Night Train [EP]

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2017
    9
    The album definitely was a shot in the dark, and the experimentation was a grand overhaul for the band. Ishin Dishin was however the downfall of this EP, and more songs that resembled "Stop for a Minute" and "Looking Back" would have made the album way more consistent. Overall, The quality from the band still shines through.
  2. Dec 11, 2016
    4
    Had this have been released as a studio album, it would have been career suicide. The fact it's an EP makes it forgivable. It's good to hear them having fun and experimenting, but overall it's still a mess. 'Your Love' is a standout track here for it's classic synth-rock sound, as well as 'My Shadow' for it's classic Keane sound. The others are cheap, forgettable and a littleHad this have been released as a studio album, it would have been career suicide. The fact it's an EP makes it forgivable. It's good to hear them having fun and experimenting, but overall it's still a mess. 'Your Love' is a standout track here for it's classic synth-rock sound, as well as 'My Shadow' for it's classic Keane sound. The others are cheap, forgettable and a little trying-to-hard-to-be-different. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2016
    0
    In many ways I feel like bands that produce albums like this are the ones who are ruining the music industry, especially in the world of rock. Look, if you like this music there is nothing wrong, and in fact you are definitely not alone. What Keane has done in this effort is create one of the vapid and mainstream sounding rock albums in the past 10 years. I know Keane has produced someIn many ways I feel like bands that produce albums like this are the ones who are ruining the music industry, especially in the world of rock. Look, if you like this music there is nothing wrong, and in fact you are definitely not alone. What Keane has done in this effort is create one of the vapid and mainstream sounding rock albums in the past 10 years. I know Keane has produced some really good music, and will probably continue to; however, there is little to stop this from sounding like a thrown together arranging of songs- hoping that one of them will be the next hit on the UK charts. Some of the songs of are enjoyable alone and if Ishin Denshin is Your Love I respect that because that song is extremely catchy. Perhaps my rating was a little too harsh, yet I still can't get over the fact that this band reminds me of The Script and their album #3. It was not only a waste in time, but an example of the machine like rock the music industry cranks out just to make money. Where has all the angst, rebellion, and soul gone? Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2015
    7
    Half of singles were briliiant, but not all songs good ,2 compositions worst in ther professional work,but this experiment ,my point - 7, not awful...
  5. Mar 16, 2013
    3
    It's put me off Keane. Sorry, but they've moved away from the sound which endeared me to them. I'm certainly not suggesting that change is a bad thing, though if you're a fan of the earlier stuff then be warned: this direction may not be for you.
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    Definitely the worst Keane album ever.
    It's not Keane. It's like they're trying their best to be something they're not.

    If you want to become a true Keane fan, listen to Under the Iron Sea.
  7. Oct 5, 2010
    8
    A short, refreshing little album full of experiments and collaborations. These songs work (with the exception of 'Ishin Denshin' which gets tedious and boring) they are refreshing little snippets of Keane at the band's best. 'Clear Skies' is a highlight-a rather beautiful song that is along the lines of Classic Keane, while the collaborations with K'Naan on 'Stop for a Minute' andA short, refreshing little album full of experiments and collaborations. These songs work (with the exception of 'Ishin Denshin' which gets tedious and boring) they are refreshing little snippets of Keane at the band's best. 'Clear Skies' is a highlight-a rather beautiful song that is along the lines of Classic Keane, while the collaborations with K'Naan on 'Stop for a Minute' and 'Looking Back' are fun departures from their usual compositions. If you like Keane's other work, you'll most likely love this album. It is a good listen nearly all the way through-and sounds as refreshing as a cool drink on a hot day. My only critique (besides the tedium of Ishin Denshin') is that it isn't long enough! Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    perfect album experimental..for a try on new things keane do very well jog the collaborations are very good its good to see then being different in each album
  9. RezJ
    May 17, 2010
    5
    Keane is not a Rock/Alternative Band anymore. with this album they showed maybe they gonna change their style. and this record isn't good enough for this band.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. As a transitional release, however, Night Train points to an even bigger and brighter future: it mostly sounds like a band happy to enjoy the freedom of chalking up 10 million album sales, and everyone else can take a running jump.
  2. 70
    That toughening process continues on this intrepid eight-song mini-album.
  3. Alternative Press
    60
    Overall, Keane's efforts to move beyond pigeonholing succeed more than they fail. [Jun 2010, p.107]