• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nevermind [20th Anniversary Edition] Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rerelease of Nirvana's classic 1991 album was produced by Butch Vig.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. One of those rare, near-flawless works of art that only grows finer with age.
  2. Q Magazine
    Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Twenty years, five discs, but Nevermind is always more than the sum of its parts. [Oct 2011, p.133]
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's an album undiminished by time, that can still make me want to throw myself around an imaginary mosh pit or curl up in a fetal ball.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    The album is amazing. The reissue is amazing. The band is amazing.
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    In the end, though, it may be the power of the sound that undid this two-minded performer. Two decades on and that power, tragic as it is, has yet to diminish.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Not only does the original record sound incredible, the bonus tracks are revelatory.
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    Grande clássico o Grunge e de todo o cenário do rock, a passagem de uma banda de "garagem" e de um disco anterior gravado com baixo custo,Grande clássico o Grunge e de todo o cenário do rock, a passagem de uma banda de "garagem" e de um disco anterior gravado com baixo custo, Nirvana se inicia no mainstream com um álbum mais "pop" onde surpreendentemente a """pior música"" do álbum consegue ser o maior hit de toda a carreira do Nirvana, o álbum inteiro é espetacular. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles areI expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Sad that people love to bash on anything popular. Anyone who gives a negative rating on this album is just a plain hater. I thoroughly enjoyedSad that people love to bash on anything popular. Anyone who gives a negative rating on this album is just a plain hater. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this re-release. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2017
    10
    One of the most famous albums ever released. The re release makes it even better. Although in many aspects, I prefer it's follow up In Utero,One of the most famous albums ever released. The re release makes it even better. Although in many aspects, I prefer it's follow up In Utero, Nevermind is irresistible and deserved the acclaim and monster success it got. 12 tracks and not a dud to be found. Most of it is very accessible and the rawer, harsher tracks like Territorial Pissings, Stay Away and Polly just highlight the contrast and the thin line that can exist between pop and punk. Probably the best example you'll find of Grunge and Pop fused together. The results are blistering. One of those record you have to hear before you die, and due to it's massive success, most people will. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I think one of the reviewers of this album said it best when it first came out by saying, "Anyone who says he dislikes this album is justI think one of the reviewers of this album said it best when it first came out by saying, "Anyone who says he dislikes this album is just trying to be cool, and needs to try harder." Nevermind is a classic album that still packs as much energy today as it did when it first came out. On top of that, the bonus tracks are pretty good, too, although the only one that's worth going crazy over is Aneurysm. You can find most of those in the "With the Lights Out" box set, anyway. Whatever, it still rules, and is still one of the best albums ever!! Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    It's hard to make anything last. For the popular music industry it's almost impossible. Nirvana has never been my favorite, or even close toIt's hard to make anything last. For the popular music industry it's almost impossible. Nirvana has never been my favorite, or even close to my favorite band. But I here these songs on the radio still, and their relevance is universal. This is one of those albums, iconic, beautiful, and tragic all at the same time. Not to mention the fact that every song is spectacular, perhaps the least of which being "Smells Like teen Spirit". Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    0
    It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past.It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past. Anyway, they weren't that good. And how is it perfect? I've been listening to music for a long time and I have not listened to a something perfect. Nothing's perfect. Nevermind is not perfect. Nirvana was not perfect. Perfectness lasts forever, doesn't it? Expand

See all 61 User Reviews