New Wave

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KyleW
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Bands that tend to alter parts of their sound lose a lot of fans. Against Me! definitely hasn't fallen into that discussion of bands with this album. "Fans" of the band are complaining merely because of the major label, but in actuality this album could very well be their best one. It is utterly useless to stop listening to a band because they're being recognized. Gabel fires on Bands that tend to alter parts of their sound lose a lot of fans. Against Me! definitely hasn't fallen into that discussion of bands with this album. "Fans" of the band are complaining merely because of the major label, but in actuality this album could very well be their best one. It is utterly useless to stop listening to a band because they're being recognized. Gabel fires on all cylinders with virtually every song on the record. Ocean is incredible. Expand
  2. SimonV
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    I love the voice of tom gabel. The song is aggressif its very good!!!Viva against ME!!
  3. seeyoui
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Equal to Axel Rose. there I said it! growing is not selling-out you pundint fools. you can't keep chasing your collective tails forever, punks will be punks will be punks, someone is always there to take up any slack for the ideals when your realizations smack you in the face with a dry slap of a gernade. f-ing great cd!
  4. BrandonH
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    People can scream at the top of their lungs about selling out, but the fact of the matter is Against Me! has accomplished the ultimate goal for any independent band making the leap from indie label to major market. The anger, the fury, the inability to lay down and take what is dished out is still there. Gabel's fire has not been extinguished. He's still just as pissed as on People can scream at the top of their lungs about selling out, but the fact of the matter is Against Me! has accomplished the ultimate goal for any independent band making the leap from indie label to major market. The anger, the fury, the inability to lay down and take what is dished out is still there. Gabel's fire has not been extinguished. He's still just as pissed as on "Axl", he's just more grown up, more focused. If that means a more adult Against Me! is no longer "raw", than give me polished Against Me! anytime. This is easily the best rock record I've heard thus far in 2007, and the album seems to unlock even more brilliance everytime the disc spins in my player. It's pointed and focused, crunching and tight; it goes for the jugular from the frist second of the title track, to the final chord of "Ocean". Against Me! hasn't changed, just the recording quality has, and if professional sounding records aren't your thing, than I guess stay away, but if unashamed, unabashed, rock fury is something your looking for, pick up "New Wave" as soon as possible. You'l be doing yourself a favor. Expand
  5. SamK.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Possibly my new favorite band. Melodically lyrically vocally artistically incredible. Tom Gabel is an incredible vocalist backed by a solid wall of guitars and lots of deep powerful percussion. Somehow all of this ends up being incredibly melodic. Seriously awesome.
  6. JonathanE.
    Dec 21, 2007
    8
    It's a pretty good record, but I'd like to point out that this band sounds a helluva lot like Manic Street Preachers. In all honesty, the Manics are better too. Check out their last record "Send Away the Tigers" which has a similar feel to this one, but with even better songs.
  7. RobC.
    Dec 31, 2007
    8
    I have been listening to this band and going to shows since 2001, I have seen them in the basement and I have seen them the the larger venues they are playing. There was never another London calling, there was never another nevermind, there was never another white album, reinventing axle rose was there and then, great album but you cannot hold the band accountable to what happens to I have been listening to this band and going to shows since 2001, I have seen them in the basement and I have seen them the the larger venues they are playing. There was never another London calling, there was never another nevermind, there was never another white album, reinventing axle rose was there and then, great album but you cannot hold the band accountable to what happens to everyone of us, change, its the only constant. This band made a great album, Thrash Unreal is Pints of Guinness part duex, The Ocean is like nothing they have ever done, and thats what I want from one of my favorite bands to go out and just do what they do best, great music, great times, and great shows. I can't wait till I have a son one day and when he is old enough I am going to hand him a few albums, and tell him "Son this is Against Me!, this is music, here is a beer now go enjoy . Expand
  8. StuartW.
    Dec 3, 2007
    8
    This album is excellent. Tom is sounding better than ever and the musicianship is excellent. Slightly let down by a god awful opening track though.
  9. BM
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    A great album. For anyone who cries sellout, I counter by saying that the only reason they didn't sell more in the past is that the production was poor. Butch Vig has an uncanny talent for bringing out the best in a band's sound. Searching for a Former Clarity was Fat Wreck Chords best attempt at breaking Against Me!, but J. Robbins couldn't get the sound out of 'em.
  10. JohnR
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    Very good album, it lived up to my high expectations unlike every other album I highly anticipated this year. I just wish there was an acoustic track, but other than that, this is a very well produced album that shows that Against Me! still has not settled to a "sound". Because of this, I believe this band has the potential to write this generations "London Calling".
  11. Karar
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    Even at their worst, they're still better then the rest. Not that the album is bad. it's actually really good. it just takes a little bit to get used to the change in sound. but lyrically, this is one of the best albums they've put out.
  12. RichR.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    This album rocks, the guitars and drums are great, as are the vocals. One thing I'll say about the comments about this record is there doesn't seem to be much middle ground here.
  13. MikeS
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    No songs as good as Pints of Guiness, Axl Rose, or TSR, but overall better than most others. The first six tracks are super-solid. As always with Against Me, I just wish it was longer.
  14. SimonD
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Best album so far. A great progression: Reinventing Alx Rose is still a solid album, but this one is a wonderful progression for the band. don't forget that change in music is necessary... look at all those bands who haven't evolve... yes, I know! We don't even remember their name or don't listen to them anymore!
  15. [Anonymous]
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    this album is fantastic, it is a different style of their 'reinventing axl rose' album, but it hits hard, has the same sing-along feel and deep and thought lyrics and musical composition.
  16. byler
    Jul 19, 2007
    8
    its not as good as their previous efforts but definitely an accomplishment. But it doesn't matter because Against Me! are one of the most passionate punk bands ever and it shows. Up the Cuts is amazing and the with Tegan on it is quite refreshing. The only song that seems a little too cheeseball is "Stop!". Speaking of balls, the song "Ocean", anyone who screams out loud the would its not as good as their previous efforts but definitely an accomplishment. But it doesn't matter because Against Me! are one of the most passionate punk bands ever and it shows. Up the Cuts is amazing and the with Tegan on it is quite refreshing. The only song that seems a little too cheeseball is "Stop!". Speaking of balls, the song "Ocean", anyone who screams out loud the would have chosen to be a woman is kickass Expand
  17. ExubaiN
    Jul 21, 2007
    8
    Not sticking to the same old thing, not worrying about what people have to say. Against Me! does it again.
  18. WesJ.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    I am a gainesville native who was never overly impressed with anything against me had ever done before. not to say i thought they were bad or anything, they just didn't seem to be all that proficient at songwriting to me. but this album is solid, complimented surprisingly strongly by vig's clean hand at work. and, god, i'm a sucker, but "borne on the fm waves of the heart" I am a gainesville native who was never overly impressed with anything against me had ever done before. not to say i thought they were bad or anything, they just didn't seem to be all that proficient at songwriting to me. but this album is solid, complimented surprisingly strongly by vig's clean hand at work. and, god, i'm a sucker, but "borne on the fm waves of the heart" is a stellar, nostalgic track, and i can't even listen to sara and eagen or whatever the hell they're called. gabel shows some vocal flexibility on this record as well. i think i'm a fan now. Expand
  19. jyotirmayadas
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    I agree with Pitchfork in that it sounds too "cleaned up" by Butch Vig's production, BUT at first I thought it sounded like early R.E.M. And that's a good thing because "New Wave" (why did they call it that - they're not the Police?) is a good listen for those who have the mindset to go along with it, and for them, it's a solid, good album! And Yay "Tegan and Sarah" on I agree with Pitchfork in that it sounds too "cleaned up" by Butch Vig's production, BUT at first I thought it sounded like early R.E.M. And that's a good thing because "New Wave" (why did they call it that - they're not the Police?) is a good listen for those who have the mindset to go along with it, and for them, it's a solid, good album! And Yay "Tegan and Sarah" on "Borne on the FM Waves of the Heart." Expand
  20. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    7
    Sell outs? nay. i have to admit, there are songs that don't really make me an anarchist ("White People For Peace") and the lyrics aren't all that... well... well thought out. But admist all the other stuff out there, I would buy this in a heartbeat. It's been a long time since someone screamed his heart out and meant it.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. New Wave is crisp, direct, and sharp. It's clean, but not glossy; it's defiant; it's brash; it's heartfelt.
  2. 80
    Superproducer Butch Vig is around to help transform Gabel’s strident leftism and occasionally clumsy choruses (e.g., "Protest Songs! In response to military aggression!") into swing-state-ready stadium rock.
  3. Their best album to date.