Night of Hunters - Tori Amos
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    Tori's voice has never sounded so gorgeous and her piano playing is amazing. If you are not a Tori fan already, I don't know what you might think of this album. But this is definitely her strongest album in a long time.
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    Everyone (both critics and consumers alike) have been extraordinarily harsh on this album all around the internet.

    This is not an album that deserves mediocre reviews. You know, I can always tell who the people that like real music are because they all realize that this is Tori's best album since Scarlet's Walk. All those neanderthals comparing her to Kate Bush need more things to fill
    our their day. I'm glad that everyone can have his or her own opinion in today's world, but it's too bad that most of them are extremely uninformed.

    If you're a Tori fan, this album will satisfy you. If you're not, start with Little Earthquakes and go through all of her albums before getting to this one. Maybe then your opinion will make sense. 10 for content, 10 for lyrics, 10 for concept, 9 for production.
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    Night of Hunters is easily Tori's best album since Scarlet's Walk. It's intricate, genuine and beautifully arranged. Definitely worth picking up if you're the type of fan disappointed with her output since SW.
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit that when I first bought the album I was a little worried when I skimmed through the songs, but after actually listening to them I have quickly come to regard this album as one of my favorites. Shattering Sea is just a beautiful song that is the perfect intro to the modern song cycle; the listener knows that something has happened and we are just beginning to get a glimpse of the sonic story. As usual, Tori takes the mystical legends of Europe and weaves them into a beautiful tapestry of sound and genius. I love the inclusion of her daughter as Annabelle (who has a wonderfully trained voice for someone at 11, you can feel the passion in it) and her niece as the fire muse (who kinda sounds like Tori at times). As you go through the story (ie, listen to the songs) you are introduced to not just a woman, but a person going through a change that transforms their soul. With the mix of classical variations and beautiful orchestrations this is an album to buy. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    The usual Tori Amos output doesn't do much for me, particularly since the first few albums. However, when I discovered the background to this recording I was eager to check it out - songs based on classic works, recorded with a string quartet and a small group of horns and woodwind, and released by Deutche Grammophon! 70 minutes of stuffy classical style songs might not suit all her fans, but as a previous non-fan I'd say this is pretty good stuff. Well produced, played and sung. I had a quick look flick through the lyric book and although there is a story to this 'song cycle' it's not of much relevance to me. In summary, if you like classical music and pop, this is crossover as it should be done. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    If you are a fan of Tori's early work, then you will most likely enjoy this album. The piano and string arrangements as interpretations or varations of classical works are extremely well done (particularly with the instrumental Seven Sisters), and the recording quality is excellent. Tori's voice is in fine form, as always, and her intonation is sharp. For an eleven-year-old girl, the maturity, timbre, and flexibility of Tash's voice is also stunning. Consider this album to be sonically equivalent to portions of Under the Pink and Boys for Pele.

    Where the album disappoints is in two areas. Tori's best lyrical work has always been obtuse but simultaneously mindbendingly intelligent; frankly the lyrics are here, in spots, simply flat and banal. The poetry is not her best work. Secondly, the album drags on (particularly the title track) in melachnoly drama and really expects a commitment from the listener to trudge through it in a single sitting.

    Toriphiles, buy the album but also know what you are getting. A beautiful work with amazing piano and string virtuosity, but you will be left longing for a few edgier moments.

    Highlights: Shattering Sea, Fearlessness, Edge of the Moon, Seven Sisters, Carry
  7. Apr 19, 2014
    This is a nice record. It feels both different and like old-Tori striding back through the underworlds with her piano. Thank the gods! Fearlessness, Star Whisperer, The Chase, great songs!
  8. May 31, 2013
    I love the cover art. That being said, the songs on this album are just as glossy and polished, devoid of any real heart, soul or life. While there are a few standout tracks Shattering Sea, Carry, Seven Sisters most of the album is overripe dreck that completely lacks the Tori essence.
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan who's followed Tori since Little Earthquakes, I'm sad to say this is by far the worst I've heard from her (in my opinion of course, others are more then welcome to disagree). To it's credit the music itself is brilliant and her voice is as lovely as ever but where this album falls flat is it's bad (and often corny) lyrics. Add to that a second singer on certain songs who I can only describe as trying to channel Peppermint Patty (from the Peanuts comics) and what you get is a product that sounds like someone is reciting poetry written by a fifth grader while playing Beethoven-quality symphonies in the background. That being said, I'll still be first in line to buy her next album. Expand

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    It's not an ideal entry point into Amos;s unique world. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    Despite certain songs dragging on longer than need be, Night combines classical and flighty pop quite masterfully. [#82, p.53]
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    Despite certain songs dragging on longer than need be, Night combines classical and flighty pop quite masterfully. [#82, p.53]