New - Paul McCartney
New Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first release of new solo material in six years from the former Beatle includes production from Paul Epworth, Ethan Johns, Giles Martin (son of Beatles producer George Martin), and Marc Ronson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    100
    This album proves his talent is timeless.
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    85
    Now 71, Paul has delivered his tightest album in years, confirming that the streak of goodness that began with Chaos and Creation in the Backyard wasn’t a fluke.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    What could have been a confused, trying-to-be-hip mish-mash is instead a re-playable collection of extremely strong songs, Paul's most interesting, varied and soul-baring in years. [Dec 2013, p.84]
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    [Working with four young producers] isn't necessarily an ideal recipe for coherence, but [Giles] Martin--the producer of the music for Love, Circue du Soleil's Beatles show, and for the Rock Band video game--keeps it under control.... with each song treated as an individual entity and allocated its own musical resources. [Nov 2013, p.64]
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Even if it’s not McCartney’s most engaging record outright, New is a breath of fresh air for what could’ve been a frustrating sigh.
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    70
    New is no Abbey Road, but it is a remarkable album from the 71-year-old version of the man who has brought us decades of great rock ‘n’ roll songs.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    50
    While the brave-faced, sunny music that defines the album's back half may be as contrived as his jolly public persona, it's the touches of humanizing anxiety that make New significant, revealing active signs of creative life.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I wonder how long it will take others to come to the conclusion I've come to. His best solo work to date, these songs can stand alongside hisI wonder how long it will take others to come to the conclusion I've come to. His best solo work to date, these songs can stand alongside his Beatles work. A lot of his solo stuff comes across like just fluff, like he was just enjoying himself in the studio, just jerkin' it, not really having any balls or making a commitment,so much of it is catchy, but empty and forgettable. Some other works like Chaos and Creation in the Backyard and Tug of War were very self-consciously created as self-important, grandiose Beatlesque statements as if to say "Now I'll show those critics!" But they're stilted, C and C is terminally restrained and sounds like McCartney taking his medicine. Tug of War sounds like all over-produced genre exercises. This is the first piece of work he's done that combines the exuberance, the commitment, and some balls, plus inspiration. Every song sounds perfect, full-bodied, 3-dimensional and organic, but spontaneous. It may take a while for people to catch on, but it's a full-blown masterpiece. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I think he did exactly what he meant to: he unpretentiously created a "new" album using "new" techniques. Some of the production, hookI think he did exactly what he meant to: he unpretentiously created a "new" album using "new" techniques. Some of the production, hook patterns and everything else sounds generic, but with Paul's unique style of spelling out his moods and feelings. Overall a great album. Collapse
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    This is a FUN McCartney album like the ones he used to make. It's working title could have been McCartney III as it reminds me of it with itsThis is a FUN McCartney album like the ones he used to make. It's working title could have been McCartney III as it reminds me of it with its electronic bits. McCartney has finally blended his finely crafted ballads and pop songs with Fireman-styled modern music, giving us a varied and interesting album. I rate it as good as Chaos in the Backyard but more fun like Band on the Run. Only a couple of duds here.
    love his signature Casino lead guitar work and simple but effective drumming here. not crazy about the electronic sound effects ending many of the songs.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    A modern classic from a silver-age hero, McCartney completely redefines what a "latter-day album" is with NEW. The album starts off with theA modern classic from a silver-age hero, McCartney completely redefines what a "latter-day album" is with NEW. The album starts off with the driving alt-rock of "Save Us" and continues to explore numerous styles throughout, both old and new. From the stoner rock trudge of "Alligator" and the Arcade Fire meets Coldplay singalong "Everybody Out There" to the reflective "Early Days," Sir Paul does it all. Yet, somehow the album still fits together unbelievably well as a whole. NEW is one of Paul's hardest rocking (albeit in a modern way) efforts in years, yet the record also contains some of his strongest ballads in a long time. The aforementioned "Early Days" sees Paul looking back on his Beatles day with a voice of maturity that the aging singer had previously not been able to accept.. "Queenie Eye" is undeniably one of the Beatle's most unique, yet classic, singles in a long time, much like the album's title track. Oh, also, make sure you stick around for the hidden track--it's a heartbreaker. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    It's a great! I think it's a best Paul McCartney's album of the 21 century. When i was listened to the single "New", i understood this!It's a great! I think it's a best Paul McCartney's album of the 21 century. When i was listened to the single "New", i understood this! Looking forward to his new record! Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    The album title says it all. McCartney's first original outing in six years proves to be classic Macca while incorporating different soundsThe album title says it all. McCartney's first original outing in six years proves to be classic Macca while incorporating different sounds and styles from four different producers. At its worst, the album's lyrics become overly droll (see "On My Way to Work"), but at its best, McCartney's hooks prove to be forever unfailingly and head-bobbingly fun. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    Not a single song on here is worth listening to. Sure, Paul McCartney experiments on some songs, but it just sounds bad overall. NiceNot a single song on here is worth listening to. Sure, Paul McCartney experiments on some songs, but it just sounds bad overall. Nice effort, but the songs just weren't well written. Then there's some obligatory Beatles' rip-off songs. And all the rest are mainly forgettable. Some of the songs have potential, but then they either go nowhere or go in a negative direction.

    This guy just puts out these albums to make money. And critics are too afraid to bash his new music for what it really is: garbage. In fact, McCartney as a solo artist was never very good. His albums were always pretty lame, but with a few absolute standouts.

    Lennon was the one with the better solo career. And I think he'd be rolling in his grave at the music McCartney is making currently. They certainly weren't getting along towards the end anyways in terms of liking each other's songs. So, I doubt he would like what he's doing now.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews