Neon Bible

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 869 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 869

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    This is an album that displays everything wrong with today's society with a magnifying glass, yet manages to make the whole concept sound so beautiful and mesmerizing. All the bad effects of television, media, and religion are put on spotlight in this amazing record, accompanied by poetic songwriting and emotionally resonant musical production and vocals. This is not a mere album, but anThis is an album that displays everything wrong with today's society with a magnifying glass, yet manages to make the whole concept sound so beautiful and mesmerizing. All the bad effects of television, media, and religion are put on spotlight in this amazing record, accompanied by poetic songwriting and emotionally resonant musical production and vocals. This is not a mere album, but an odyssey to stand the test of time.

    Absolutely worth a purchase if you've any love for the art of music.
    Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    A soft and charming hug to the soul, illuminated with steady, eccentric and harmonic sounds and lyrics that ensemble joy, solitude and desperation. Honest as few, perfect as even less.
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    A fantastic album that encompasses such grand themes and lyricism that far outdo the competition today. An absolute masterpiece; lyrically, musically, thematically, and although vocally it isn't outstanding, that's almost the point... like the themes in their songs; nothing is perfect.
  4. May 9, 2014
    8
    A good sophomore effect by the spectacular indie rock band Arcade Fire. As vibrant as the sound goes this is the more centered album they have. It goes through Black Mirror an ambitious track that scales the lyrics with power but then you listen to intervention and you completely change your thoughts about the album. As soon as your done listening to the album the beautiful last minuteA good sophomore effect by the spectacular indie rock band Arcade Fire. As vibrant as the sound goes this is the more centered album they have. It goes through Black Mirror an ambitious track that scales the lyrics with power but then you listen to intervention and you completely change your thoughts about the album. As soon as your done listening to the album the beautiful last minute tracks No Cars Go and My Body is a Cage that stands out strongly till the end, great album to listen to. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. Maybe the lyrics of Will sometimes falls to the cold-hard ground, but the grandiosity of the sound and the orchestra itself picks it up. If you are a true listener of music, go ahead. If you don't really like the society you live in now, go ahead. If you're an atheist, or a Catholic who knows of the lies of priests, go ahead. You'll never regret it.
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    Arcade Fire’s sophomore release has a shaky beginning and a mid-album crisis, but is altogether a confirmation of the immense talent the Canadian band has shown on their debut and an establishment of them in the indie scene. Neon Bible isn’t the same as Funeral though: Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, and co. have got bleaker, but also clearer with their social criticism. As the album’s titleArcade Fire’s sophomore release has a shaky beginning and a mid-album crisis, but is altogether a confirmation of the immense talent the Canadian band has shown on their debut and an establishment of them in the indie scene. Neon Bible isn’t the same as Funeral though: Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, and co. have got bleaker, but also clearer with their social criticism. As the album’s title indicates, the eleven tracks primarily serve as condemnations of television and religion, whether it’s through the perspective of Joe Simpson, exploiting his children for his own purposes (“(Antichrist Television Blues)”), or a man addressing his father (“Windowsill”). The result is highly intelligent and interesting music and shows a lot of new aspects of Arcade Fire, some of them better than anything they’ve ever shown before. I don’t mind about not entirely enjoying every single song, as Neon Bible is a musical progression that prophesies a great future for the band – whatever future that might be. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    [9.8] Neon Bible is really Arcade Fire's fullest album in a retrospective sense. It has the powerful emotion of their first record, the cohesiveness of their style in general, and grandiosity which gives this album specifically the dark tone that makes it so god damn tense and exciting. If it weren't for just a small bit of underwhelming material, that certainly isn't bad, this might be a[9.8] Neon Bible is really Arcade Fire's fullest album in a retrospective sense. It has the powerful emotion of their first record, the cohesiveness of their style in general, and grandiosity which gives this album specifically the dark tone that makes it so god damn tense and exciting. If it weren't for just a small bit of underwhelming material, that certainly isn't bad, this might be a perfect album. The vocals are always tense, the strings sections, the organs, the guitars, and all of the other instruments are constantly exploding, and what really makes a statement is this album's lyrics. Taking on a seriously dark dystopian atmosphere, this album goes through some familiar territory with a generational paranoia. It's hard to point out flaws in this album unless you just don't care for this kind of music. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Powerful album for powerful people. But, really, Neon Bible is a worthy sequel to Funeral. Pulling from many of the same angst filled areas as Funeral, it manages to craft an interesting and novel dialogue between the listener and the band. Engaging and well worth the time spent listening.

    8/10
  9. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    Arcade Fire, trying to outshine Funeral, have created a melodramatic, overdone work. It has some good songs but just doesn't have the heart of Funeral.
  10. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Listen to it alone in the dark at night.
    My four personal favorite tracks: Keep the Car Running; Black Wave Bad Vibrations; Windowsill; No Cars Go.
    Enough said.
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    I consider myself an Arcade Fire fan but Neon Bible just lacks the amount of variety present on Funeral and The Suburbs. Neon Bible does have impressive orchestration especially in the new rendition of No Cars Go. But overall this album is lacking in songs that pop out and lacks the amazing variety that their other two albums have.
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Yes I'm writing this review in 2012, but now I've revisited this album after not giving it a fair chance the first time. I'm pleased to say that there is not a weak song on here. The other thing I like about it is the sense of cohesion and unity of mood that pervades. It really is a fun and engaging listen, and I daresay is my favorite AF album.
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The album is different from Funeral, darker than Funeral, but I do not believe weaker than Funeral. The songs are still powerful, still excellent. It isn't just a bunch of songs lumped together, as is so common - this is a real album, with a certain theme binding its tracks together.
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I think that Funeral is the best Arcade Fire's album, but Neon Bible is my favorite. It's no pretentious but ambitious. The band made a very good album.
  16. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    My favorite Arcade Fire and one of my favorite (if not the favorite) albums of all time. I loved so many songs off this album and imo this is Arcade Fire at their peak.
  17. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Easily their best work. I think people hate it so much because the entire album is pretty much saying "F" religion. While the band's sound is different, Its different in a good way. I loved this album.
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I think its hated on far too much because of how anti-religious this album is. Its not anti-religious in a bad way, Its merely saying that religion (while widely accepted) causes a lot more problems then what it is worth and that one day we will have to choose to keep it or abandond it. I loved this album and imo its the best album Arcade Fire put out.
  19. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Not as good as it's predecessor, but still relevant in their songwriting and progression as a band. I like how they get down with their darker side, where Funeral seems lighter with a bit more of a pop feel.
  20. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    It was always going to be impossible to follow up Funeral. Expectations on this album were probably a bit too high. It's actually quite a good album but where Funeral was fresh and vibrant, Neon Bible sounds a bit stale and jaded before it even gets going. Apparently the record was written while the band were still touring Funeral - which comes across on the record. The fact that one ofIt was always going to be impossible to follow up Funeral. Expectations on this album were probably a bit too high. It's actually quite a good album but where Funeral was fresh and vibrant, Neon Bible sounds a bit stale and jaded before it even gets going. Apparently the record was written while the band were still touring Funeral - which comes across on the record. The fact that one of the strongest tracks on it, No Cars Go, was hanging around for years illustrates this point. Still, if you take Funeral out of the equation (yes that's my 4th time mentioning it) and take this album on its own merits, it's well worth getting into and has some gems on it. The songwriting at times is a little bit pompous which takes away from the songs and the production is also a bit ott. Expand
  21. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    For a kid who grew up in a conservative evangelical home, this record speaks right to me. Heartbreaking and brilliant from the first track to the last. It's extremely difficult to rate an Arcade Fire over another, but this one definitely stands out.
  22. May 16, 2011
    9
    My least favourite Arcade Fire album, though still pretty outstanding... I love Black Mirror and My Body Is A Cage, though the only song that brings the score of this album down is Keep The Car Running
  23. May 12, 2011
    9
    i enjoyed listening to this album. it was great. i still got to listen to funeral. but i really do like this one a lot. it had some great songs on this record
  24. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    Following on from a fantastic debut record is always tough work but The Arcade Fire have passed the test with Neon Bible. At times it might lack the emotion and passion that was felt on Funeral, as the band has traded that sound for a heavier indie rock sound that utilises the distorted guitar much more than on Funeral. It also sounds a little overdone at times, such as on Black Wave BadFollowing on from a fantastic debut record is always tough work but The Arcade Fire have passed the test with Neon Bible. At times it might lack the emotion and passion that was felt on Funeral, as the band has traded that sound for a heavier indie rock sound that utilises the distorted guitar much more than on Funeral. It also sounds a little overdone at times, such as on Black Wave Bad Vibrations, which is a dark and overcrowded piece of music. However on tracks such as No Cars Go and Keep The Car Running there's an incredible amount of spirit and vibe that can only have you praising The Arcade Fire. It might not be the equivalent of Funeral, but overall it's a solid indie rock follow up.
    Best tracks: Keep The Car Running, The Well And The Lighthouse, No Cars Go
    Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Neon Bible is a joyous listen. Every song is absolutely magnificent. It was a great big step in the right direction from their first masterpiece Funeral. It's dark, perfectly written, compellingly instrumental and a beautiful voice from Win Butler. This album was my favorite album at one point. I could never stop listening to it. All In All, Neon Bible has some of my favorite songs of allNeon Bible is a joyous listen. Every song is absolutely magnificent. It was a great big step in the right direction from their first masterpiece Funeral. It's dark, perfectly written, compellingly instrumental and a beautiful voice from Win Butler. This album was my favorite album at one point. I could never stop listening to it. All In All, Neon Bible has some of my favorite songs of all time on it and its a fantastic album. Expand
  26. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Every single song in this album is amazing, everything is done perfectly. I still cannot decide which one I like more but this album defined a period of my life, I can't even imagine how many times I've listened to it.
  27. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    Because Funeral was just a complete and utter masterpiece, there is no way Arcade Fire can top their debut. It is said true here as it is not up to snuff with Funeral. Instead, they give a completely different sophomore effort. Instead of having a collection of atmospheric, haunting and heart felt songs from Funeral, they give a straightforward effort with a mixture of songs from theBecause Funeral was just a complete and utter masterpiece, there is no way Arcade Fire can top their debut. It is said true here as it is not up to snuff with Funeral. Instead, they give a completely different sophomore effort. Instead of having a collection of atmospheric, haunting and heart felt songs from Funeral, they give a straightforward effort with a mixture of songs from the jangly pop jives, the dark but grandiose and to the absolute energetic. It is a definite listen and an easy one at that as it is Arcade Fire's easily listen able but also a darker, more frontal experience. Expand
  28. TiagoA.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Another great album from this wonderful band.
  29. MichaelH.
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    Absolutely beautiful and heart wrenching. The Arcade Fire manages to continue to get better with time, and Neon Bible is only the beginning I'm sure.
  30. ShyA
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    But FUNERAL is better....but this is great album with some great songs:intervention,no cars go,windowsill.
  31. StefanieL
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best albums ever. A huge variation of different Instruments, including a organ, make their music powerful and captivating. Moreover with "My Body is a cage" they wrote one of the most powerful and most beautiful songs ever.
  32. TaniaC.
    Sep 24, 2008
    8
    I think it very good, with lovely tunes and songs that stick to your head for days
  33. SethA.
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    This album has some of the best lyrics ever written. What passionate poetry, at its best!
  34. KlausV
    May 27, 2008
    6
    The intro Black Mirror and title track are the only bright spots on this album, the rest is forgettable blackness.
  35. Stevio
    Apr 28, 2008
    4
    Completely over-rated. Some original sounds but clumsy adolescent lyrics which are embarrassing to listen to.
  36. LeeteF.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    Well, this album is fine, but the producer fucked up for real. I HATE it when i have to try SO FUCKING HARD TO HEAR WHAT THE FUCK GOES ON WITH THE INSTRUMENTS!?!? Lyrics are fine, nice melodies and shit, but you can't just make instruments unhearable and.. indistinct (?).
  37. RichK.
    Apr 11, 2008
    6
    The album, I felt was so overrated. There are so many other albums that exceeded to be considered as the best album of the year.
  38. BobBob
    Feb 24, 2008
    6
    I don't get this albums high praise. The song Neon Bible just seems slow and unmoving. I like the no Cars Go song, but what else. For new stuff this year give me Of Montreal or LCD.
  39. AdolfG.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Way better than funeral
  40. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    It is so unexpected, so willing to connect with you, so unbelievably gorgeous, that you're blown away.
  41. ColinB.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    Phenomenal. Every song is a delicate masterpiece---they would fail with most other bands, but Butler's dark, anguished vocals along with a pitch-perfect instrumental balance make them memorable. "Keep the Car Running" may be the track of the century. It's the song equivalent of vanilla ice cream...so simple, yet so refreshingly rewarding. "Windowsill," "Intervention," and "No Phenomenal. Every song is a delicate masterpiece---they would fail with most other bands, but Butler's dark, anguished vocals along with a pitch-perfect instrumental balance make them memorable. "Keep the Car Running" may be the track of the century. It's the song equivalent of vanilla ice cream...so simple, yet so refreshingly rewarding. "Windowsill," "Intervention," and "No Cars Go" are also standouts, but they are still just the highlights of a mighty, mighty album--better than "Funeral" and every other album of 2007! Expand
  42. AidanK
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    I rarely give albums 10/10 but this one is truely worth it, the songs are all big, ambitious and loud, absolutely amazing
  43. NeonB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece, one of the best in decade and in my opinion even better than Funeral. I enjoy every single piece of it.
  44. FogulS
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    you had me worried, so worried that things would burst, but they didn't.
  45. WesleyM.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing follow-up.
  46. AlexP
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    I'm really surprised about some of the reviews here. They only compare it to Funeral, which although was the better album, Neon Bible comes only just short of it. With their grand compositions coming through full throttle, the Arcade Fire led by Win Butler shines. "Intervention" is as dramatic and powerful a song as anything you'll hear this year, while my favorite song "Keep I'm really surprised about some of the reviews here. They only compare it to Funeral, which although was the better album, Neon Bible comes only just short of it. With their grand compositions coming through full throttle, the Arcade Fire led by Win Butler shines. "Intervention" is as dramatic and powerful a song as anything you'll hear this year, while my favorite song "Keep The Car Running" blends an almost folky sound with the early work of their idol, Bruce. 2nd best album of 2007 (Only after MIA's Kala) Expand
  47. JimH
    Dec 28, 2007
    6
    Disappointingly mundane follow-up that makes me think that I overestimated its predecessor. This has some good songs toward the end but this seems like a band that's already losing momentum.
  48. Francesco
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    I think in some ways it's even better than Funeral. And that's a lot to say.
  49. J.K.
    Dec 14, 2007
    7
    Straddling the line between mournful angst and pessimistic hope, Neon Bible will probably have something that can resonate with just about anyone. It doesn't really have anything original to say, either in content or execution, but the bluesy, poppy, and funeralistic mix on display here is easy to listen to and hard to resist for most of the album before it starts to feel overblown.
  50. DavidF.
    Dec 5, 2007
    6
    If this record came out before Funeral people would not have thought nearly as highly of it. For me, it lacks the energy it's predecessor has. The album is okay, but nothing special.
  51. RJM.
    Nov 10, 2007
    4
    stupid stupid stupid. vacuous social commentary. even worse production. funeral had a few good moments; this has fewer.
  52. BrianD.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Take 3 steps forward. Then take 6 steps backwards and drop a deuce where you stand. That's what Arcade Fire did in releasing this album as the follow up to Funeral.
  53. BrettB
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Ive only just discovered this gem..........I listened to Funeral after hearing this..........what great talents and hopefully more to come...........truly the best release for 2007 so far.....
  54. anonymousy
    Oct 22, 2007
    5
    Not bad but not that great.
  55. fre
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Best album of 2007, a perfect collection.
  56. danw
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and I've really tried to give it a chance. Expand
  57. andrea
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    best of 2007 and even better than funeral. yes, that apparently is possible.
  58. SteveO.
    Sep 25, 2007
    4
    I feel like I'm not in the cool club here. I bought this hoping for something earth shattering and found it only average - in fact from the first song I didn't like it. The comparison is less Talking Heads art rock and more Black 47 via Springsteen, but without the heart to back up the social commentary.
  59. luke
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    enjoyable. half of the songs are too springsteen for my taste, but the remainder makes up for it. I can also hear some roger waters and pulp sound strangely enough. This album could be on my top five by the end of the year.
  60. MikeS.
    Sep 19, 2007
    0
    I loved their live show back in 2003 with The Unicorns. enjoyed a few songs on that ep. disappointed with Funeral. this one justs falls flat. even the remake for "no cars go" was pointless.
  61. JoA.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and fresh. Best of the year.
  62. JeffK.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    Major hype going on here. The first album was terrific, partly because it hewed to the personal. Here, Win Butler's written songs about the world outside of himself. The lyrics are, to be kind, trite. They lack the authenticity and specificity of the best numbers on Funeral. And the music? No melodic hooks, which is okay if you replace it with something really original (listen to TV Major hype going on here. The first album was terrific, partly because it hewed to the personal. Here, Win Butler's written songs about the world outside of himself. The lyrics are, to be kind, trite. They lack the authenticity and specificity of the best numbers on Funeral. And the music? No melodic hooks, which is okay if you replace it with something really original (listen to TV on the Radio), here watered down, diluted and disparate references abound. It's all so vague, so much "oh the world is dark" posturing, it's all so perfectly unearned. Pretentious to the core. The exception is 'No Cars Go' which predates the Funeral material. Major, major disappointment. Expand
  63. DanielC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Highly recommended.
  64. Scott
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard in 10 years. This album reminds me of a soundtrack to a much darker Jim Henson Productions movie and that makes it old and new to me. Over-hyped? Only if you were that newbie Indie kid that latched on and now they are getting too big for your Indie ears. Well, guess what, memorable, great music of this level is only generated every decade or so and it's bound to break out of its indie roots. And to those older folks that quibble over which song of Bob Dylan's was the best, don't over-analyze this album. Funeral was perfect and Neon Bible is too. I am almost expecting their third release to be just as quality, if not perfect as well. WOOT. Buy this album. Expand
  65. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    It hits the spot right on. Great albume and shows that this band has lots going for it.
  66. HollisG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    6
    Good album, but I feel like Arcade Fire expanded on and explored all the things about them that I didn't really dig, rather than move in a more daring, explosive direction. I wanted to love this album, I really did. But I suppose the final test is that I really just don't listen to it that much.
  67. rubenn.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    excelent
  68. DouglasD.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    After The Radiohead Age, came the The Arcade Fire Age. It's hard to compare Neon Bible to Funeral, but, after several auditions, the comparison is over. NB is a great solid album and the new version of No Cars Go is wonderful.
  69. RG
    Jul 26, 2007
    7
    Funeral is one of my fav records of the recent years and a lot of hype surrounded this and it kinda delivers and kinda doesnt. the first album i thought was very well balanced around a centerpiece, whereas this is sonically going for one sound. certain misteps creep through mainly in the production but the songs are still solid. the first 4 trax are perfectly aligned and build on each Funeral is one of my fav records of the recent years and a lot of hype surrounded this and it kinda delivers and kinda doesnt. the first album i thought was very well balanced around a centerpiece, whereas this is sonically going for one sound. certain misteps creep through mainly in the production but the songs are still solid. the first 4 trax are perfectly aligned and build on each other and then comes 'black wave/bad vibrations', which does not build on whats already been heard. the next songs go everywhere and even the themes get a little repetitive. 'no cars go' is a great song between some really not so good tracks and the finisher kinda sums up the album with a haunting sound making me wish some other songs were this grand. Expand
  70. J.B.
    Jul 24, 2007
    5
    Solid descibes it best; over-hyped - yes; boring - no
  71. JayK
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    Solid enough form the Canadians but not a patch on Funeral. Interventions is really good but what the hell is it about?Thought war,religion but try as I might it just doesn't make coherent sense.No cars go great but heard it before.Cant remember any of the other song. I recommend that people move on...they've had their 15 mins..give bands like menomna your undivided attentation Solid enough form the Canadians but not a patch on Funeral. Interventions is really good but what the hell is it about?Thought war,religion but try as I might it just doesn't make coherent sense.No cars go great but heard it before.Cant remember any of the other song. I recommend that people move on...they've had their 15 mins..give bands like menomna your undivided attentation and leave commerical sell-outs(Its not their fault I know just whats happens) to entertain the dumb masses!! Expand
  72. JohnM
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is nothing less than perfect and simply the best record out this year. It gushes with passion that will knock you sideways and leave you grasping for more- very rare in the rock world these days. I have not heard anything like it since the Blue Nile emerged.
  73. WilliamL.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    What can be further stated concerning the exceptional brilliance behind Arcade Fire
  74. DarkDaylight
    Jul 11, 2007
    0
    the most over rated band in years
  75. Jeff
    Jul 5, 2007
    1
    I definitely don't understand all the hype. I listen to lots of music and have listened to this CD about a dozen times and all I can describe it as is boring. I wanted to like it. Based on everything I read I was excited to listen...but I think it's garbage.
  76. Mike
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Read the reviews and hype about this ablum. So I bought it..... And WOW!!! I have never heard anything more emotional in my life before! Every song is so well thought out, Perfect 10!!! I am now an Arcade Fire FAN!!
  77. ClaireJ.
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    This album rewards the music fan who is interested in originality and a big art-rock sound. It just keeps growing on me -- I listened to it twice before bumping it up to a rating of 8, then it was up to a 9, and every time I've listened since, I find more musicality and a deeper groove to these unusual tracks.
  78. BrianH.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    The disc is aging like a good wine. Not only does this band deserve the hype, it should be a requirement for any music fan to see them live once in thier life. Amazing LP.
  79. JordanK
    Jun 13, 2007
    5
    I appreciate what they're trying to do and what they stand for. But I can't stand their songwriting. The musical ideas are simple and repetitive; sometimes they're dressed up enough so that it doesn't matter how monotonous the chordal and melodic structure are (this was done really well in Funeral), but in this album, no arrangement, no matter how decorative, could I appreciate what they're trying to do and what they stand for. But I can't stand their songwriting. The musical ideas are simple and repetitive; sometimes they're dressed up enough so that it doesn't matter how monotonous the chordal and melodic structure are (this was done really well in Funeral), but in this album, no arrangement, no matter how decorative, could make these musical ideas work. It's just too repetitive. Maybe half the songs on the album could stand with a simpler arrangement. It's just too repetitive. The ornaments look pretty, but they're bringing down the branches of the tree. It's just too repetitive. It's just too repetitive. Expand
  80. AndrewC.
    Jun 5, 2007
    6
    This album is overrated. It's better than Funeral, but it's not that special. I particularly enjoy two tracks off the album - "Where no cars go" which is a rip off of Prefab Sprout's King Of Rock n' Roll, and Antichrist Television Blues, which is a great tribute to Bruce Springsteen.
  81. JoeS
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    I think people are being very overcritical on this album, perhaps because of what Funeral brought to us all. I like it, it's got some good anthems, some good imagaination - just not as much as Funeral did. That doesn't mean its a total fuck up! If we were going to get another masterpiece then I'd start questioning the bands human nature...So all in all: its really good.
  82. ArthurD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    It takes a while to get and repeated listens definitely does help, but sadly it is not quite as good as their last album "Funeral". It has a couple of absolute classic songs that will stand the test of time "Black Wave/Bad Vibrations", "Keep the car Running", but I was kind of disappointed with the overall CD. Played live however, these songs really come alive.
  83. MikeA
    May 29, 2007
    6
    I just don't understand the hype over this band. This disc, like their debut is interesting, but not deserving of the accolades it seems to be getting.
  84. MattB
    May 28, 2007
    10
    If you can't understand why this album is amazing, give up on life and buy every boy-band album you can find.
  85. DylanS
    May 28, 2007
    10
    It's no Funeral, but Neon Bible is a stand alone masterpiece in it's own right. Perfect in every way, it may just take a few listens, because of how differently the Arcade Fire are trying to sonically get their message across (at least compared to Funeral). There's not one poor quality track on the entire CD, even the "duds" are better than a lot of key tracks on other It's no Funeral, but Neon Bible is a stand alone masterpiece in it's own right. Perfect in every way, it may just take a few listens, because of how differently the Arcade Fire are trying to sonically get their message across (at least compared to Funeral). There's not one poor quality track on the entire CD, even the "duds" are better than a lot of key tracks on other discs released this year. Get this Album. Expand
  86. Fel.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, one of the best records i have ever heard!
  87. BrianW
    May 24, 2007
    9
    This album's definitely a grower. It might not be as instantly genius as their debut, but it's still a stellar set of songs, with a lot of fantastic moments that other rock bands could never create. I don't really understand all the bitching about this one.
  88. Oligami
    May 20, 2007
    8
    Certainly not better than Funeral (how could it?), but it has its moments.
  89. Shootsy
    May 17, 2007
    0
    universal acclaim? ahahahah...I mean c'mon. Music like this has died 25 years ago and the snake's been biting his tail since then. Crap music made by crappy musicians for even crappier listeners. Unbelievable.
  90. JayW
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Honestly, I think this is the best album released this year. Pretty freaking awesome. I just really like it in every way. Catchy, yet experimental tunes.
  91. BenK
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Best album of 2007 so far. It's the effing sex. Are we allowed to say fuck on here? Well anyhoo, it's amazing. I love the epic sound to all of their songs.
  92. JonT
    May 9, 2007
    10
    Matthew C are you a music critic or just a musician? Your review is inspirational. You have clearly done your research on this album. Its rare to see a review that speaks directly to the heart, but your review is the best I have ever seen. Your review has inspired me to become a journalist and I know that I can succeed if I develop one tenth of the literary and critical analysis skills Matthew C are you a music critic or just a musician? Your review is inspirational. You have clearly done your research on this album. Its rare to see a review that speaks directly to the heart, but your review is the best I have ever seen. Your review has inspired me to become a journalist and I know that I can succeed if I develop one tenth of the literary and critical analysis skills you posess. Hats off to you. There is one thing I disagree with in the opening paragraph of your review though. "Boo" is a bit harsh. Otherwise brilliant stuff. Expand
  93. AndrewP
    May 9, 2007
    7
    Intervention is great. Aside from that, there is good, and there is bad. Pitchfork got it right, the lyrics are very clunky and detract from the music (Black Mirror). I just don't understand the obsession with this release, as it is clearly inferior to Funeral.
  94. MatthewC
    May 5, 2007
    0
    Boo
  95. JackC
    May 3, 2007
    10
    By God this is brilliant. Funeral was great (Power Out, anyone?) but lacked consistency. On here, just about every song is a complete winner. The new version of No Cars Go, Keep the Car Running, Antichrist Television Blues... so many reasons to love this album.
  96. Owen
    May 3, 2007
    7
    Loved Funeral. Album of the year certainly, and as Hot Press say, contender for album of the decade. Some great tracks here too, but it over-whelms me a bit, the title track is atrocious, and I can't swallow the trite anti-church lyric on Intervention. It will still get spun, but a little disappointing.
  97. HalleyP
    May 2, 2007
    10
    There are 5 albums on this earth that I consider to be the only existing masterworks. Bob Dylan's "Blood on the Tracks", The Beatles "abby Road", Miles Davis " Kind of Blue", Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks", and.... THE ARCADE FIRE'S ***NEON BIBLE***
  98. tbone
    Apr 29, 2007
    4
    Ugg. So many bad things to say. Like Destroyer and New Pornographers, you gotta either love em or hate em. I don't buy the schtick. barely veiled ripoffs of better artists. Too many gimicks. Overly bombastic. Pam Anderson remains the best thing to come out of Canada by alot.
  99. MattG
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    I am going to say that as far as I'm concerned Arcade Fire are the best band I have heard since I discovered REM in the mid 80's. Funeral was possibly my favourite album of all time, and when I first heard Neon Bible I liked it, but it was an 8/10 at best. Since then I have listened to it continuosly (almost every day) for over a month, and it has moved up to a 9, and now a I am going to say that as far as I'm concerned Arcade Fire are the best band I have heard since I discovered REM in the mid 80's. Funeral was possibly my favourite album of all time, and when I first heard Neon Bible I liked it, but it was an 8/10 at best. Since then I have listened to it continuosly (almost every day) for over a month, and it has moved up to a 9, and now a definite 10. This album just keeps getting better and better with every listen, and that is the true sign of a classic album. I'm even debating now whether I might actually end up putting it ahead of Funeral. Unbelievable! I feel sorry for those people who gave this album a couple of listens and wrote it off as a disappointment. Whack on some headphones, turn the volume up and let this cracker of an album reveal it's charms. It will be well worth your while. Expand
  100. JustinS
    Apr 27, 2007
    7
    A pretty good sophmore effort. Most of the tracks are pretty good, but there's nothing that really stands out like on their from album like "Lies" or "Neighborhood #1". "Intervention" is really the only track that capture the magic from "Funeral".
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So, Funeral was by no means a fluke. The Arcade Fire are unquestionably the real deal. And to prove it they’ve now thrown in another contender for ‘best record of the decade’.
  2. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]