Night Falls Over Kortedala

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GuyH
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    Equal parts joyous and introspective - a strange combination that works in this case. Some of the compositions are so overblown that a lot of people will dismiss this album instantly as just so much fluff. If it catches you in a particular frame of mind however.
  2. smithsgirl
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    A stunning album, from start to finish. Lekman is a craftsman of wry, affecting and humourous lyrics. All wrapped up in sparkling, bright and memorable tunes. Not a duff track; Postcard to Nina, The Opposite of Hallelujah, Shirin, and Sipping on the Sweet Nectar are standout tracks. My hottest contender for best album of 2007. And unlikely to be eclipsed. Don't be put off by the A stunning album, from start to finish. Lekman is a craftsman of wry, affecting and humourous lyrics. All wrapped up in sparkling, bright and memorable tunes. Not a duff track; Postcard to Nina, The Opposite of Hallelujah, Shirin, and Sipping on the Sweet Nectar are standout tracks. My hottest contender for best album of 2007. And unlikely to be eclipsed. Don't be put off by the 'twee' ,'camp' 'pretentious' labels. I believe it's called postmodern irony... Expand
  3. ChrisC
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    Very enjoyable, very well written album. Jens Lekman has hit his songwriting stride. All the negative reviews for Kortedala seem the same. "OMG, Jens Lekman is kinda dorky and girly! I'm not allowed to like him!" Because if something isn't all indie-ish and 'hardcore' it must be lame. Yeah right.
  4. BG
    Oct 16, 2007
    8
    typical jens and that's good.
  5. Drew
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Great stuff!!! It's like rollerskating through the best memories you never had. It's so rich and beautiful that the melancholy running through it is given an amber glow. Somehow this Swede pulls this off, with it all seeming lighter than air! The vocals remind me of the Magnetic Fields, in a very good way.
  6. PaulC
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    If Belle and Sebastian had a love child with Morrisey, this would be that talented bastard's album. Strangely addictive, though relatively midless, pop music.
  7. BlairS
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the year! His best of his three LP releases. Brilliant work, from one of the most brilliant lyricists and entertainers out there today. Absolutely stunning.
  8. emilyw.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    It's amazing how Q magazine can be okay with shit (read: schmaltz) like the new Kaiser Chiefs or Travis albums but they can't "stomach" something with legitimately good hooks and knowing, tongue-in-cheek cheesy lyrics. Lekman is a pop genius and this album is his best yet. Reviews by the Guardian or the normally overly snobbish Pitchfork or Tiny Mix Tapes are the people to It's amazing how Q magazine can be okay with shit (read: schmaltz) like the new Kaiser Chiefs or Travis albums but they can't "stomach" something with legitimately good hooks and knowing, tongue-in-cheek cheesy lyrics. Lekman is a pop genius and this album is his best yet. Reviews by the Guardian or the normally overly snobbish Pitchfork or Tiny Mix Tapes are the people to listen to on this one. Don't miss this great album. It is even better than other amazing releases of '07 including Radiohead, The National and The Arcade Fire. Expand
  9. JJ
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I can't stand that the negative comments say nothing... read the now magazine article.... 6 lines doesn't say anything about the music or anything of substance..... It's not perfect and there are weak points but the least you can do is at least take the time to write a proper review at least the coke machine guy talks about the record... it's one of those love it or I can't stand that the negative comments say nothing... read the now magazine article.... 6 lines doesn't say anything about the music or anything of substance..... It's not perfect and there are weak points but the least you can do is at least take the time to write a proper review at least the coke machine guy talks about the record... it's one of those love it or hate it records just because people have gotten in state of mind where if the hear extended melody their fuses just blow up... it's not about indie snobbishness my 55 year old father would love this record. Expand
  10. JohnJ
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Best album of 2007. Bright, dazzling and fun music joined with witty and clever lyrics.
  11. JeffS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    Lovely lovely lovely and very funny. Jen Lekman has an original voice, and a tender heart behind the wackiness. I can't get enough of this album.
  12. DavidF.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    For me, album of the year. I'm staggered by the beauty, charm, and humor in these twelve songs.
  13. RG
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    The samples that lekman uses always somehow manage to get under and awaken my nostalgic side...his songwriting is refreshing and heightens that mood. it is a little odder- shifts in instrumentations - than his last effort 'when I said I wanted to be your dog', but it fits his delivery style. one of the best of the year.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Night Falls Over Kortadela is witty, pretty, silly, and wise; and filled with instantly memorable melodies, thrilling moments of surprise in the arrangements, and laugh-out-loud lyrics.
  2. With such a sweeping sonic palette, it's a pleasant surprise that the record doesn't crumble under its own auspices.
  3. Although there are a few individual moments where those qualities round-off and transcend any qualms anybody might have about Lekman's style, that style on its own, minus a map or even the faint corners of a box, can only elicit the slow smile of admiration, not genuine, passionate interest.