• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Neon Bible Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 881 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One of the most anticipated releases of 2007 is this second album from Montreal's Arcade Fire, the Win Butler- and Regine Chassagne-led band that won over bloggers, critics, and, ultimately, fans with their 2004 debut 'Funeral.'

Top Track

Keep The Car Running
Every night my dream's the same Same old city with a different name Men are coming to take me away I don't know why, but I know I can't stay There's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  2. Q Magazine
    100
    A magical kingdom of noise that's equal parts Disney's Fantasia and Echo & The Bunnymen's lavish Ocean Rain. [Apr 2007, p.107]
  3. In the bleakest songs, the polyphonic swirl of strings, horns, and voices... points toward transcendence.
  4. Although they've expanded their sound, the Arcade Fire's transition into extroversion isn't always smooth or graceful. Neon Bible is full of clunky lyrics, revealing Butler's tendency to overstate and sensationalize.
  5. Billboard
    80
    Bombast occasionally gets the better of the songwriting, but that's a small complaint on an album that gets nearly everything just right. [10 Mar 2007]
  6. If "Neon Bible" doesn't quite dazzle as "Funeral" did, that's more a measure of the latter album's benchmark brilliance, rather than the inferiority of the former.
  7. This veers between quite good and bloody rubbish with only a couple of flashes of brilliance here or there.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 337
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter ofA truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  2. Kelly'1'
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I finally understand the term 'art-rock'; and that term is not pretentious here. The most cohesive album since OK Computer
  3. EvanB
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    BEST album of the year by far! Neon Bible has been in my car for over 1 month straight and is the only thing I have listened to! It will BEST album of the year by far! Neon Bible has been in my car for over 1 month straight and is the only thing I have listened to! It will probably be there for another month or two! Only gets better with repeated listens! Expand
  4. MikeH
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    Great album, not as fast, but still incredible.
  5. markd
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    As with Funeral this lacks consistancy throughout the whole album. Ther's 4 or 5 truly great songs, a couple of good songs and 3 or 4 As with Funeral this lacks consistancy throughout the whole album. Ther's 4 or 5 truly great songs, a couple of good songs and 3 or 4 forgettable ones. When they get it right, however, they are nothing short of staggeringly glorious. They write songs so powerful and passionate that you feel like you've been emotionaly punched in the gut and they do it with originality and subtlety. I honestly couldn't see any other band today writing "Intervention" or "No Cars Go". Who'd have thought a church organ could be so emotive, a new version of one of their old songs (No Cars Go) would be one of their their finest moments or that some songs would sound like Springstein? They are full of surprises and the fact that they don't fit into any genre and that they write everything including the orchestral bits makes them just about in a legue of their own. All they need to do now is write their very own OK Computer or Automatic for the People and they will truly be one of the greats! Expand
  6. Owen
    May 3, 2007
    7
    Loved Funeral. Album of the year certainly, and as Hot Press say, contender for album of the decade. Some great tracks here too, but it Loved Funeral. Album of the year certainly, and as Hot Press say, contender for album of the decade. Some great tracks here too, but it over-whelms me a bit, the title track is atrocious, and I can't swallow the trite anti-church lyric on Intervention. It will still get spun, but a little disappointing. Expand
  7. Steve
    Mar 2, 2007
    0
    Why does this band get such high nods all the time. They are total crap.

See all 337 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?