Never Gone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2005
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 103
  2. Negative: 38 out of 103

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TiffL
    Dec 8, 2005
    7
    After taking a five year hiatus, the Backstreet Boys are back with a new album sounding a little older but wiser. Appropriately named, Never Gone, this album shows a lot of growth that the Backstreet boys have done. I saw appropriately named Never Gone because they might
  2. JaimeS
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    I loved it !!
  3. AstghikB
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    This album does ROCK!!! It shows that the boys are here to stay and will never be gone. They have put a album together that any age will love to hear. If you are 5 or 95 there is something on this album that you will love and trust me you will love it!
  4. VICKYK
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    Guys you did the best job ever..Keep going!!!
  5. Mark
    Aug 20, 2005
    9
    So much better than their early stuff, this is more like it. All the critics are sad to be honest. This album is a turn to the best for the band.
  6. alyl
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I love the backstreet boys,i luved them since forever i luv there old c.ds and there new c.ds and whoever dont lik them o well
  7. JedL
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Everyone put their pride asside and admit it: the songs are catchy and many rock ballds are respectable. Climbing the Walls for instance would be getting raves by all had it not been labled a BSB song. Just Want You To Know reminds me of Kelly Clarksons hit Since U Been Gone and Poster Girl is perfect R&B/. Great work, I dont see what everyone is booing about.
  8. Josh
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This album is awesome! Every song is great!
  9. TreyH
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    It's not just that the harmonies are as striking as they once were- what's really astonishing is the sheer depth. Probably the most moving album of the last 20 years.
  10. RanjithD
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    The music is absolutely fanatstic. I have always been a BSB fan and I am glad that they are back. The music is smooth and relaxed. The lyrics are wonderfull (trademark BSB's). It's good to hear them after 5 years. I give it 10.
  11. LestatB
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Essential! Do yourself a favour and trade your new Sufjan Stevens and your New Pornographers for these excelent collection from one of the biggest band of the 90s. On second thought, you should probably keep your precious indie rock cds since they definitely sell more albums than all your top ten of 2005 list combined.
  12. zos
    May 29, 2006
    10
    The best cd ever!!, this album is gr8 every song speaks for itself, the guyz have such awesome voices that have matured and have gotten even better!!, BSB ALWAYZ AND FOREVER!!!
  13. MichelleM.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    The Backstreet Boys are the best. Their cd, Never Gone ruled!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will always be a BSB fan.
  14. britaa
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic album... I really love it... The boys are back in style... It really shows that they have all grow... Keep up the good work guys... KTBSBPA
  15. AlexS.
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    A very good album, with a very good sound and amazing lyrics; One of the best Cd by Backstreet Boys
  16. RichT
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    Watch out Beatles and Radiohead! These are no longer boys, but men. The only thing stopping them from becoming great is their inability to play instruments or sing well, but that should come with practice.
  17. DF
    Aug 21, 2005
    8
    You know what, guys? Take it for what it is. This album may not break new ground or set new standards, but it is a great listen from start to finish.
  18. esmem
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    muy buenisimo el disco!!!
  19. Segageek
    Aug 25, 2005
    8
    I didnt expect much from this album but it surprised me, it has some good songs, crawling the walls, Incomplete were excellent songs. Not a bad pop album overall however a few bland songs that were pretty much fillers aka Weird World, which seemed effortless and emotrionaless. But overall i highley reccomend this album
  20. SuzanneC
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    I really did think that this was quite a nice relaxed album to listen to, with song lyrics that if you have ever been in love, you can actually relate to
  21. AdamM
    Sep 17, 2005
    8
    Excellent BSB CD
  22. ShailS
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    an excellent album!!!! after reading the reviews soon after the release of the album i was kinda surprised and thought myself to listen to it. but it has proved all it critics wrong coz critics have no other job to do than to criticise.so guys dont listen to critics but to backstreet boys. the guys sound much mature a very true fact.specially nick n brian.the songs like climbing the walls an excellent album!!!! after reading the reviews soon after the release of the album i was kinda surprised and thought myself to listen to it. but it has proved all it critics wrong coz critics have no other job to do than to criticise.so guys dont listen to critics but to backstreet boys. the guys sound much mature a very true fact.specially nick n brian.the songs like climbing the walls , i still, incomplete, safest place to hide, crawling back to you are sufficiently enough to answer all its critics. i hope to see more of backstreet boys soon. Expand
  23. nayantaras
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    loved it i dnt give a damn to all trhe critics this cd is awesome!!!!!!
  24. Juliet
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    I've been a Backstreet fan since the beginning; and though there sound has matured a bit I still love them just as much, if not more. Every song is just as easy to sing along to, even if some of them sound incredibly similar. Loved it!
  25. ShineB
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    Greate. not pop, not rock. Unusual and original. Very Strong music.
  26. AllisonB
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    As a BSB fan, I was very pleased with this album after waiting years for another. This album definitely shows a more mature side to the guys, and I do like the direction they took. As a metal and hardcore fan, I can honestly say I like the mellow songs on this album, and I would recommend it to any BSB fan or to anyone who just needs something to relax to.
  27. AliciaZ
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    I'm a pop fan, and the Boys will always be my favorite...this is an album that deserves to be up there with *Millennium* (except that people refuse to give them a chance...). It's great to hear music that enfolds values rather than the horrible rap songs that are flooding the radio nowadays...amazing album--I would suggest it to anyone, even if you didn't like their old I'm a pop fan, and the Boys will always be my favorite...this is an album that deserves to be up there with *Millennium* (except that people refuse to give them a chance...). It's great to hear music that enfolds values rather than the horrible rap songs that are flooding the radio nowadays...amazing album--I would suggest it to anyone, even if you didn't like their old stuff...you might be suprised. Expand
  28. firstlast
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    better than millennium
  29. MikeyV
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    Absolute genius. It takes a few listens to really appreciate the subtleties on this album but it's worth it. The BBs will change your life. Really.
  30. HughG
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    This is awesome and the boys have grown up to be M.E.N.!
  31. JessB
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    this iz tha best album ive evr heard it totally rox!
  32. LyonellG
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    This album is great. Good car music to jam with.
  33. NRS
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. This is a work of astonishing depth and melodic complexity. The most vital album of the year.
  34. Saurav
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Excellent maturity shown by the band. Their music has grown with them and the songs are a good mix of pop,rock and R&B while maintaining their originality. This album shows rhat BSB is ready for a second innings.
  35. DawnL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it was a great album for a comeback.
  36. mohamadm
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    that is more wonderful than i think.
  37. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    I've listened to all of the Backstreet Boys albums,and this one is possibly their best,depending on how one views Millenium.Their sound here is more mature but still melodic and pleasant,rather than the heavily-electronic dance music their most recent two albums have been.They've clearly shed their poppy roots and are embracing adulthood here,but while I found the tone of it somewhatI've listened to all of the Backstreet Boys albums,and this one is possibly their best,depending on how one views Millenium.Their sound here is more mature but still melodic and pleasant,rather than the heavily-electronic dance music their most recent two albums have been.They've clearly shed their poppy roots and are embracing adulthood here,but while I found the tone of it somewhat unsure of itself,it wasn't ever **** or trying too hard to prove itself.The Boys teamed up with popular adult contemporary composers and artists they admired,like Darren Hayes from Savage Garden and one of the members of Train,to create a more adult contemporary style that embraced a very different set of sounds than their previous albums;whereas their previous releases had had a fair amount of electronic melodies mixed in with some light acoustic sounds,this one went almost entirely acoustic,and the new palette of sounds is refreshing.The Backstreet Boys always had the advantage over their competition in that they could actually sing,and this album allows them to show that,instead of their vocal talents takiing second fiddle to hooks and catchy choruses.The subject matter is also more mature this time around;now,instead of singing about teenage love,they sing about the world post-September 11th and a Poster Girl who likes to hook up in elevators in front of the security cameras.Overall,this was a mature effort by the band,who had outgrown their poppy days,but more recently have returned,unfortunately,to meaningless lyrics and studio editing instead of relying on their actual talent. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Never Gone [is] a solid adult contemporary album, which will please both BSB diehards and the dwindling ranks who wish that the glory days of Jon Secada never ended, but its relative strength does highlight one problem with the album: this kind of music doesn't sound quite as convincing when delivered by a group of guys as it does by one singer.
  2. Blender
    40
    Never Gone's rock ballads are painfully and sometimes powerfully earnest demands for meaning and redemption. [Aug 2005, p.108]
  3. Even if they aren't Never Gone, their inspiration certainly is.