New Magnetic Wonder

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveJ
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    amazing. There best work
  2. NicholasC
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Return to form after the last, mediocre album. I've been spinning it all month. Buy the vinyl, cds are crap!
  3. AndyB
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    The music is energetic and sounds nice. The lyrics however, could use some work in places.
  4. PaulT
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    For a band i'd never heard of before these are a welcome surprise. Very impressed with a great sound.
  5. StuartF.
    Feb 5, 2007
    8
    You can always count on these guys to deliver the goods. Not surprising in the least, but it's not supposed to be.
  6. Ant
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    An addictingly addicting album that reminds me of the Beatles, Belle & Sebastian, and New Pornographers. Best songs are Energy, Sundal Song, and 7 Stars, though every song is a pop wonder.
  7. mikes.
    Feb 6, 2007
    5
    I'm a fan on their earlier works but not this new release. Apples in stereo have refused to evolve and are now sounding boring and tired. It's just not refreshing to listen to these guys anymore. Overall an average release, i think their hardcore fans will like it, but this is just average for me.
  8. Sach!
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    The Apples sounded tired on their last few releases, but their extended hiatus, new bag of studio tricks and renwed focus definitely elevate this album to "must listen" status for anyone looking for a fun upbeat pop-rock record. At a time when major label bands are drenched in faux-irony and self-awareness it's great to hear from a musicians who just want to rock out with good vibes
  9. FelipeP
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    Perfect psychedelic-Pop Album. Amazing!
  10. Ichon
    Mar 11, 2007
    8
    Rolf C, the first problem I saw with your review is that saw a review of Entertainment Weekly, and wanted to try the cd out cause their review, Entertainment Weekly gives every cd good grades, so now I know why you gave thsi cd a 5. This cd is a jewel, this cd is no "Fun Trick Noisemaker" but it is very good and at the moment probably my second favorite Apples cd
  11. CaseyD
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    So far the best album of the year. I think this is the album they wanted to make as a farefell to fans. Not that Velocity of Sound was a throwaway. It felt more like an EP and this is their shining moment.
  12. RolfC
    Feb 13, 2007
    5
    With the raves by allmusic and Entertainment Weekly, I was expecting something special. One can take or leave the Brian Wilson/Jeff Lynne influences as well as the occasional lapses into psychedelic pop self-indulgence. But contrary to what ex-member Hilarie Sidney and others have said, this simply isn't catchy. I have listened to this with a straight and "changed" head, and frankly, With the raves by allmusic and Entertainment Weekly, I was expecting something special. One can take or leave the Brian Wilson/Jeff Lynne influences as well as the occasional lapses into psychedelic pop self-indulgence. But contrary to what ex-member Hilarie Sidney and others have said, this simply isn't catchy. I have listened to this with a straight and "changed" head, and frankly, this is simply not the super-catchy melodic pop everyone is talking about. Sheesh, this makes the odds and ends collection "Science Faire" sound like a masterpiece. Shoes, where are you? Expand
  13. time
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    There last album was NOT mediocre. In fact it was one of the best records to come out that year. Yes it made them commercial and got them played on Target commercials but it was still their all time best. Rain Fall is their best single ever. This is another winner but not as good as their last.
  14. tim
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    I meant to give it a 9. Great stuff. I hope they finally get their dues.
  15. elb
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    charming and gigantic!
  16. ThomasB
    Mar 20, 2007
    8
    This album marks Robert Schneider's return to his baroque and orchestral pop roots after the intentionally lo-fi charms of "Velocity of Sound." While NMW press hype has concentrated on his math nerdery and invention of a new musical scale, the compositions and interstitial music showcasing it are rudimentary at best, though not unpleasant. Meanwhile, the songs in the normal 12 tones This album marks Robert Schneider's return to his baroque and orchestral pop roots after the intentionally lo-fi charms of "Velocity of Sound." While NMW press hype has concentrated on his math nerdery and invention of a new musical scale, the compositions and interstitial music showcasing it are rudimentary at best, though not unpleasant. Meanwhile, the songs in the normal 12 tones of the Pythagorean scale show Schneider's masterful hand at nodding to his influences (ELO, in this case) while producing catchy, upbeat pop that is uniquely his own and instantly identifiable. The lesson here: mathematical excursions into new sounds are all well and good, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Expand
  17. TimG
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Very nice. Might be a 10, but I don't want to give a 10 without the test of time.
  18. Karlv
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I've been a fan of the Apples in Stereo for years, and NMW has immediately become my second favorite Apples record, just behind Fun Trick Noisemaker. NMW may yet become my favorite, with repeated listenings, given that every song on the record is exceedingly catchy. It helps that I share Rob Schneider's affinity for ELO's Greatest Hits.
  19. JackB.
    Feb 14, 2007
    8
    Good album, Very catchy, and to me this album feels like one of those albums where the more I listen to it, the more beuty ill find in it, as said above, awesome album but no "Fun Trick Noisemaker"
  20. JimmyG
    Mar 15, 2007
    7
    a nice recovery after their mediocre last album
  21. MikefromMaine
    May 11, 2007
    9
    It reminds me of the Beatles (maybe just John), working their way out of the 60s, and thru the 70s/80s/90s, writing pop songs inspired by bands of those times along the way. Some really nicely referenced classics on this on here, personally, I like the Sunndal song showing its Fastbacks influence veyr nicely. All in all, the most fun album of the year so far.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Paste Magazine
    60
    Infuriatingly inconsistent. [Dec 2006, p.90]
  2. Spin
    80
    New Magnetic Wonder couldn't be brighter if it had been performed on the sun. [Feb 2007, p.82]
  3. Under The Radar
    80
    Easily the most ambitious and compelling Apples record since the [Elephant 6] heyday. [#16, p.89]