Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    To See More Light is a masterpiece that organically and coherently blends Stetson's avant-garde playing and dark, complex themes with accessible and compelling compositions that bring a ray of hope not just for the characters in his underlying narrative, but for the future of music.
  2. May 7, 2013
    The shifting contours of Stetson’s music make for unpredictable and challenging but frequently awe-inspiring terrain.
  3. May 6, 2013
    Stetson very literally breathes life into his instrument, and in turn, like the statue transformed from stone to flesh, his music softens our hardened selves--it reminds us that we were once made, too.
  4. 90
    Vol 3: To See More Light is his strongest and most cohesive collection in his career, aided in large part by the head-turning vocals of Justin Vernon, who appears on four of the 11 tracks on the album.
  5. With additional help from fellow musician and frequent collaborator Justin Vernon (whose vocals are the only overdubbed aspect of the music), the songs on To See More Light are as devastatingly personal as they are emphatically otherworldly--inhuman sounding even. This stark dichotomy of sound and intent throws Stetson’s music into austere relief.
  6. May 7, 2013
    To See More Light shows impressive range.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    Like most free jazz, it's music of the moment, a work of granular epiphanies that accrete, finally, into a magnificent whole.
  8. Mojo
    Apr 25, 2013
    With electronic ace Ben frost's eerily beautiful final chapter is the perfect soundtrack for a dinner party to which only Ed Gein, Jack London and Catherine The Great are invited. [May 2013, p.94]
  9. Apr 25, 2013
    With New History Warfare, Vol. 3, Stetson explores scorched landscapes and heavenly scenes alike with his stylized playing.
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    Volume 3 is essential listening and another triumph.
  11. Apr 25, 2013
    Despite the limited tools, he evokes everything from jazz and doom metal to techno and classical music, often simultaneously.
  12. May 21, 2013
    In two albums, the man shatters our conceptions of music--and in the finale of his trilogy, he glues the pieces back together and hands the end product back to us, thereby redefining the word ‘musician’ in a single gesture.
  13. Under The Radar
    Apr 25, 2013
    Stetson has ventured into uncharted territory, and the heretofore-unheard sounds that he's brought back are utterly bewitching. [Mar-Apr 2013, p.95]
  14. May 29, 2013
    The album is stacked with jaw-dropping moments, underpinned by seismic emotional shifts.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    To See More Light is another strong effort from Colin Stetson, and a familiar one. Should there be another entry in the New History Warfare series, Stetson would benefit from a broadening of his tactical approach.
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    Vernon guest-spots aside, though, To See More Light matches its predecessor in terms of quality.
  17. The Wire
    Apr 25, 2013
    Volume 3, produced by Ben Frost, shades closer to songwriting in places, as Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and other guest on harmony vocals. [Apr 2013, p.57]
  18. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    An intriguing collision of the musical outer reaches and American indie rock. [Jun 2013, p.107]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    Please don't listen to the brony below, he's sexually attracted to horses and he has friggin' spoiler tags on a musical album. Seriously whatPlease don't listen to the brony below, he's sexually attracted to horses and he has friggin' spoiler tags on a musical album. Seriously what the dude?

    Album's pretty dope. Doesn't have quite the eerieness or the stick-in-the-back-of-your-head vocal work of Vol. 2 but instrumentally Stetson is ****ing belting it. The title track is a particular standout, cycles of freestyling chaos that gradually give way to a clanking march of clockwork titans.
    Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2013
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. DO NOT attempt to listen to all three volumes back-to-back in one sitting. I did and now I can't find my way back to reality. Gotta go, the metal bears know where I am. Full Review »