arcade Fire stick to what they do best - play earnest, emotional art rock including all the instruments under the sun - they are as damn good they ever were on Funeral.
  53. PrestonT
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Obviously it would be next to impossible to expect this album to live up to Funeral, so I won't even go there. It is a very strong album emotionally and has several moments when they use their crescendos to perfection. However, a couple of the songs are duds, and that really has an effect on the overall cohesiveness. All in all, it's made me even more excited for their next release.
  54. JonasF
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Funeral was a mind blowing spectacle with uplifting, beautiful songs fueled by death.The Arcade Fire' sophomore, Neon Bible, is a brilliant and compelling follow up that morphs the beauty of Funeral into a barrage of emotional cannon fire. Church themes fire through the album which seems fitting seeing that Funeral had relatives of the band dieing. You have to shed a tear somewhere Funeral was a mind blowing spectacle with uplifting, beautiful songs fueled by death.The Arcade Fire' sophomore, Neon Bible, is a brilliant and compelling follow up that morphs the beauty of Funeral into a barrage of emotional cannon fire. Church themes fire through the album which seems fitting seeing that Funeral had relatives of the band dieing. You have to shed a tear somewhere near the end of this masterwork, it couldn't be any more haunting without killing your enthusiasm cold.If any album could be a wake up call to the #%@& music poisoning the world now its this life saver. Collapse
  55. JonF
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    YAY! Thank god these people were put on Earth. Music is this and only what this should be.
  56. lalo
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Intense!
  57. KellyWalrus
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Although the songs on Neon Bible are on par with the songs on Funeral, I have to admit that Funeral is the overall better album. Also, as Kris B stated, the special edition is quite lame and is not worth the extra $12 (Canadian).
  58. AllenM
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    A whole new direction seperate from Funeral. I love this album.
  59. SeanV
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everything I wanted, and more. Keep the Arcade Fire Running.
  60. BillP
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Anyone who has always been a fan of Springsteen's voice but couldn't bare his horrendous lyrics and show-bouty James Brown rip off act should like this album. No lyrics about dancing and waving a flag around here just great lines and fine musicianship. Glad he finally decided to stop imitating Byrne!
  61. RR
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Pure Magic.
  62. karlravage
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    Most powerful disc since PearlJam vs.Oh, and Rollingstone and NOW have a bunch of fags writing for them. Your skinny freaking legs in tight jeans are making your brain bleed!!!
  63. Philipped
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    I have to say I was fearing the worst when I listened it first, but when you give it few listens (like many said), you realize the Masterpiece it is. My Body Is A Cage, No Cars Go, Ocean of Noise and Intervention are my favorite so far. I think only The National can beat them for Album of the Year
  64. KevinJ
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    The more I listen to this album, the more it resonates with me--to the point where now it's as important a cultural companion as my favorite novels. Some reviews call the lyrics stilted or pretentious in parts, so maybe I'm stilted and pretentious, but I've been hearing Neon Bible lyrics echo through my head more and more as I take stock of how we live. Perhaps the greatest The more I listen to this album, the more it resonates with me--to the point where now it's as important a cultural companion as my favorite novels. Some reviews call the lyrics stilted or pretentious in parts, so maybe I'm stilted and pretentious, but I've been hearing Neon Bible lyrics echo through my head more and more as I take stock of how we live. Perhaps the greatest praise? I think I prefer it to Funeral! Expand
  65. ColinS
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Excellent Sophmore effort.
  66. andresL
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    They deliver in spite of the insane expectations.
  67. KidA
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    After I listened through this album the first time I let out a massive sigh of relief. My beloved Arcade Fire had made an album that maintained the immensely high standard of Funeral. If you loved Funeral, you will love this.
  68. TonyD
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Best band ever.
  69. KevinC
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Here's an idea: stop being so fixated on Funeral. This obsessive need to rank Neon Bible as "better" or "worse" is getting tiring. Neon Bible is an amazing record and fully stands on its own without the need for Funeral to prop it up. I realize we're only 3 months in, but so far there's simply no album this year that comes even close to the brilliance and power of Neon Bible.
  70. SamH
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    A generation-defining release of tension from post-modern pressures. A couple of weaker songs ("Intervention" and "Black Wave") are a little too melodramatic for me, but this is some of the most genuinely emotional alternative rock of the decade.
  71. JG
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Simply the best. Arcade Fire has the power to evoke emotion out of their listeners like no other band out there. Can't get enough of this album.
  72. dg
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    How they didn't disappoint us after Funeral is beyond me...but this album picks up at just the right spot, with a different sound, but a great listen again. These guys are on fire.
  73. ZeroS
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    despite that i never found myself listening to "funeral" that often, i saw the majesty in it's sound. however, i believe this sophmore album is bordering on classic. it is their "room on fire" a gentle exansion of their existing sound, modern and perfect in it's way, but still not likely to please everyone who loved thier debut. anthemic and driving, in a way that will win over despite that i never found myself listening to "funeral" that often, i saw the majesty in it's sound. however, i believe this sophmore album is bordering on classic. it is their "room on fire" a gentle exansion of their existing sound, modern and perfect in it's way, but still not likely to please everyone who loved thier debut. anthemic and driving, in a way that will win over even more u2 fans, yet a little subversive (i.e. the title track self-referencial nature) and deeply nuanced enough for the trad indie set. the presence of one or two clunkers, and a few points where i feel they would have benefited from my luscious baritone vocals on back-up, keep this one from recieving a 10 from me. worth the purchase. Expand
  74. Marc
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Pure genius. Give it a few listens before you dismiss it as an 'ok' follow up to Funeral. I can't stop listening to it. 'Intervention' gives me chills. In my mind, this record stakes a claim for the Arcade fire as the 'best band on the planet' right now.
  75. FelipeP
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    Good record, but failed when the record is not make with the same reasons like Funeral, with the heart and soul and fatalities, sounds more artificial and some poor lyrics, but it's a awesome second album.
  76. KevinE
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    I wasn't astounded by this album as quickly as I thought I'd be. It took me time to fall in love with the first album as well. But after multiple listens, and listening to hundreds of other songs these past two weeks, 5 or Neon Bible's songs have been constantly stuck in my head. This is a very powerful album, that you'll know its great at first, but realize its a I wasn't astounded by this album as quickly as I thought I'd be. It took me time to fall in love with the first album as well. But after multiple listens, and listening to hundreds of other songs these past two weeks, 5 or Neon Bible's songs have been constantly stuck in my head. This is a very powerful album, that you'll know its great at first, but realize its a masterpiece later. Album of the Year as of this moment Expand
  77. Chelseah
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    I feel a stronger connection to this album than Funeral. Powerful album, talented artists.
  78. OliverC
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    As a follow up for funeral it feels a little sad at first. But after a few listens it really does add a whole new great sound to the Arcade Fire's history. The only thing it could use is some more variation, but what it does focus on it does very well. Would love to see them live..
  79. Mr.Hankey
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    It's a near-perfect attempt at gothic gospel rock. Deep, lyrically and musically, Neon Bible proves this band as being the most important band of the decade. "Funeral" was a brilliant album, Neon Bible sounds nothing like it but still has this essence of childlike innocence even if it is darker. They are back!
  80. KrisS
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    By all means, I don't believe it is better than Funeral... However, I can't put the damn thing down! I can't stop playing it constantly whether at home or driving to work or even in my head.
  81. JoeD
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    I wouldn't say it's better than Funeral, but I sure wouldn't say it's worse, either. Both are perfect in different ways, and I couldn't be happier with this album.
  82. matth
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    another incredible record from the best indie band in the world.
  83. Craig
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    one of those CD's that you warm up to more and more the more you listen to it.
  84. Azu
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    just charming :)
  85. YannnisG.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I have to admit that Funeral didn't really hook me ; i find this album quite better than their previous one...
  86. YannnisG.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I have to admit that Funeral didn't really hook me ; i find this album quite better than their previous one...
  87. Seeds13
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    The production of this album makes it much better than 'funeral'. They were able to put together a full sound that feels like it was glued together with epoxy. This helps capture their sincerity, and I feel it puts them on the emotional level of Pedro the Lion. This is a good album to calm the rage about free-world politics. It's worth a listen if you want bad things to The production of this album makes it much better than 'funeral'. They were able to put together a full sound that feels like it was glued together with epoxy. This helps capture their sincerity, and I feel it puts them on the emotional level of Pedro the Lion. This is a good album to calm the rage about free-world politics. It's worth a listen if you want bad things to happen to figures like Cheney, Blair. But, it's fulfilling either way. Expand
  88. DeryW
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    Disappointing on first listen but it slowly grows on you and now I am hooked.
  89. TaylorJ
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Definitely on par and actually a little more consistent than Funeral. Ocean of Noise, No Cars Go, Keep The Car Running are the standouts for me.
  90. HannahK
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    At a first listen Neon Bible didn't grab me like Funeral, but by the second or third play it had sucked me in.
  91. justinb
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    nothing but greatness here
  92. panose
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Canadian magic
  93. miguelk.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Perfect follow-up to "Funeral." This album will last for a long time.
  94. GabrielP
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Darker, and as great as Funeral.
  95. TannerC
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    I love this record. There's not a song I can't listen to. The new version of No Cars Go is beyond anything I could have anticipated. Definitely a slow burner... you gotta give it some time to see how bright it is. I love the darker mood, and the outward approach to the lyrical content, completely opposite to Funeral's more introspective content. You guys gotta get some more I love this record. There's not a song I can't listen to. The new version of No Cars Go is beyond anything I could have anticipated. Definitely a slow burner... you gotta give it some time to see how bright it is. I love the darker mood, and the outward approach to the lyrical content, completely opposite to Funeral's more introspective content. You guys gotta get some more reviews up there... Pitchfork has theirs up now... there must be others. Expand
  96. JohnB
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    I don't hesitate to consider Neon Bible one of the most significant contributions to music in many years. If this album doesn't hit you emotionally you are one cold and bitter person.
  97. ArielD
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    an incredible, great album. better than funeral
  98. AFFan
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    amazing, essential, breathtaking. Funeral had the edge in lyrics, Neon Bible in sheer musical power and beauty. I need to listen to Neon Bible until the songs are as integrated into my life as Funeral's are, and then i'll be able to address the question of which I enjoy better. I have a feeling Neon Bible will take the crown, but not by much. The Arcade Fire are amazing.
  99. EvanG
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    A weird, fun, dark, gleefull romp that should be heard like it's name suggests.
  100. RussellM
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome, era-defining record. Bruce touched on the 9/11 bit on 'Rising', but Arcade Fire have wrapped up the whole post 9/11 thing with a storming album. Best of the best is "Intervention".
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So, Funeral was by no means a fluke. The Arcade Fire are unquestionably the real deal. And to prove it they’ve now thrown in another contender for ‘best record of the decade’.
  2. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]