New Danger

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelL
    Oct 16, 2004
    3
    With the exception of only a handful of the 18 tracks, Mos' MO seems to be one of either hips and haws or disturbingly bad rap-rock. Buy the "Sex, Love & Money" single instead ? it also includes "Ghetto Rock" ? and save $15.
  2. paulj
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    When a hip-hop artist can incorporate the Fifth Dimension and Jim Morrison into an album- it has to be grand. Mos Def, who frequently played a guest role on the Chapelle Show, shows why he is one of the most thoughtful artists in the genre today. Mos purveys and critiques North American and hip-pop culture. Though the albums lacks (minutely, I might add) in places, it nevertheless remains When a hip-hop artist can incorporate the Fifth Dimension and Jim Morrison into an album- it has to be grand. Mos Def, who frequently played a guest role on the Chapelle Show, shows why he is one of the most thoughtful artists in the genre today. Mos purveys and critiques North American and hip-pop culture. Though the albums lacks (minutely, I might add) in places, it nevertheless remains an incredible album. Expand
  3. MichaelC
    Jan 1, 2007
    6
    It's way to ambitious and often feels unfocused. The select guitar solos would have been good, if he would have played the instrument, but jazz style guitar solos don't belong in the genre. This isn't a terrible album though, there are some good cuts on this disk.
  4. Amiyd
    Oct 10, 2005
    7
    This is not a Hip hop CD this is a multi genre CD by a Hip hop artist. It seemms experimental and at times it sounds as if he's freestyling. The best track is "Sex, Love, & Money" This is not for the hard core rap fan, this is for the opend minded music lover.
  5. MuhammadK
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    At First I was a bit thrown 'cos it wasn't what I was expecting, but as I really began to listen to it, I couldn't help but flow with it. It really showed the jaggedness of reality in the music and the words. Brilliant.
  6. royc
    Nov 1, 2004
    8
    q magazine is talking out of its ass as always,stick to your indie crap,& Bowie worshiping....As for the libertines ...oh dear more junkie worshiping nonesense! Anyway Mos is Def...
  7. StoP
    Oct 21, 2004
    8
    If you're looking for Black on Both Sides part 2 then this ain't your album. But in a similar vein to Com's Electric Circus, The New Danger is an eclectic mix of funk, soul, rap and rock, amalgamated flawlessly. It sidesteps all the commercial failings and transcends the genre. The New Danger marks the galant return of hip-hop's prodigal son, The Mighty Mos Def.
  8. AmyS
    Oct 22, 2004
    9
    Like a fine wine, ya need to sip it first to get the taste in your mouth and then take another sip to judge it (hint: listen to it twice). The flavor in this album is so fresh, those that don't enjoy it just can't hang because they're too narrow minded and were expecting Back On Both Sides again...mos def still holds the title for underground's golden boy.
  9. VinceH.
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    Wildly uneven, but you gotta respect the guy for not just settling for doing Black on Both Sides pt. 2, but instead this is an album full of rock-rap fueled by the highly talented band Black Jack Johnson that Mos toured and plays with now. More traditional rhymes-over-beats songs mix and intertwine with long guitar and keyboard driven funk rock jams mix with Mississippi delta blues mix Wildly uneven, but you gotta respect the guy for not just settling for doing Black on Both Sides pt. 2, but instead this is an album full of rock-rap fueled by the highly talented band Black Jack Johnson that Mos toured and plays with now. More traditional rhymes-over-beats songs mix and intertwine with long guitar and keyboard driven funk rock jams mix with Mississippi delta blues mix with Southern soul music. Overall an amalgram of musical styles that don't quite fuse together the way that Mos intended and too many of the songs are just plain bad. Black on Both Sides is arguably the finest solo release that Rawkus Recrods was ever involved in and generally considered a classic by 99% of hip hop fans, so one cannot expect Mos to top it, but at least equal it., which unfortunately it doesn't. Expand
  10. KossTheory
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    All I can say is wow...After the second listen I was hooked, mesmerized...What an accomplishment. I'm baffled by people who don't like this, but maybe I shouldn't be.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    There seems to be a lot of people who dont like this new sound...what needs to be understood is that this album is one that was not meant to follow in the footsteps of his other work...this was a work of passion...and its hot
  12. LawrenceP
    Jan 15, 2005
    8
    An uneven Lp but still mostly solid. I think mos def will hit the next one out of the park.
  13. RayC
    Jun 13, 2006
    6
    This wasn't exactly the album I hoped it'd be - but it had a few tracks that were amazing. "Close Edge" was a pretty good track, and "Sunshine" was a touching song, straight from the heart. I don't think it is as good as his prior work - when he teamed up with Talib Kweli on Black Star and most notably, his first album Black On Both Sides, but on a few of the songs, he goes This wasn't exactly the album I hoped it'd be - but it had a few tracks that were amazing. "Close Edge" was a pretty good track, and "Sunshine" was a touching song, straight from the heart. I don't think it is as good as his prior work - when he teamed up with Talib Kweli on Black Star and most notably, his first album Black On Both Sides, but on a few of the songs, he goes back to his roots of being The Mighty Mos Def. Unfortunately, the higher use of rock elements didn't do it for me. Nonetheless, it's an album worth considering. Expand
  14. MDeezy
    Dec 15, 2005
    8
    Not as thorough as Black on Both Sides, but man are those above-listed magazines missing the point. Especially that poor girl from Paste Magazine - why is is she reviewing hiphop albums to begin with??? Let's just say I didn't fully appreciate this album until I heard Mos perform some of these tracks live. Hiphop can transform into whatever the heck it wants, get used to it you suckas!
  15. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This album is not the taste of all. Alternative Rap people. It may not be for all of america but Mos' blend of Rap and Rock gets you pumping your head to every verse. Good job Mr.Dante Terrell Smith. Pure Masterpiece.
  16. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    this album is a variety of genres, but that doesn't mean it's bad. if you're a fan of alternative hip-hop, jazz, and rock, then you'll like this album. Mos Def never fails to make a great song from a great beat
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. 75
    In a world where 50 Cent name-drops [Talib] Kweli, Mos Def wants to keep the line between indie hip-hop and major-label rap nice and blurry. [Oct 2004, p.112]
  2. It’s largely half-baked in its execution.
  3. Although Mos Def sometimes finds the casual groove he's looking for, this disc is surprisingly dreary and oddly abstract. [1 Nov 2004]