New Again Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the rock band is the first with its new guitarist, Matthew Fazzi (Fred Mascherino left to pursue a solo career.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. New Again feels focused and sure; the band sounds confident despite yet another lineup change.
  2. On New Again, the emo survivors manage to reinvent themselves as mainstreamo shredders.
  3. New Again leaps forward as the best album of Taking Back Sunday's career to date.
  4. The result is an impressive but super slick collection of post-hardcore floor-fillers that's increasingly more "post" than "hardcore." [Jul 2009, p.117]
  5. Such obvious imitation [of U2] isn’t good strategy; it diminishes well-made songs. Taking Back Sunday is better off merging its old blurted troubles with its new attention to detail.
  6. This large, cavernous sound camouflages the lingering emo elements which largely surface in the angst-mining lyrics, as well as the occasional bellow, and even if this lack of stridency may alienate some longtime followers, this gleaming pop-punk makeover is the band at its most immediate and easy to enjoy.
  7. Emo pin-ups milk last moments of glory

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. ChrisM
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Wow. Just picked it up today. Amazing!
  2. ShaneH
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    I think this is the best Taking Back Sunday CD ever released! Personally, and I say personally because everyone has different tastes in music I think this is the best Taking Back Sunday CD ever released! Personally, and I say personally because everyone has different tastes in music and always will disagree, I think all the songs really show Adam's unique vocals. I've been following the band from the beginning and I believe that they have only improved more and more with every album. If you have been following TBS and really enjoy their music, you will greatly enjoy New Again! Get a copy it really is amazing! Great CD, my favorite album of 2009 so far! Great work guys! Keep it up! Expand
  3. TrippD.
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This gets a ten because I'm sure like most bands, TBS did their absolute best in making this, and in their eyes it is the best they can This gets a ten because I'm sure like most bands, TBS did their absolute best in making this, and in their eyes it is the best they can do. So instead of bashing it for not being what I want to hear, I'm going to learn to hear it as they do... As really good. TBS isn't pandering to teens anymore. So if you want the "angst" back, just listen til you understand-- Adam was a teen when he made Tell All Your Friends, and wrote and sounded like one. Now that he's an adult, he's going to speak like one, just like any person. Expectations are the worst thing you can have when it comes to a band you like. Each album is unique, and needs to be judged with different criteria. And that's why that Spin review is garbage. He compares them to U2. Expand
  4. JadeD.
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Okay, so it's not quite "Where You Want To Be", but songs like "Cut Me Up Jenny", "Catholic Knees" and the single "Sink Into Me" are up Okay, so it's not quite "Where You Want To Be", but songs like "Cut Me Up Jenny", "Catholic Knees" and the single "Sink Into Me" are up there with the best TBS songs to date. "Make Damn Sure" you get a copy. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Often considered as the album that killed Taking Back Sunday, is the most underrated album under the band's belt. The previous release,Often considered as the album that killed Taking Back Sunday, is the most underrated album under the band's belt. The previous release, "Louder Now", was a strong but weak at times effort to follow up on a great album ("Where You Want To Be"). If I could've had it my way, this should've been the album that followed it up. "New Again" shows sorrow and pain in the largest of things, whether it be God or relationships, and nails it. Tracks like "New Again", "Swing", or "Carpathia" show a deeper side to Lazzara's writing more than "Louder Now" ever did. The standout track on this album is definitely "Everything Must Go", building up to a Appleseed Cast-esq post rock epic chorus in spite of divorce. "New Again" definitely doesn't get a lot of time in the spotlight enough, considering it may be one of the best Taking Back Sunday albums to date. Collapse
  6. houndoJ
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    This is a well composed and solid album. There are numerous stand out tracks. I wouldn't connect the dots with comparing it to mega This is a well composed and solid album. There are numerous stand out tracks. I wouldn't connect the dots with comparing it to mega bands as in the strange review from Spin. Adam puts himself out there much more than Louder Now and if you"re a fan and have been following his past few years it's an explanation of things that had happened to him personally and with in the band. Cool. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2012
    4
    Apart from the truly great 'Sink into Me' and 'Everything Must Go', Taking Back Sunday's 4th outing sounds like slight deja vu- a stepApart from the truly great 'Sink into Me' and 'Everything Must Go', Taking Back Sunday's 4th outing sounds like slight deja vu- a step backwards to what made their first two releases ok, but ultimately better than the dross of Louder Now. Either way this is not going to make fans from first time listeners. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews