User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 199

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Nirvana is the best freaking band every to walk Planet Earth. I have always been mostly unbiased with what I listen to, but when I first listened to Nirvana, I got hooked, and I still am now. And NEVERMIND is their best album, so only an idiot wouldn't think of reissuing it for its 20th anniversary.
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Wow is it really 20 years since this was first released? I feel old lol! As others have said music is very much down to personal taste but what can't be denied is this albums massive influence both on other band and the millions who have listened to it. So clearly anyone giving this a 0 is an idiot. I'll admit some of the praise is nonsense. Kurt didn't invent Grunge and honestly ther's nothing truly innovative or ground breaking musically. Listen to The Pixies, Mud Honey and Dinosaur Jr to see where Kurt got all his ideas from. Personally though i feel this is one album that justifies all the acclaim it has had simply because it's still the most exciting rock record i've ever heard period. From start to finish every single song is a classic and that in its self is quite an achievement. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Clearly Awesome-McTasty hasn't heard this album. To give it a 0 demonstrates that. Even though I was a late teenager, the power of this album is unparalleled even today. It blew me away 20 years ago, and then I got sick of hearing it. Replaying it today, it still blows me away.
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I think one of the reviewers of this album said it best when it first came out by saying, "Anyone who says he dislikes this album is just trying to be cool, and needs to try harder." Nevermind is a classic album that still packs as much energy today as it did when it first came out. On top of that, the bonus tracks are pretty good, too, although the only one that's worth going crazy over is Aneurysm. You can find most of those in the "With the Lights Out" box set, anyway. Whatever, it still rules, and is still one of the best albums ever!! Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    one of the most influential albums of all time, no matter what time of music youre into, the minute you hear a song from this list, you will like it as if youve listened to rock all your life, all the haters out there cant put a dent on this milestone. IDGAF if Nirvana is "overrated" the album speaks WIN 1000000000000000X more than youre "Nirvana Sucks" anthem. I hope future generation learn to appreciate good music . Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    While the 20th doesn't bring much to the table that I either: A) don't already own from previous releases, or B) would care to listen to more than 1 time from curiosity. This is still one of the top ten most perfect albums ever recorded.
  8. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    WHOEVER says this album is terrible doesnt know good music when it is standing right in front of there face. This is one of my top five favorite of all time this deserved all the credit in the world. Kurt Cobain is a musical genius n it doesnt matter if it was homicide or suicide we still lost an amazing artist. Mazky said everything else needed to be said.
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Well, for everyone as a reminder - let's review the Disc with the remastering in consideration. I have found the stereo/reverb added to In Bloom to be a little over the top. Also the movement of the left to right on singing is new and not sure I like it....obviously the original album is a masterpiece. I would not say that someone is "stupid" if they don't like it...but that they just have different tastes. I have listened to the Pixies and found them hard to get into, even knowing that Kurt loved them and that they are the kind of music I like. sometimes bands just aren't for everyone. I think Pearl Jam is much different than Nirvana...so they don't have to be compared. Music is like Paintings - you don't see see art critics comparing one to another, so let's just appreciate each in its own beauty or greatness...not worry about who ripped off what. What music isn't like something else in 2011? Maybe in 1945 you could say that a particular album was "completely original" but since media is now so available to everyone and we listen to whole albums at anytime anywhere, to not be influenced by other bands is nearly impossible. We should pay homage to those "founders" of genres while understanding that subsequent bands will be influenced sometimes by those that went before them. "Standing on the Shoulders", etc. I think if we looked at someone's tracked playlist to see what songs they played most, it would be at least 50% different from any other person...so let's face it, each song and band, and even album has different value and meaning to each other person...that said - if you like Nirvana concept - the image, background, the genre, the attitude, the instrument style, then I would recommend this album with a perfect score. I hope we see more albums as great and would argue that music continues to be an important part of my life and I find new experiences pretty much as fun and surprising as back then in 1991. Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This album is nothing more than awesome! The bigger Cobain's legacy in this world in my humble opinion. Definitely "Nevermind" and Nirvana forever.
  11. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I can not believe the negative comments. Nirvana are legend. I want end this message but the the the the amamd nfjnefwe vnsiurf nfdj mmmsksks fnj njfdsn ndfsuinfsiuebf fdnseiwurnfiwr dfnisunfsirfbs
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    5
    Mediocre album from a mediocre band. Amazing lyrics but fails at the horrid guitar playing, boring bass work, only thing to save it was the drumming. Yes, he did steal the riff for Come as you are and u can make a case for him stealing the beginning of Smells Like Teen Spirit from the Smashing Pumpkins cover of Godzilla in 1990, nevertheless it has some decent songs on it. If u want to listen to something like Nirvana, listen to the band he was trying to copy.... The Pixies. If you still think Nevermind is good after listening to the Pixies then u r crazy Expand
  13. Oct 16, 2011
    1
    last review was wrong only one good song in a album full of crap so much crap get if you are in dire need of something to listen too but dont let my review make your decision make your own
  14. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This is Nirvana, shut your mouth for a second and enjoy. m/ o m/ if you think this is overrated, think more. Listen more. Turn off your radio that's playing some pop s#it and listen to this. Awesome.
  15. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Even from an objective standpoint, this is the greatest and most influential album of the last 25 years. It only adds to its mythology that it is also one of my favorites. I was only 7-years-old when they released Nevermind, but its influence on everything that followed and the way it reinterprets the American hardcore punk that came before had an impact on my music tastes long before I was truly aware of the album. This is Nirvana at its finest, striving for raw, simple melody - the union of the Beatles and punk. Cobain plays dirty guitar like none other. His vocal gravel connects to your very core tissue. Grohl is talented and inventive on drums. Next to two rock gods, it is easy to overlook Novoselic, but his base is vital to the overall sound of the band. I pity those who have not yet engaged with this perfect masterpiece. Expand
  16. May 8, 2012
    10
    Nope , is not the stagnated genre that we here nowadays , no , is not pop , no , the lyric is powerful , yes , the instruments and the combination is almost perfect and finally lets make this clear to all the people talking gibberish .and nonsense to a band that changed forever the Rock genre in general. And I say again , what band did more effect in the Rock genre ? no , not the crap you here today. Nevermind is right now better than ever. Expand
  17. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    This is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at what they do, making nice music. I will let others make the opinions they want, but mine is set in steel This is packed with many great songs, and will fit nicely with all of your countless other Nirvana CDs, T-shirts, and awkward coffee mugs from questionable vendors. Expand
  18. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    There's no doubting it's power over 90's culture, it's a game changer. The music is unforgettable. It's their most polished record and I think that disappointed most of their fans who love their raw sound from Bleach or In Utero. The music still sounds fresh 20 years later. Now that's got to count for something, right?
  19. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The music of Nirvana is not to every ones taste, true enough. In fact some hate it so much they feel the need to review one of the greatest albums ever made by mindlessly awarding it a mark of 1 or even 0!
    The glorious truth is that while they are listening to their Cold Play albums the rest of us can kick off our shoes and remember back to long hair and official doctors warnings about
    the dangers of head banging. True, many of the songs here are over played but whereas In Utero plays like a man (let's face it Kurt Cobain was nirvana) desperate for some release, Nevermind feels more about the music. "Smells Like Teen Spirit" may actually be the greatest opening song ever a "Come As You Are" still sounds fresh. Unlike other albums Nevermind doesn't have to rely on it's single releases for greatness. Nirvana were around for a cruel short period but achieved more with one masterpiece album than the likes of Green Day could manage in 10 lifetimes! 10 out 10. Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Sad that people love to bash on anything popular. Anyone who gives a negative rating on this album is just a plain hater. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this re-release.
  21. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Solid album! one of the greatest ever in my opinion!! great band!! amazing drumming and lyrics!!
    i was happy to see that they were re-releaseing it :))
    http://www.squidoo.com/nirvana-s-best-songs
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Nirvana's Nevermind album is the best. I'm a huge Nirvana fan and I listen to all of there songs. The 20th Anniversary Edition comes with a whole lot of songs and its remastered hits. This edition is great for fans or people that are willing to listen.
  23. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I can't believe how many of you are bashing Nevermind for some reason. This isn't one of the greatest albums ever made, it is the greatest!!! If you can find one album that incorporates the melody, lyrics and time in a more efficient way then tell me about it. You know it's funny, we get here a remastered version of a great album with some rare songs and someone gives it rating of zero. So then I checked and the guy is a Pearl Jam fan! I love PJ, but you know after Vitalogy they went down to drain. So, this guy rates Riot Act, Yield, and Binaural at 10 stars!!! Three of the worst, most boring, commercial PJ albums. This is very misleading for readers who really want to discover great music not just biased ramblings of Nirvana haters. Expand
  24. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    It's hard to make anything last. For the popular music industry it's almost impossible. Nirvana has never been my favorite, or even close to my favorite band. But I here these songs on the radio still, and their relevance is universal. This is one of those albums, iconic, beautiful, and tragic all at the same time. Not to mention the fact that every song is spectacular, perhaps the least of which being "Smells Like teen Spirit". Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An amazing album that shaped our generation, beautifully remastered and re- released for all the fans and new coming Nirvana fans. Amazing album. The best of all time.
  26. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Wow. Listening to this album is like riding a rollercoaster, or perhaps sky diving â
  27. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    All of the negative reviews would not exist for this album if the songs were exactly the same but it did not gain the publicity and fame that it did. It is clearly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  28. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The single greatest Nirvana Album by far and one of the greatest albums of all-time. You can take any song from the album and promote them on their own. They about a emotion evoked through the voice of on of the greatest musicians that have ever lived. Cobain may not have realized peaks he has reached.
  29. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    Even with all these extra songs in this Anniversary Edition, Nirvana's Nevermind is still probably the weakest studio album they have ever made in comparison with Bleach or the masterful In Utero. I'm not saying it's a bad album it's still a good listen once in a while.There are some unforgettable classics in the album such as Come As You Are or Lounge Act but as a whole album it just falls short from great and Nirvana can and have done better than this. Expand
  30. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    Back in October 1991 Rolling Stone Magazine rated this album 3 stars out of 5, Dire Straits album On Every Street scored at the time 3.5! It seems death propels rock stars into the stratosphere. Album is grossly overrated. So today upon its 20th Anniversary i rate it 6/10.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    Every inch of tape had emotional or melodic purpose. [Nov 2011, p.109]
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    This reissue tweaks the sound with little discernible effect, and adds a package of goodies.
  3. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.