New History Warfare, Vol. 3: To See More Light Image

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final volume to the saxophonist's New History Warfare series was produced by Ben Frost and features guest vocals Bon Iver's Justin Vernon on four tracks.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Constellation
  • Genre(s): Jazz, Pop/Rock, Jazz Instrument, Avant-Garde Jazz, Free Improvisation, Saxophone Jazz
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    To See More Light is a masterpiece that organically and coherently blends Stetson's avant-garde playing and dark, complex themes with accessible and compelling compositions that bring a ray of hope not just for the characters in his underlying narrative, but for the future of music.
  2. May 6, 2013
    Stetson very literally breathes life into his instrument, and in turn, like the statue transformed from stone to flesh, his music softens our hardened selves--it reminds us that we were once made, too.
  3. With additional help from fellow musician and frequent collaborator Justin Vernon (whose vocals are the only overdubbed aspect of the music), the songs on To See More Light are as devastatingly personal as they are emphatically otherworldly--inhuman sounding even. This stark dichotomy of sound and intent throws Stetson’s music into austere relief.
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    Volume 3 is essential listening and another triumph.
  5. May 21, 2013
    In two albums, the man shatters our conceptions of music--and in the finale of his trilogy, he glues the pieces back together and hands the end product back to us, thereby redefining the word ‘musician’ in a single gesture.
  6. May 29, 2013
    The album is stacked with jaw-dropping moments, underpinned by seismic emotional shifts.
  7. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    An intriguing collision of the musical outer reaches and American indie rock. [Jun 2013, p.107]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    Please don't listen to the brony below, he's sexually attracted to horses and he has friggin' spoiler tags on a musical album. Seriously whatPlease don't listen to the brony below, he's sexually attracted to horses and he has friggin' spoiler tags on a musical album. Seriously what the dude?

    Album's pretty dope. Doesn't have quite the eerieness or the stick-in-the-back-of-your-head vocal work of Vol. 2 but instrumentally Stetson is ****ing belting it. The title track is a particular standout, cycles of freestyling chaos that gradually give way to a clanking march of clockwork titans.
  2. May 16, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DO NOT attempt to listen to all three volumes back-to-back in one sitting. I did and now I can't find my way back to reality. Gotta go, the metal bears know where I am. Expand