Neon Bible

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 869 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 869

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FelipeP
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    Good record, but failed when the record is not make with the same reasons like Funeral, with the heart and soul and fatalities, sounds more artificial and some poor lyrics, but it's a awesome second album.
  2. KevinE
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    I wasn't astounded by this album as quickly as I thought I'd be. It took me time to fall in love with the first album as well. But after multiple listens, and listening to hundreds of other songs these past two weeks, 5 or Neon Bible's songs have been constantly stuck in my head. This is a very powerful album, that you'll know its great at first, but realize its a I wasn't astounded by this album as quickly as I thought I'd be. It took me time to fall in love with the first album as well. But after multiple listens, and listening to hundreds of other songs these past two weeks, 5 or Neon Bible's songs have been constantly stuck in my head. This is a very powerful album, that you'll know its great at first, but realize its a masterpiece later. Album of the Year as of this moment Expand
  3. Erics.
    Mar 31, 2007
    5
    Overrated.
  4. Chelseah
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    I feel a stronger connection to this album than Funeral. Powerful album, talented artists.
  5. JohnQ.Pubilus
    Mar 3, 2007
    2
    The musical equivalent of WMDs in Iraq. We kept hearing all about them (i.e. the great songs supposedly on this record) but when looked for, nothing was found. Funeral was bloated and directionless, but at least energetic. This is just bloated.
  6. OliverC
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    As a follow up for funeral it feels a little sad at first. But after a few listens it really does add a whole new great sound to the Arcade Fire's history. The only thing it could use is some more variation, but what it does focus on it does very well. Would love to see them live..
  7. Mr.Hankey
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    It's a near-perfect attempt at gothic gospel rock. Deep, lyrically and musically, Neon Bible proves this band as being the most important band of the decade. "Funeral" was a brilliant album, Neon Bible sounds nothing like it but still has this essence of childlike innocence even if it is darker. They are back!
  8. KrisS
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    By all means, I don't believe it is better than Funeral... However, I can't put the damn thing down! I can't stop playing it constantly whether at home or driving to work or even in my head.
  9. JoeD
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    I wouldn't say it's better than Funeral, but I sure wouldn't say it's worse, either. Both are perfect in different ways, and I couldn't be happier with this album.
  10. matth
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    another incredible record from the best indie band in the world.
  11. Craig
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    one of those CD's that you warm up to more and more the more you listen to it.
  12. Azu
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    just charming :)
  13. YannnisG.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I have to admit that Funeral didn't really hook me ; i find this album quite better than their previous one...
  14. YannnisG.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    I have to admit that Funeral didn't really hook me ; i find this album quite better than their previous one...
  15. Seeds13
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    The production of this album makes it much better than 'funeral'. They were able to put together a full sound that feels like it was glued together with epoxy. This helps capture their sincerity, and I feel it puts them on the emotional level of Pedro the Lion. This is a good album to calm the rage about free-world politics. It's worth a listen if you want bad things to The production of this album makes it much better than 'funeral'. They were able to put together a full sound that feels like it was glued together with epoxy. This helps capture their sincerity, and I feel it puts them on the emotional level of Pedro the Lion. This is a good album to calm the rage about free-world politics. It's worth a listen if you want bad things to happen to figures like Cheney, Blair. But, it's fulfilling either way. Expand
  16. DeryW
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    Disappointing on first listen but it slowly grows on you and now I am hooked.
  17. TaylorJ
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Definitely on par and actually a little more consistent than Funeral. Ocean of Noise, No Cars Go, Keep The Car Running are the standouts for me.
  18. HannahK
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    At a first listen Neon Bible didn't grab me like Funeral, but by the second or third play it had sucked me in.
  19. justinb
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    nothing but greatness here
  20. adamh
    Mar 5, 2007
    3
    i still don't get this band. they seem like a bunch of pretentious rich kids to me. i think it would be healthier for teenagers today to buy the black lips and stay clear of this "emotional" jive.
  21. panose
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    Canadian magic
  22. miguelk.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Perfect follow-up to "Funeral." This album will last for a long time.
  23. Marcius
    Mar 5, 2007
    6
    Michael S. said it all.
  24. GabrielP
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Darker, and as great as Funeral.
  25. JonathanE
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    This album is getting acclaim simply because it's the Arcade Fire. As a previous review said, they are suffering from Radiohead syndrome where everything they do is considered genius even if it isn't that great. This album is simply nowhere near as good as "Funeral" and a definite sophomore slump. The songs have a lack of hooks and aren't very memorable. They even resort to This album is getting acclaim simply because it's the Arcade Fire. As a previous review said, they are suffering from Radiohead syndrome where everything they do is considered genius even if it isn't that great. This album is simply nowhere near as good as "Funeral" and a definite sophomore slump. The songs have a lack of hooks and aren't very memorable. They even resort to re-recording one of their earlier songs "No Cars Go" seemingly only because it's catchy and they obviously couldn't come up with anything else. Expand
  26. TannerC
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    I love this record. There's not a song I can't listen to. The new version of No Cars Go is beyond anything I could have anticipated. Definitely a slow burner... you gotta give it some time to see how bright it is. I love the darker mood, and the outward approach to the lyrical content, completely opposite to Funeral's more introspective content. You guys gotta get some more I love this record. There's not a song I can't listen to. The new version of No Cars Go is beyond anything I could have anticipated. Definitely a slow burner... you gotta give it some time to see how bright it is. I love the darker mood, and the outward approach to the lyrical content, completely opposite to Funeral's more introspective content. You guys gotta get some more reviews up there... Pitchfork has theirs up now... there must be others. Expand
  27. JohnB
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    I don't hesitate to consider Neon Bible one of the most significant contributions to music in many years. If this album doesn't hit you emotionally you are one cold and bitter person.
  28. ArielD
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    an incredible, great album. better than funeral
  29. AFFan
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    amazing, essential, breathtaking. Funeral had the edge in lyrics, Neon Bible in sheer musical power and beauty. I need to listen to Neon Bible until the songs are as integrated into my life as Funeral's are, and then i'll be able to address the question of which I enjoy better. I have a feeling Neon Bible will take the crown, but not by much. The Arcade Fire are amazing.
  30. EvanG
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    A weird, fun, dark, gleefull romp that should be heard like it's name suggests.
  31. RussellM
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome, era-defining record. Bruce touched on the 9/11 bit on 'Rising', but Arcade Fire have wrapped up the whole post 9/11 thing with a storming album. Best of the best is "Intervention".
  32. JoeA
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    If there was ever an album that needed a second/third/fourth listen, it is this one. I bought this, listened to it once through on the drive home and grimaced. It sounded weak musically (choruses? a decent melody?) and the lyrics way too bombastic to take seriously. I forced a second listen however and was stricken. The music that seemed to lack any sort of indelible cadence began to If there was ever an album that needed a second/third/fourth listen, it is this one. I bought this, listened to it once through on the drive home and grimaced. It sounded weak musically (choruses? a decent melody?) and the lyrics way too bombastic to take seriously. I forced a second listen however and was stricken. The music that seemed to lack any sort of indelible cadence began to entrap me. The lyrics are blunt and vivid -- nothing like the frustratingly opaque music that pervades the "indie" genre. These stories can affect you. I agree with the reviewer that mentioned the "Radiohead syndrome", but for different reasons. Because the Arcade Fire are the Arcade Fire, reviewers and fans are giving this album a fair chance to reveal itself, which is exactly what it needs. And because it can't be avoided: No, I don't think it's as good as Funeral. But that's pretty high to shoot for. Expand
  33. Dave
    Mar 7, 2007
    7
    I've listened to this a few times now, and i have to say I think it is a bit overrated. There are some very good songs here, but none that come close to the greatness of "Wake Up" or "Crown of Love". I'm just amazed at the number of people calling this a masterpiece, it's far from it at least imo.
  34. AramisG
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    Really good second album! Takes a few listens to sink in. Not as catchy as Funeral, but whatever bands can't always make every album as good as their "best". Love the Bruce Springstien-esque songs. One thing that is a little lazy is putting No Cars Go on this album. The new version isn't that different. I would have preffered to just have another new song.
  35. LukeT
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    The first play was alright, but like most of the reviews say, it does take a couple spins because it is so rich and powerful to fully absorb in one go. It truely is beautiful.
  36. kingmik
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    briliant...even better then the first one...
  37. mathk
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    heartbreakingly dark. not as good as funeral but still amazing. listen to it a couple times and it'll haunt you. no cars go and keep the car running give me goosebumps they're so good. doubt i'll hear anything nearly as good as this all year.
  38. ToddW
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    You've almost got to feel sorry for The Arcade Fire, if you can summon empathy for one of the hottest bands on the planet. I mean, how do you top one of the best debut albums in rock history? Simple, you rarely do. The hype and anticipation appear to have been just too suffocating to allow Neon Bible to breathe freely on its own. It's a fine album, but after Funeral it almost You've almost got to feel sorry for The Arcade Fire, if you can summon empathy for one of the hottest bands on the planet. I mean, how do you top one of the best debut albums in rock history? Simple, you rarely do. The hype and anticipation appear to have been just too suffocating to allow Neon Bible to breathe freely on its own. It's a fine album, but after Funeral it almost seems like it should be the subject of a burial Mass. It's a dark album, with little of that effervescent glow and matchless joy that marked much of its predecessor. Recorded in churches, the sounds on Neon Bible are deep and resonating. Would that the songs were in league with the recording. While decent, Win Butler's offerings are just not that memorable. The players also get in each other's way on some of the songs, as if everyone is trying too hard to make that memorable musical statement in their allotted time. More is not necessarily better, as Funeral ably proved. Still, it will stand as that competent child to the genius older sibling, and in a shadow is not a bad place to be. Expand
  39. scottc
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    This is "big rock" done right. A powerful album.
  40. RubyW.
    Mar 8, 2007
    3
    So this is what the emperor wears--nothing at all! I liked the first album, but this one is almost unlistenable. Yes--the lyrics are cryptic. The music swells and swirls! Too bad the songs aren't good.
  41. KevinR
    Mar 8, 2007
    8
    A very strong follow up to Funeral, yet it just doesn't quite flow as well.
  42. JeremyS
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This is my first time hearing AF, never heard Funeral, so in my unbiased opinion, judging by this album alone, I'd say that this band will most definitely have a spot in my music collection. Not an album for everybody....not the kind of music that you can get into just whenever....you certainly have to be in one of those moods, as it tends to be heavy-hearted, but definitely adds a This is my first time hearing AF, never heard Funeral, so in my unbiased opinion, judging by this album alone, I'd say that this band will most definitely have a spot in my music collection. Not an album for everybody....not the kind of music that you can get into just whenever....you certainly have to be in one of those moods, as it tends to be heavy-hearted, but definitely adds a different color to the pallet and helps patch that hard-to-fill void when selecting music for the production of that ongoing soundtrack in each of our lives. Expand
  43. TaylorA.
    Mar 9, 2007
    8
    First, I'd like to say that after the brilliance of both their self titled EP and especially Funeral (which is definitely one of my favourite albums of all time), I was hesitant in expecting too much from the album when it was announced to be released, as means of not getting my hopes up. And as so being the case, I was not at all disappointed. In fact, if I did have my hopes up, I First, I'd like to say that after the brilliance of both their self titled EP and especially Funeral (which is definitely one of my favourite albums of all time), I was hesitant in expecting too much from the album when it was announced to be released, as means of not getting my hopes up. And as so being the case, I was not at all disappointed. In fact, if I did have my hopes up, I don't think I would've been too disappointed, either. I don't think anyone who knows this band was expecting this to one-up Funeral, anyways. In Neon Bible, it is clear that Win Butler and fellow band members have matured quite a bit. The lyrics of this album are much more real. They have seemingly progressively lost their innocence, which is one of the focal points of their Self Titled, and still quite noticeably existent in Funeral. With Neon Bible, almost the only remnants of their innocent, surrealist beginnings are audible, though, mostly in Keep The Car Running, and not even in the (arguably) revamped No Cars Go, originally from their Self Titled EP. The album is much more put together than Funeral.. Much more contrived and solid. I am sorry for the excessive comparing to Funeral, I was going to try and stay away from that... Anyhow, The Arcade Fire do not disappoint in this solid album. So far, my favourite album of 2007 (or at least my favourite that was actually released in 2007.) Expand
  44. DaveG
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This album is saving my sanity.
  45. AndreaP
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    Funeral was better, this album has not great riff like Wake up or Rebellion
  46. HexumN
    Apr 15, 2007
    8
    This album is overrated, but it's still very good. It can be slow and serious, and it's powerful. Has some meaning. Very diverse songs. It's worth a listen.
  47. MG
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    The best album of last 5 years. Moving, deep and beautiful.
  48. hooner
    Apr 25, 2007
    5
    Sounds like it was recorded in a shed! NOT the best band of all time, I wish you people would get some perspective and stop herelding evry new band the best ever.
  49. pendepomo
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    awsome, it actually blowed my mind, i thought the sound changing would be a bad thing, but they made it, in amother way, but they did great
  50. HalleyP
    May 2, 2007
    10
    There are 5 albums on this earth that I consider to be the only existing masterworks. Bob Dylan's "Blood on the Tracks", The Beatles "abby Road", Miles Davis " Kind of Blue", Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks", and.... THE ARCADE FIRE'S ***NEON BIBLE***
  51. BrianW
    May 24, 2007
    9
    This album's definitely a grower. It might not be as instantly genius as their debut, but it's still a stellar set of songs, with a lot of fantastic moments that other rock bands could never create. I don't really understand all the bitching about this one.
  52. Fel.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, one of the best records i have ever heard!
  53. JackC
    May 3, 2007
    10
    By God this is brilliant. Funeral was great (Power Out, anyone?) but lacked consistency. On here, just about every song is a complete winner. The new version of No Cars Go, Keep the Car Running, Antichrist Television Blues... so many reasons to love this album.
  54. Owen
    May 3, 2007
    7
    Loved Funeral. Album of the year certainly, and as Hot Press say, contender for album of the decade. Some great tracks here too, but it over-whelms me a bit, the title track is atrocious, and I can't swallow the trite anti-church lyric on Intervention. It will still get spun, but a little disappointing.
  55. MatthewC
    May 5, 2007
    0
    Boo
  56. AndrewP
    May 9, 2007
    7
    Intervention is great. Aside from that, there is good, and there is bad. Pitchfork got it right, the lyrics are very clunky and detract from the music (Black Mirror). I just don't understand the obsession with this release, as it is clearly inferior to Funeral.
  57. JordanK
    Jun 13, 2007
    5
    I appreciate what they're trying to do and what they stand for. But I can't stand their songwriting. The musical ideas are simple and repetitive; sometimes they're dressed up enough so that it doesn't matter how monotonous the chordal and melodic structure are (this was done really well in Funeral), but in this album, no arrangement, no matter how decorative, could I appreciate what they're trying to do and what they stand for. But I can't stand their songwriting. The musical ideas are simple and repetitive; sometimes they're dressed up enough so that it doesn't matter how monotonous the chordal and melodic structure are (this was done really well in Funeral), but in this album, no arrangement, no matter how decorative, could make these musical ideas work. It's just too repetitive. Maybe half the songs on the album could stand with a simpler arrangement. It's just too repetitive. The ornaments look pretty, but they're bringing down the branches of the tree. It's just too repetitive. It's just too repetitive. Expand
  58. ArthurD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    It takes a while to get and repeated listens definitely does help, but sadly it is not quite as good as their last album "Funeral". It has a couple of absolute classic songs that will stand the test of time "Black Wave/Bad Vibrations", "Keep the car Running", but I was kind of disappointed with the overall CD. Played live however, these songs really come alive.
  59. JoeS
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    I think people are being very overcritical on this album, perhaps because of what Funeral brought to us all. I like it, it's got some good anthems, some good imagaination - just not as much as Funeral did. That doesn't mean its a total fuck up! If we were going to get another masterpiece then I'd start questioning the bands human nature...So all in all: its really good.
  60. JohnM
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is nothing less than perfect and simply the best record out this year. It gushes with passion that will knock you sideways and leave you grasping for more- very rare in the rock world these days. I have not heard anything like it since the Blue Nile emerged.
  61. JayK
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    Solid enough form the Canadians but not a patch on Funeral. Interventions is really good but what the hell is it about?Thought war,religion but try as I might it just doesn't make coherent sense.No cars go great but heard it before.Cant remember any of the other song. I recommend that people move on...they've had their 15 mins..give bands like menomna your undivided attentation Solid enough form the Canadians but not a patch on Funeral. Interventions is really good but what the hell is it about?Thought war,religion but try as I might it just doesn't make coherent sense.No cars go great but heard it before.Cant remember any of the other song. I recommend that people move on...they've had their 15 mins..give bands like menomna your undivided attentation and leave commerical sell-outs(Its not their fault I know just whats happens) to entertain the dumb masses!! Expand
  62. andrea
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    best of 2007 and even better than funeral. yes, that apparently is possible.
  63. JoA.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and fresh. Best of the year.
  64. AdolfG.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Way better than funeral
  65. LeeteF.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    Well, this album is fine, but the producer fucked up for real. I HATE it when i have to try SO FUCKING HARD TO HEAR WHAT THE FUCK GOES ON WITH THE INSTRUMENTS!?!? Lyrics are fine, nice melodies and shit, but you can't just make instruments unhearable and.. indistinct (?).
  66. MichaelH.
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Absolutely beautiful and heart wrenching. The Arcade Fire manages to continue to get better with time, and Neon Bible is only the beginning I'm sure.
  67. fre
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Best album of 2007, a perfect collection.
  68. J.K.
    Dec 14, 2007
    7
    Straddling the line between mournful angst and pessimistic hope, Neon Bible will probably have something that can resonate with just about anyone. It doesn't really have anything original to say, either in content or execution, but the bluesy, poppy, and funeralistic mix on display here is easy to listen to and hard to resist for most of the album before it starts to feel overblown.
  69. AdamT
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    In order to completely and thouroughly appreciate Neon Bible, one has to put Funeral aside; comparisons between the two will only deter each others quality, as both are completely separate works created by the band in extremely different situations, and with completely different visions. With that said, Neon Bible, although not an easy first, second, or third listen, pays off, enormously; In order to completely and thouroughly appreciate Neon Bible, one has to put Funeral aside; comparisons between the two will only deter each others quality, as both are completely separate works created by the band in extremely different situations, and with completely different visions. With that said, Neon Bible, although not an easy first, second, or third listen, pays off, enormously; "Keep the Car Running" one of two first singles (?), is completely phenomenal, it's Neon Bibles' "(Power Out) in a sense, but so much more. Songs like "Ocean of Noise," "(Antichrist Television Blues)," represent Arcade Fire heading in a new direction, observers of the sociopoliticalreligious events taking place in the now, and what they see, they don't like. New instruments are implemented by the many- a hurdy gurdy is carried by Regine, and the church organ the band dug up works stunningly well to emphasize the grandness of the concepts Win tackles- sounding more and more epic with each turning track, the album needs a break: "Windowsill" sighs beautifully; its' eventual juxtaposition of dance drums with Wins' over-the-top melancholic lyircs brings a balance amidst drama. All 11 tracks weave and coincide well; "No Cars Go," which I personally thought was Arcade Fires' brilliance gone-bad choice of reincluding the song in the new album, proves me wrong, on the contrary, "No Cars Go" shows confidence the original version never could have, and improves the power of a million AFs' debut best. Ultimately, whether sounding like Bruce Springsteen, or indulging in sonic experimentation, Arcade Fire have made what we have expected- an album worthy to suceed Funeral- not only that, it brings the band to a new direction, opening new doors, as we see them able to write songs about more than childhood fantasies. Neon Bible is already my pick for 07's best, and it may as well stand the test of time-it's brilliant. Expand
  70. KyleN
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Truly a remarkable album that exceeded my expectations and will be there in the end for album of the year.
  71. MikeH
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    Great album, not as fast, but still incredible.
  72. Walabiz
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    The Arcade Fire, I'ill never stop loving you...
  73. MikeM
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Time will tell if AF's second LP is more timeless than Funeral, but what is for sure from listening to Neon Bible, is that this band is easily one of the best bands of the past 20 years.
  74. CarlosD
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Neon Bible reaffirms Arcade Fire's status as one of the most consistantly amazing bands of the last 20 years. Those expecting a Funeral clone will be disappointed though; Neon Bible takes a slower and darker approach.
  75. raelt
    Feb 20, 2007
    6
    Quite disapponting, but yet decent enough so that most critics will call it a masterpiece... I'll probably put it down in few days and go back to listening Funeral
  76. NeilP
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Beautiful
  77. wander
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    so great and beautiful like funeral welcome to the radiohead´s room, arcade!
  78. DaveH
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    A bit of a different direction than Funeral, but this group still makes an amazing record. Some people will call it Springsteen-like, but it's more that it's got some rock and roll tracks on it. Beautiful follow-up album.
  79. MichaelF
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    Incredible!
  80. dojd
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    adad
  81. JohnnyS
    Mar 12, 2007
    5
    Another average release from a mediocre band. There is simply a total lack of hooks or really anything solid to keep you coming back. No Cars Go is a good track though, if a little U2-ish.
  82. jaym
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    great, really good. give it a 10 (only because funeral gets a 10.5). Alot of the time I hate when cds get slowed right down with softer tracks, but theres a few on this one and they sync great with the album.
  83. ElizabethP
    Mar 13, 2007
    7
    Definitely musically/instrumentally good as "Funeral". The lyrics are better but that's about it. There are only 2 really solid songs on the album "Black MIrror" and "My Body is a Cage". I impatiently waited 3 years for the followup to "Funeral" and boy am I disappointed. The GREAT band from Montreal have gotten too comfortable with their critically acclaimed status and have settled Definitely musically/instrumentally good as "Funeral". The lyrics are better but that's about it. There are only 2 really solid songs on the album "Black MIrror" and "My Body is a Cage". I impatiently waited 3 years for the followup to "Funeral" and boy am I disappointed. The GREAT band from Montreal have gotten too comfortable with their critically acclaimed status and have settled for mediocrity. But I still listen to "Funeral" to remind myself what an epic band the Arcade Fire used to be. Expand
  84. LukeR
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    I listened to this album expecting another "Funeral", and it didn't do that, so the first listen was dissapointing. Subsequent listens really dawn on you the fact that this is not at all a bad thing, a really enjoyable album.
  85. JonP
    Mar 13, 2007
    5
    It must be nice to be a critically acclaimed band. The first album is at least an 8, while this languishes in the 5-6 range and yet it gets glowing reviews. It's boring. There is no Power Out. There is no Haiti. A colossal disappointment.
  86. MichaelC
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    I don't own Funeral, so I can't really rate their "new" sound. But man, this cd is amazing. So emotional you almost want to go in to mourning for all the trajedies sung about. Every song is beautifully written and composed. Easily one of the best groups to come out of the recent burst of canadian bands. This is what music should be. Turn off the radio, which only seems capable I don't own Funeral, so I can't really rate their "new" sound. But man, this cd is amazing. So emotional you almost want to go in to mourning for all the trajedies sung about. Every song is beautifully written and composed. Easily one of the best groups to come out of the recent burst of canadian bands. This is what music should be. Turn off the radio, which only seems capable of spewing out trash from Hinder and Nickleback, and dish out ten bucks for this. If you don't like it, you don't like rock or art (which music should be). Expand
  87. LS
    Mar 15, 2007
    5
    Not great, not bad
  88. MorganG
    Mar 16, 2007
    7
    BEWARE of the sophomore curse! A sadly, uninspiring CD. Arcade FIre, you can do better this!
  89. EthanS
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Wow. Just wow. Neon Bible has that certain something that all truly great albums somehow manage. More than being an easy favorite for Album of the year, Neon Bible may very well go down as Album of the Decade.
  90. EvanS
    Mar 17, 2007
    5
    A huge fan of Funeral, I just don't get this album. The band pulls the same rally cry intended to put you on your feet but left me scratching my head. Why must every song on this album end sound like a potential theme song for the Olympics? Pure cheese. They can do better.
  91. Andy
    Mar 17, 2007
    8
    Neon Bible doesn't hold gems like Crown of Love and Rebellion (Lies), but overall; it has many more great tracks. Slightly darker, almost goth, but it is one hell of an album.
  92. SteveD
    Mar 18, 2007
    9
    I will not enter the "funeral vs neon bible" argument for now as I feel that it is going to make for great conversation and debate 10-12 years from now. Probably in the same way that we now review definitely maybe and morning glory against each other or assess the bends against o.k computer. All I will say based on my first 8 or so listens is that the quality of musicianship on show here I will not enter the "funeral vs neon bible" argument for now as I feel that it is going to make for great conversation and debate 10-12 years from now. Probably in the same way that we now review definitely maybe and morning glory against each other or assess the bends against o.k computer. All I will say based on my first 8 or so listens is that the quality of musicianship on show here is of an astoundingly high level. The world-wide critical acclaim is justified and even this early in their career their place in history amongst rock music's elite seems assured. Expand
  93. sam
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    their transcendent qualities are evident even if this record isn't quite perfect.
  94. MihaiV
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Easily album of the year so far. They've done it again. This is music for the ages.
  95. MattM
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Brilliant follow-up perfectly captures the anxiety of our times.
  96. JoeG
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Not as immediately gripping as Funeral was, but after a few listens, I can honestly say that I prefer this to Funeral. The songs seem to have more focus, the album seems more connected, and the organ sounds incredible on the tracks they use it on.
  97. FredH
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    I can't be bored of this album...best of 2007 so far. Good second album... great lyric...great song wow!!! Watch out they're coming again !!!
  98. DubyaU
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and on par with Funeral. To everyone who says this band is undeserving of such praise should probably go get their ears checked.
  99. WallyZ
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Read the Playlouder review if you want a good laugh. To describe any song on this album as "bloody rubbish" is unbelievable! I cannot understand it. Like those who gave Kid A a bad review when that first came out, these reviewers will be made to eat their words. This is one of the greatest albums ever made. No exageration. Every track is brilliant. The passion Win Butler puts into his Read the Playlouder review if you want a good laugh. To describe any song on this album as "bloody rubbish" is unbelievable! I cannot understand it. Like those who gave Kid A a bad review when that first came out, these reviewers will be made to eat their words. This is one of the greatest albums ever made. No exageration. Every track is brilliant. The passion Win Butler puts into his songs is immense. If you picked out any one of these songs, it would be better than any song in the top 10 singles chart. I could not be happier with this follow up to the greatest album of all time, Funeral. Expand
  100. davew
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    fantastic live set in brixton
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So, Funeral was by no means a fluke. The Arcade Fire are unquestionably the real deal. And to prove it they’ve now thrown in another contender for ‘best record of the decade’.
  2. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]