• Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2008
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisW.
    Apr 2, 2008
    2
    A major disapointment! Her last album was much more focused. This is just garbage at points.
  2. Conquertheworld
    Mar 22, 2008
    3
    Creative in a bad way.
  3. AshleyF
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    This is the first honest album I've heard in a long while, and one can agree to disagree if they choose, but you must contend that her delivery is unique and soulful. The most sincere, thought-provoking album I've seen in a long while.
  4. jabus
    Jan 5, 2009
    7
    The album shows how bold and creative she is.She is testing new ground. I love her work.
  5. mattan
    Oct 3, 2008
    7
    Has no one else noticed that the Hot press rating is actually a 2.5 out of 5 which would actually make the metascore a 50 not a 25? Anyway, seems unfair. I am not in love with this album like some publications and I actually prefer her past releases, but this is definitely a step in a new direction for her which is admirable. Slightly overrated but has some great moments that pushes it Has no one else noticed that the Hot press rating is actually a 2.5 out of 5 which would actually make the metascore a 50 not a 25? Anyway, seems unfair. I am not in love with this album like some publications and I actually prefer her past releases, but this is definitely a step in a new direction for her which is admirable. Slightly overrated but has some great moments that pushes it above other similar output. Expand
  6. ClaudioF.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    this cd speaks of pure creativity. life is good . dont let "reality" bring u down. u have urself always!!! love! its all up to u. its hard i know but keep real on urself. always be here n now not in mental world. listening to this cd helped me come to this realization. dont know if this makes any sense. peace y'all!!!
  7. BcS.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    Pretty hot record. General criticism: overexpansive and in need of sharper editing both in terms of lyrical scope and song length. General praise: brimming with creativity; an artist unafraid to flex her brain and sense of humor. Reserve judgment til you've spun the disc from start to finish all the way through. Undeniably hot: "The Hump," "The Healer," "Soldier," and "Twinkle."
  8. DanC.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    This is a fantastic album. beguiling, groovy, political, ironic, beautiful, messed up, rockin album..
  9. CinthD.
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    At first listen, the album might sound overproduced, distasteful and totally out of Erykah's range. An honest advice, try listening to album several times and surely you will realize this is a masterpiece and that Erykah has done it again. Every track is worth exploring and suits this album. Furthermore, the album got the universal acclaim with reason.
  10. JarrellC.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    I have been waiting for an Erykah Badu album for years. I cannot get enough of her music. I know there was the letdown with Worldwide Underground, but she definitely makes up for it with New Amerykah Part One (4th World War). I don't want to go on and try to give a review here because I know how annoying that can be at times, but I will let you know my favorite tracks. "Soldier," I have been waiting for an Erykah Badu album for years. I cannot get enough of her music. I know there was the letdown with Worldwide Underground, but she definitely makes up for it with New Amerykah Part One (4th World War). I don't want to go on and try to give a review here because I know how annoying that can be at times, but I will let you know my favorite tracks. "Soldier," "Healer," "My People," "The Cell," "Master Teacher," "Honey," Telephone," and the ending of "That Hump" is one of the best parts of the album. It is seriously that good! Expand
  11. Jerrod
    Feb 29, 2008
    9
    Both Baduizm and Mama's Gun really knew how to "bring me home." Mama's Gun is one of my ten favorite CDs of all time, and I never thought she would come close to topping it. New Amerykah comes surprisingly close. She shows us even more quirks in her already misunderstood personality, and she fortunately never tries to hide behind a facade of stale R&B. Grooves extend longer on Both Baduizm and Mama's Gun really knew how to "bring me home." Mama's Gun is one of my ten favorite CDs of all time, and I never thought she would come close to topping it. New Amerykah comes surprisingly close. She shows us even more quirks in her already misunderstood personality, and she fortunately never tries to hide behind a facade of stale R&B. Grooves extend longer on some tracks, as they did on Worldwide Underground, but the inventive beats kept me wanting more. Highlights include The Healer, Me, My People, Soldier and (of course) Honey. Erykah's raw emotion is unmatched in contemporary Soul/R&B (and perhaps even across all genres). This will without a doubt appear on critics lists at the closing of 2008. Buy it ASAP. Expand
  12. DylanL.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    A really good album . It's a classic
  13. LouisP.
    Mar 11, 2008
    6
    I love me some Erykah Badu and I love me some REAL hip-hop, but I don't know if I love them in the same breath. "New Amerykah" is the marriage of both and too often one bogs down the other. Badu embraces the production, which at least detours from the standard radio garbage, but it also makes her sticks to concepts. Badu's voice rarely brims with the soul of her past successes, I love me some Erykah Badu and I love me some REAL hip-hop, but I don't know if I love them in the same breath. "New Amerykah" is the marriage of both and too often one bogs down the other. Badu embraces the production, which at least detours from the standard radio garbage, but it also makes her sticks to concepts. Badu's voice rarely brims with the soul of her past successes, replaced with chants that lack charm or the sense of humor that made me fall for her past albums. Even with the political angle, Badu seems to be saying less this time since it all does not come from an emotional place. So thank goodness for "Honey", not because of the content, which is lighter than the rest of the album; but because producer 9th Wonder seems to be as in love with Badu's wobbly, nasal voice as I am. He shapes his production to complement her, where the other producers are just doing there own thing. The critics could be right though. "New Amerykah" might grow on me. On a second listen, I am able to separate the two, and enjoy them on there own merits. But I never had to make an excuse for a Badu album before. Expand
  14. HeakT.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    Early contender for album of the year, although she may yet surpass herself with her next installment/s. My favourite Badu album so far too. Very hard to get a multitude of producers on an album without it sounding patchy, but it's varied and consistent at the same time, a rare feat. From the meditative groove of "My People" to the pumped up old-skool workout of "The Cell", it's Early contender for album of the year, although she may yet surpass herself with her next installment/s. My favourite Badu album so far too. Very hard to get a multitude of producers on an album without it sounding patchy, but it's varied and consistent at the same time, a rare feat. From the meditative groove of "My People" to the pumped up old-skool workout of "The Cell", it's all immaculately executed, yet incredibly complex. I think critics that complain about lack of real "songs" miss the point; Badu prefers to vamp and let stream-of-consciousness lyrics flow over a beat and bassline, it's her way and it makes for an album that serves as a more worthy descendent of classic 70s funk by Funkadelic, Mayfield and Ohio Players than, say, Jamiroquai. Btw, bonus points for giving Georgia Anne Muldrow a guest spot on Master Teacher. She's ace! Expand
  15. R.T.Mar
    Mar 22, 2008
    6
    Album contains 2 of my all time favorite songs by E.B. Bu 3 that I puposefully erased when saving to my i-Pod. Could have done without the militant black sufferage whining that goes on and on and on in a couple of tracks. Was hoping for a return to Mama's Gun , instead she put out a decent album with a bunch of out-takes from Superfly soundtrack. Good album when you sort through the Album contains 2 of my all time favorite songs by E.B. Bu 3 that I puposefully erased when saving to my i-Pod. Could have done without the militant black sufferage whining that goes on and on and on in a couple of tracks. Was hoping for a return to Mama's Gun , instead she put out a decent album with a bunch of out-takes from Superfly soundtrack. Good album when you sort through the clutter and politics. Not great by any stretch. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    May 24, 2009
    10
    One of the most ambitious and conceptual albums in recent times, New Amerykah continues Erykah Badu's unique fusion of classic R&B, hip hop and jazz. While the album's gritty funk and hazy texture may be reminiscent of Sly & the Family Stone's ''There's a Riot Goin' On'' (1971), its socio-political themes and lyrics suggest comparison to Gil One of the most ambitious and conceptual albums in recent times, New Amerykah continues Erykah Badu's unique fusion of classic R&B, hip hop and jazz. While the album's gritty funk and hazy texture may be reminiscent of Sly & the Family Stone's ''There's a Riot Goin' On'' (1971), its socio-political themes and lyrics suggest comparison to Gil Scott-Heron's ''Winter in America'' (1974). The hidden track near the end, "Honey", may be seperable from the rest of the album's concept, but it is as good a song as any other on the album. While it might not earn significant sales or produce hit singles, ''New Amerykah'' serves as Badu's musical peak and a testament to modern soul music. Collapse
  17. ClifC.
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Excellent, really! One of the best albums of 2008. The beats are amazing and she keeps being cool and keeps sounding fresh. I'm desperate to hear the follow up, "New Amerykah Part Two (Return of the Ankh)". She's one of the greatest Hip Hop female artists, with M.I.A. It's as simple as that.
  18. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    Erykah Badu is undoubtedly one of the most ambitious R&B singers ever. New Amerykah is her delicious two-part concept album about modern American society. Both perceptive and insular, 4th World War means deep lyrics wrapped in fresh (even after three years after its release) beats. Amerykahn Promise kicks off like a lost blaxploitation film trailer and offers simply more everything. MeErykah Badu is undoubtedly one of the most ambitious R&B singers ever. New Amerykah is her delicious two-part concept album about modern American society. Both perceptive and insular, 4th World War means deep lyrics wrapped in fresh (even after three years after its release) beats. Amerykahn Promise kicks off like a lost blaxploitation film trailer and offers simply more everything. Me sounds like a Flying Lotus-produced track. The best thing here is probably The Healer in which Badu shows those glittering babies how you do it. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Curtis Mayfield would be proud of both lyrics and her throwback sound.
  2. 'Honey's' squiggly bass line and cute but inane sentiments (''Honey, you so sweet/Sugar got a long way to catch you'') are perhaps the safest, least interesting efforts on the album. Thankfully, Badu spent 10 other tracks showing us exactly what she can do.
  3. Badu's spare, pointillist lyrics are almost constantly folded deep within dense, heavy arrangements