Neon Bible

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 838 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 838

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    For a kid who grew up in a conservative evangelical home, this record speaks right to me. Heartbreaking and brilliant from the first track to the last. It's extremely difficult to rate an Arcade Fire over another, but this one definitely stands out.
  3. EliasK.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Doomsday never sounded so good.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Powerful album for powerful people. But, really, Neon Bible is a worthy sequel to Funeral. Pulling from many of the same angst filled areas as Funeral, it manages to craft an interesting and novel dialogue between the listener and the band. Engaging and well worth the time spent listening.

    8/10
  5. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Not as good as it's predecessor, but still relevant in their songwriting and progression as a band. I like how they get down with their darker side, where Funeral seems lighter with a bit more of a pop feel.
  6. BrianD.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Take 3 steps forward. Then take 6 steps backwards and drop a deuce where you stand. That's what Arcade Fire did in releasing this album as the follow up to Funeral.
  7. SylvioM
    Mar 7, 2007
    4
    So far the worst album them.
  8. danw
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and I've really tried to give it a chance. Expand
  9. borisr
    Mar 10, 2007
    3
    I was looking forward to this album, however there is nothing new or good here. The first album was powerful, emotional and brilliant. However, the lyrics here are base and do not provoke any kind of feeling or power; they are dreary and without any real purpose or meaning.
  10. Steve
    Mar 2, 2007
    0
    Why does this band get such high nods all the time. They are total crap.
  11. MikeB
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    I think I actually like Neon Bible more than Funeral. . .and that's saying something.
  12. What'stheHype
    Apr 8, 2007
    3
    These guys are borderline emo. Ugh... one of the song reminded me of Meat Loaf. Someone recommended them to me. Waste of my money.
  13. JeffK.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    Major hype going on here. The first album was terrific, partly because it hewed to the personal. Here, Win Butler's written songs about the world outside of himself. The lyrics are, to be kind, trite. They lack the authenticity and specificity of the best numbers on Funeral. And the music? No melodic hooks, which is okay if you replace it with something really original (listen to TV Major hype going on here. The first album was terrific, partly because it hewed to the personal. Here, Win Butler's written songs about the world outside of himself. The lyrics are, to be kind, trite. They lack the authenticity and specificity of the best numbers on Funeral. And the music? No melodic hooks, which is okay if you replace it with something really original (listen to TV on the Radio), here watered down, diluted and disparate references abound. It's all so vague, so much "oh the world is dark" posturing, it's all so perfectly unearned. Pretentious to the core. The exception is 'No Cars Go' which predates the Funeral material. Major, major disappointment. Expand
  14. anonymousy
    Oct 22, 2007
    5
    Not bad but not that great.
  15. BrianC
    Apr 18, 2007
    7
    Four listens in, I can't get into it. I'm not a fan of crystal-clear radio pop, but I just can't get into the production. I think The Arcade Fire had the element of surprise when they released the shockingly mournful "Funeral". For me, the songwriting and thematic elements don't quite match up, and sometimes fall flat. This album has some high moments, and some lows. I Four listens in, I can't get into it. I'm not a fan of crystal-clear radio pop, but I just can't get into the production. I think The Arcade Fire had the element of surprise when they released the shockingly mournful "Funeral". For me, the songwriting and thematic elements don't quite match up, and sometimes fall flat. This album has some high moments, and some lows. I can see the appeal, but this album is actually far less accessible than "Funeral" and just can't get on board. Rating: 7.3/10.0 Expand
  16. PaulC
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    This album is phenomenal. I'd almost go so far as to say its better than Funeral. Almost.
  17. tiffanyb
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    i love this band and there music
  18. matta
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely considered one the best albums of the decade so far. Anyway, this album is brilliant. Lyrically, it's probably an improvement on Funeral, and while it contains nothing that reaches quite the highs of tracks like "Crown of Love" or "Wake Up," it is just consistently good, if not moreso, than Funeral. "Black Mirror" "Intervention" "Ocean of Noise" and "The Well and the LIghthouse" are all gorgeous. The best album of the year so far. Expand
  19. Kelly'1'
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I finally understand the term 'art-rock'; and that term is not pretentious here. The most cohesive album since OK Computer
  20. SI
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    'Intervention' is a theatrical god send. The entire record is blasphemously grand.
  21. AaronN
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the heavier tunes ("My body is a cage" is stunning). It's clear that they tried hard to live up to the hype surrounding them, and they succeeded. Expand
  22. markb
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    I agree with one of the reviews that said this was much more "goth." It sounds a lot like Echo and the Bunnymen, but Echo and the Bunnymen's Ocean Songs is better. Good stuff, but more derivative than Funeral.
  23. DecepticonPom
    Mar 12, 2007
    8
    Wow - I think this has provoked the most polarised user comments of any album on Metacritic! Personally, not nearly as good as the flawless Funeral, but still gut wrenchingly honest and melancholly. A wonderful experience.
  24. madsl
    Mar 12, 2007
    5
    somehow the magic is gone even though its hard to pinpoint exactly what makes this a less fulfilling experience than its famed predecessor. Well maybe the songs just aren't strong enough...only No Cars Go and Keep the Car Running truly stand out, while the title track and My Body is a Cage are downright tedious. The lyrics are really tepid teenage angst musings and reek of somehow the magic is gone even though its hard to pinpoint exactly what makes this a less fulfilling experience than its famed predecessor. Well maybe the songs just aren't strong enough...only No Cars Go and Keep the Car Running truly stand out, while the title track and My Body is a Cage are downright tedious. The lyrics are really tepid teenage angst musings and reek of ill-conceived self-importance. The word, bloated, springs to mind... Expand
  25. JA
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    The music is magnificent, feels like an expansion of their debut sound, a lot darker, richer, and with much improved production. However, the lyrics are pretty bad in some songs. Some of the rhymes make me cringe, my least favorite existing in the title track. An improvement in some ways, a detraction in others. Still one of the greater releases so far this year.
  26. CrabsodyInBlue
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    Some people in this forum select 10 or 9 rating very easily. It's a very good album but it is not masterpiece. Which should be the rating for albums as The dark side of the moon, Highway to Hell, Ok Computer etc. etc then? 1000? 2000?
  27. PeterL
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Better? Worst? Simply different and as good as.
  28. t0nyS
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    imo, not as good as funeral, but then again, funeral took awhile for me to like it. At first listen i enjoyed it alot, hopefully as the listens build up it follows suite, much like funeral. I give it an 8, check it out!
  29. Mårten
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    If this is not a 10, I dont know what it! Its not Funeral, its better.
  30. Forreal
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Woah! ALbum of the year???
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So, Funeral was by no means a fluke. The Arcade Fire are unquestionably the real deal. And to prove it they’ve now thrown in another contender for ‘best record of the decade’.
  2. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]