Nevermind [20th Anniversary Edition]

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Nevermind [20th Anniversary Edition] Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rerelease of Nirvana's classic 1991 album was produced by Butch Vig.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. One of those rare, near-flawless works of art that only grows finer with age.
  2. Q Magazine
    Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Twenty years, five discs, but Nevermind is always more than the sum of its parts. [Oct 2011, p.133]
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's an album undiminished by time, that can still make me want to throw myself around an imaginary mosh pit or curl up in a fetal ball.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    The album is amazing. The reissue is amazing. The band is amazing.
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    In the end, though, it may be the power of the sound that undid this two-minded performer. Two decades on and that power, tragic as it is, has yet to diminish.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Not only does the original record sound incredible, the bonus tracks are revelatory.
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Even 22 years after it's release, Nevermind still remains one of the most powerful and influential rcck albums of all time. Kurt Cobain wouldEven 22 years after it's release, Nevermind still remains one of the most powerful and influential rcck albums of all time. Kurt Cobain would be proud of this remastered version. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles areI expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    Nevermind é simplesmente o melhor álbum que eu já ouvi. Letras fortes, vocal ruidoso mas impecável, instrumental fascinante e ritmoNevermind é simplesmente o melhor álbum que eu já ouvi. Letras fortes, vocal ruidoso mas impecável, instrumental fascinante e ritmo fascinante, esse álbum consegue não só conquistar até os mais leigos do rock, mas como também é um disco completo.

    Pontos altíssimos: Lithium, Territorial Pissings, Something In The Way
    Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The single greatest Nirvana Album by far and one of the greatest albums of all-time. You can take any song from the album and promote them onThe single greatest Nirvana Album by far and one of the greatest albums of all-time. You can take any song from the album and promote them on their own. They about a emotion evoked through the voice of on of the greatest musicians that have ever lived. Cobain may not have realized peaks he has reached. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Well, for everyone as a reminder - let's review the Disc with the remastering in consideration. I have found the stereo/reverb added to InWell, for everyone as a reminder - let's review the Disc with the remastering in consideration. I have found the stereo/reverb added to In Bloom to be a little over the top. Also the movement of the left to right on singing is new and not sure I like it....obviously the original album is a masterpiece. I would not say that someone is "stupid" if they don't like it...but that they just have different tastes. I have listened to the Pixies and found them hard to get into, even knowing that Kurt loved them and that they are the kind of music I like. sometimes bands just aren't for everyone. I think Pearl Jam is much different than Nirvana...so they don't have to be compared. Music is like Paintings - you don't see see art critics comparing one to another, so let's just appreciate each in its own beauty or greatness...not worry about who ripped off what. What music isn't like something else in 2011? Maybe in 1945 you could say that a particular album was "completely original" but since media is now so available to everyone and we listen to whole albums at anytime anywhere, to not be influenced by other bands is nearly impossible. We should pay homage to those "founders" of genres while understanding that subsequent bands will be influenced sometimes by those that went before them. "Standing on the Shoulders", etc. I think if we looked at someone's tracked playlist to see what songs they played most, it would be at least 50% different from any other person...so let's face it, each song and band, and even album has different value and meaning to each other person...that said - if you like Nirvana concept - the image, background, the genre, the attitude, the instrument style, then I would recommend this album with a perfect score. I hope we see more albums as great and would argue that music continues to be an important part of my life and I find new experiences pretty much as fun and surprising as back then in 1991. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    This is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at whatThis is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at what they do, making nice music. I will let others make the opinions they want, but mine is set in steel This is packed with many great songs, and will fit nicely with all of your countless other Nirvana CDs, T-shirts, and awkward coffee mugs from questionable vendors. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    0
    It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past.It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past. Anyway, they weren't that good. And how is it perfect? I've been listening to music for a long time and I have not listened to a something perfect. Nothing's perfect. Nevermind is not perfect. Nirvana was not perfect. Perfectness lasts forever, doesn't it? Expand

See all 60 User Reviews