• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nevermind [20th Anniversary Edition] Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rerelease of Nirvana's classic 1991 album was produced by Butch Vig.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. One of those rare, near-flawless works of art that only grows finer with age.
  2. Q Magazine
    Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Twenty years, five discs, but Nevermind is always more than the sum of its parts. [Oct 2011, p.133]
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's an album undiminished by time, that can still make me want to throw myself around an imaginary mosh pit or curl up in a fetal ball.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    The album is amazing. The reissue is amazing. The band is amazing.
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    In the end, though, it may be the power of the sound that undid this two-minded performer. Two decades on and that power, tragic as it is, has yet to diminish.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Not only does the original record sound incredible, the bonus tracks are revelatory.
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    Grande clássico o Grunge e de todo o cenário do rock, a passagem de uma banda de "garagem" e de um disco anterior gravado com baixo custo,Grande clássico o Grunge e de todo o cenário do rock, a passagem de uma banda de "garagem" e de um disco anterior gravado com baixo custo, Nirvana se inicia no mainstream com um álbum mais "pop" onde surpreendentemente a """pior música"" do álbum consegue ser o maior hit de toda a carreira do Nirvana, o álbum inteiro é espetacular. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles areI expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Expand
  3. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    There's no doubting it's power over 90's culture, it's a game changer. The music is unforgettable. It's their most polished record and I thinkThere's no doubting it's power over 90's culture, it's a game changer. The music is unforgettable. It's their most polished record and I think that disappointed most of their fans who love their raw sound from Bleach or In Utero. The music still sounds fresh 20 years later. Now that's got to count for something, right? Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This is Nirvana, shut your mouth for a second and enjoy. m/ o m/ if you think this is overrated, think more. Listen more. Turn off yourThis is Nirvana, shut your mouth for a second and enjoy. m/ o m/ if you think this is overrated, think more. Listen more. Turn off your radio that's playing some pop s#it and listen to this. Awesome. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This album is nothing more than awesome! The bigger Cobain's legacy in this world in my humble opinion. Definitely "Nevermind" and Nirvana forever.
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    This is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at whatThis is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at what they do, making nice music. I will let others make the opinions they want, but mine is set in steel This is packed with many great songs, and will fit nicely with all of your countless other Nirvana CDs, T-shirts, and awkward coffee mugs from questionable vendors. Collapse
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    0
    It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past.It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past. Anyway, they weren't that good. And how is it perfect? I've been listening to music for a long time and I have not listened to a something perfect. Nothing's perfect. Nevermind is not perfect. Nirvana was not perfect. Perfectness lasts forever, doesn't it? Expand

See all 61 User Reviews