User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Makes me want to get up and do something! Whether I do something cruel or something "good", Iceage couldn't give less of a This is record is dirty and ear-shattering but surprisingly catchy. Listen to it loud, and act out your youth or remember it.
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    New Brigade is a refreshing record. In a serious time of absolutely no punk bands around, Iceage manage to dish out twenty-four minutes of high-energy, strong messaged tracks that are equally as catchy. All In All, Iceage are a great punk band and this is a very enjoyable record. B+
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    Iceage have released a solid debut album, however the album could have done with a bit more diversity. The album is a raw mix of chaotic and noisy punk, goth and post-punk. Standout track is "You're Blessed".
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    I really like the unique merging of punk-goth-metal in these guys' music. I wish the album was longer. I love the video for "White Runes" on YouTube. Some say that the "fascist" tone in their lyrics are not politically correct or acceptable. Who cares? Who said that anyway? Some old hippy who gives everyone a peace sign? Wish I had a chance to see them while they were in Chicago lastI really like the unique merging of punk-goth-metal in these guys' music. I wish the album was longer. I love the video for "White Runes" on YouTube. Some say that the "fascist" tone in their lyrics are not politically correct or acceptable. Who cares? Who said that anyway? Some old hippy who gives everyone a peace sign? Wish I had a chance to see them while they were in Chicago last weekend. So much more authentic and better than The Strokes' debut. This is more on par with Sex Pistols' "Nevermind the Bullocks..." Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    These guys are the definition of punk. If you were to look at the definition of "punk" in a dictionary, it will have a picture of these 18 and 19 year olds with a caption saying "Iceage". The entire 24 minutes of noise and ruckus is very overwhelming but surprisingly good. When I don't like an album, I stop listening to it and move on. This album was different. I couldn't force myself toThese guys are the definition of punk. If you were to look at the definition of "punk" in a dictionary, it will have a picture of these 18 and 19 year olds with a caption saying "Iceage". The entire 24 minutes of noise and ruckus is very overwhelming but surprisingly good. When I don't like an album, I stop listening to it and move on. This album was different. I couldn't force myself to stop listening. As far as noise and chaos goes, these guys take the cake. If you can handle total chaos with no specific rhythm, take a listen. It's worth it. The best tracks are "New Brigade", "Remember", "Total Drench", "Broken Bone", "Collapse", and "You're Blessed". Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    90
    A record that's easily as good as any punk release you'll hear in 2011.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    70
    As a general rule on New Brigade, the faster, shorter and more atonal the tracks, the more intriguing the Danes become.
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    80
    The success of the album lies partly in the production, which allows the teenagers close to the limits of acceptable disorder, but reins them in and lays on the quality when needed.