Neon Bible - Arcade Fire
Neon Bible Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 781 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One of the most anticipated releases of 2007 is this second album from Montreal's Arcade Fire, the Win Butler- and Regine Chassagne-led band that won over bloggers, critics, and, ultimately, fans with their 2004 debut 'Funeral.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The music is beautiful, spiritual, intense, fun and, as Lester Bangs once called the Clash, righteous.
  2. A rewarding, resonant album, Neon Bible ranks among the best indie rock recordings of all time.
  3. In the bleakest songs, the polyphonic swirl of strings, horns, and voices... points toward transcendence.
  4. Although they've expanded their sound, the Arcade Fire's transition into extroversion isn't always smooth or graceful. Neon Bible is full of clunky lyrics, revealing Butler's tendency to overstate and sensationalize.
  5. While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]
  6. Bombast occasionally gets the better of the songwriting, but that's a small complaint on an album that gets nearly everything just right. [10 Mar 2007]
  7. This veers between quite good and bloody rubbish with only a couple of flashes of brilliance here or there.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 335
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Collapse
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    My favorite Arcade Fire and one of my favorite (if not the favorite) albums of all time. I loved so many songs off this album and imo this is Arcade Fire at their peak. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. Maybe the lyrics of Will sometimes falls to the cold-hard ground, but the grandiosity of the sound and the orchestra itself picks it up. If you are a true listener of music, go ahead. If you don't really like the society you live in now, go ahead. If you're an atheist, or a Catholic who knows of the lies of priests, go ahead. You'll never regret it. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    Because Funeral was just a complete and utter masterpiece, there is no way Arcade Fire can top their debut. It is said true here as it is not up to snuff with Funeral. Instead, they give a completely different sophomore effort. Instead of having a collection of atmospheric, haunting and heart felt songs from Funeral, they give a straightforward effort with a mixture of songs from the jangly pop jives, the dark but grandiose and to the absolute energetic. It is a definite listen and an easy one at that as it is Arcade Fire's easily listen able but also a darker, more frontal experience. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    [9.8] Neon Bible is really Arcade Fire's fullest album in a retrospective sense. It has the powerful emotion of their first record, the cohesiveness of their style in general, and grandiosity which gives this album specifically the dark tone that makes it so god damn tense and exciting. If it weren't for just a small bit of underwhelming material, that certainly isn't bad, this might be a perfect album. The vocals are always tense, the strings sections, the organs, the guitars, and all of the other instruments are constantly exploding, and what really makes a statement is this album's lyrics. Taking on a seriously dark dystopian atmosphere, this album goes through some familiar territory with a generational paranoia. It's hard to point out flaws in this album unless you just don't care for this kind of music. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I think its hated on far too much because of how anti-religious this album is. Its not anti-religious in a bad way, Its merely saying that religion (while widely accepted) causes a lot more problems then what it is worth and that one day we will have to choose to keep it or abandond it. I loved this album and imo its the best album Arcade Fire put out. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    I consider myself an Arcade Fire fan but Neon Bible just lacks the amount of variety present on Funeral and The Suburbs. Neon Bible does have impressive orchestration especially in the new rendition of No Cars Go. But overall this album is lacking in songs that pop out and lacks the amazing variety that their other two albums have. Expand

See all 335 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?