Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Timez Are Weird These Days is the perfect example of what London is capable of, snatching elements of popular music from across the decades to create a sound that's both nostalgic and refreshing.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    91
    While Refused deconstructed post-hardcore, Iceage's stunning debut, New Brigade, slaps vibrant new life into the worked-over corpse of post-punk, radiating a breathless, desperate, ramshackle charm that runs counter to the frigid gloom of the music.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    90
    A record that's easily as good as any punk release you'll hear in 2011.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    While it has been out in their native land since January and only recently been made available in this country through tiny New York-based What's Your Rupture?, this 12-track typhoon is exactly the kick in the ass our sorry punk community needs in the wake of Jay Reatard's untimely death.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    This ambiguity is precisely what makes New Brigade so exciting--there's no dogged political agenda, nor a desire to sound wiser than their 17 to 19-age range. And even if it sounds like a slush of trebly clatter, Iceage manage to pack a wallop of melodic transitions in each measure.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    84
    All these lurches and groans and crashes and bangs and stutters and roars come together to form one consistently rousing, emotionally immediate whole. From them to you.
  7. New Brigade is over in about 23 minutes, and each second feels well worth your time. Though the band can get sloppy at points, perhaps even a bit repetitive, Iceage have crafted some very memorable tracks here; and more than anything, New Brigade shows that this band has much more to offer in the future.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    These guys are the definition of punk. If you were to look at the definition of "punk" in a dictionary, it will have a picture of these 18 andThese guys are the definition of punk. If you were to look at the definition of "punk" in a dictionary, it will have a picture of these 18 and 19 year olds with a caption saying "Iceage". The entire 24 minutes of noise and ruckus is very overwhelming but surprisingly good. When I don't like an album, I stop listening to it and move on. This album was different. I couldn't force myself to stop listening. As far as noise and chaos goes, these guys take the cake. If you can handle total chaos with no specific rhythm, take a listen. It's worth it. The best tracks are "New Brigade", "Remember", "Total Drench", "Broken Bone", "Collapse", and "You're Blessed". Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Makes me want to get up and do something! Whether I do something cruel or something "good", Iceage couldn't give less of a This is record isMakes me want to get up and do something! Whether I do something cruel or something "good", Iceage couldn't give less of a This is record is dirty and ear-shattering but surprisingly catchy. Listen to it loud, and act out your youth or remember it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    New Brigade is a refreshing record. In a serious time of absolutely no punk bands around, Iceage manage to dish out twenty-four minutes ofNew Brigade is a refreshing record. In a serious time of absolutely no punk bands around, Iceage manage to dish out twenty-four minutes of high-energy, strong messaged tracks that are equally as catchy. All In All, Iceage are a great punk band and this is a very enjoyable record. B+ Full Review »